The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Hedgerow Hell questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
yosemite
Senior Member

Posts: 130
Registered:
October 2004
  Hedgerow Hell questions Mon, 18 May 2009 06:59
Hi, All! We played Hedgerow Hell for the first time today at our game club. We had eight players (first time ever for Overlord for us) and we had a BLAST!

I've been away from M'44 for awhile, so apologies for the potentially silly questions. We were stuck on two points (neither of which would have been a factor in the game...a rather lopsided German victory, by the way!).

1. The towns that have temporary medal objectives-I don't have the map in front of me, but the wording on this was very confusing. We understood that the U.S. can take temporary possession of the medal by taking the town. How does the German side claim these? From the way it's worded on the map, it sounded nearly effortless for the Germans to pick up 3 medals!

2. Exit points on the German side of the map-I assumed that the U.S. would gain a medal for any unit exiting the map at one of these points. This is not stated on the map! Is this right?

Help appreciated as always!!! THANKS!
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Mon, 18 May 2009 07:54
1. The allied needs to have a unit in the town to claim the medal, while the germans claim the medal if they have a unit in the town OR it is unoccupied. This goes for all three towns.

2. Correct. 1 medal for each allied unit that exits the board through either exit marker.

[Updated on: Mon, 18 May 2009 07:54]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Mon, 18 May 2009 12:20
Dear folks,
I believe that the answer to #1 is that the Germans ONLY claim the temporary medal if the town is completely unoccupied.

So the strategy for the Germans is to hold the towns at all costs and then evacuate to gain the extra 3 medals when it is timely to do so. While they occupy the towns, they actually receive no medals.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Mon, 18 May 2009 13:08
Stevens, I have to say I disagree with you on this one. I think the germans get the medals if they occupy the towns.

Here is why I think that.

The towns of la Boulaye, Martinville and Bourg-d'Enfer are Temporary Medal Objectives for either camp. When unoccupied, each town's medal goes to the Axis player.

(Underlining added by me)

From the Conditions of victory on the hedgerow Hell scenario page:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4659

Going by the rules for temporary medal objectives it states that the side having units in the towns gain the medals, AND if unoccupied the medal goes to the Axis player.

So I still think this is the correct interpretation.

ad79 wrote on Mon, 18 May 2009 07:54

1. The allied needs to have a unit in the town to claim the medal, while the germans claim the medal if they have a unit in the town OR it is unoccupied. This goes for all three towns.




EDIT: But it would be smart play by the Axis player to occupy the towns, so the Allied player have to fight for the objective medals.

[Updated on: Mon, 18 May 2009 13:11]

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Mon, 18 May 2009 19:02
It would be nice to get an official interpretation on this as 6 of us played this online and everyone of us thought the medals would only be given to the Germans if the towns were unoccupied.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Mon, 18 May 2009 22:10
Richard, can you help us on this one?

We can't agree on how it should be interpreted.

      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 255
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Tue, 19 May 2009 04:56
The towns of la Boulaye, Martinville and Bourg-d'Enfer are Temporary Medal Objectives each town is worth 1 medal.

The Axis camp can claim 1 medal for each town as long as an Allied unit does not occupy the town, The Axis player starts the battle with a unit in these three towns and therefore starts the battle with 3 medals. The Axis camp will maintain these medals even if the Axis units leave the town hexes.

The Allies gain 1 medal when an Allied unit occupies the town of la Boulaye, Martinville and Bourg-d'Enfer and the Axis camp will lose 1 medal. An Allied unit must occupy the town hex to gain and maintain the medal, if the Allied unit moves, retreats or is eliminated and no longer occupies the town hex, the Allied camp will lose a medal and the Axis camp will gain a medal.

Richard Borg
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 788
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Tue, 19 May 2009 07:17
Thanks for the clarification, Richard!
keep up the good work!
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Tue, 19 May 2009 13:00
Dear Richard,
Thanks for the well articulated clarification. As always, your continued presence in the outworking of the rules for this game is an added value that no other game I have ever played had. Thanks for being there as both a constant resource and a gracious arbitrator for the community.
      
yosemite
Senior Member

Posts: 130
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Tue, 19 May 2009 21:46
Hi, Richard! I'm the OP on this one, so MANY THANKS for your help! It DOES make sense...when YOU articulate it!!! Very Happy

I think part of the problem for me is that, the way our game unfolded, the Germans were winning pretty handily. SO maybe, just MAYBE, I was feeling a bit sorry for the opposition... Shocked
Starting the game with 3 medals would have almost seemed cruel...!!!!!!!!

Thanks so much for your help!
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Hedgerow Hell questions Tue, 19 May 2009 23:45
Dear Yosemite,
That is what our play group thought as well. At least the Germans had to give up the towns to get the medals in which case this gave the Allies an easier chance to take them. I think we might have to house rule this one.
      
    
Previous Topic:Line of sight question - Mountains Over Hills
Next Topic:Pacific Theater question?
Goto Forum: