The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Air Power and Tactic cards
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1155
Registered:
December 2007
Air Power and Tactic cards Mon, 04 May 2009 16:34
When using Air Pack and Blitz rules, can you play an Air Power card and a Tactic card? The Air pack rules say that under Blitz, Air Power is used as an Air Sortie equivalent and can never be played in combination with a Section card. This seems specific and will allow an Air Power card to be played with a Tactic card but still requiring an Air Check roll. Rolling Eyes

I hope that this is legal as in Resistance in Gembloux (CB1), where air rules are in effect, I combined an Air Power card with an Infantry Assualt for a combined attack on Cortil-Noirmont. It seemed to represent Blitkrieg tactics well so I hope it's an OK move!

      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Air Power and Tactic cards Mon, 04 May 2009 16:48
I think you are wrong.

I was under the impression that Air Sortie can never be played alongside a Tactic card, only a section card.

So under Blitz rules Air Sortie equivalent cards can never be played with any other card, be it section card or tactic card.

That is how I read the rule.

[Updated on: Mon, 04 May 2009 16:49]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8228
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Air Power and Tactic cards Mon, 04 May 2009 16:48
I would have to look at the rules again, but I have a feeling you can never play an Air Sortie card (or equivalent) with Infantry Assault. The idea of playing the Air Sortie card with a section card is that one of the orders is used for the plane, which doesn't work for cards like Infantry Assault, Armor Assault, etc.

Your logic makes sense, but I don't think you can do that with the rules. House rules could allow for it though.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2739
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Air Power and Tactic cards Tue, 05 May 2009 05:58
AP, you asked specifically about an Air Power card. That's an Air Sortie Equivalent, and as such, it is never played together with any other card (unless the scenario rules make a specific exception).

If you were asking about Air Sorties, of course, they can be played in conjunction with a Section card (but not with a Tactic card).

When the rules say you can't play Air Power with a Section card, that's to clarify the distinction between that and a full-fledged Air Sortie.

Note also, planes cannot be ordered on Artillery Bombard, Armor Assault, Move Out, or Infantry Assault (unless you have none of the specified unit on the board and can order it as a unit of your choice).
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1155
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Air Power and Tactic cards Tue, 05 May 2009 10:52
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 05 May 2009 04:58

AP, you asked specifically about an Air Power card. That's an Air Sortie Equivalent, and as such, it is never played together with any other card (unless the scenario rules make a specific exception).

If you were asking about Air Sorties, of course, they can be played in conjunction with a Section card (but not with a Tactic card).


Blast - I thought it was too good a move to be legal! Looks like I'll just have to replay the game to keep the campaign fair! Very Happy


      
    
Previous Topic:A liitle French movie
Next Topic:CB1: 3514 Battle of the Lys; question
Goto Forum: