Corinth Corinth

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Sorcerers - losses?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
KarmanMonkey
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Registered:
December 2008
Sorcerers - losses? Tue, 02 June 2009 20:58
When we were playing on Saturday, we interpreted that when the rules on page 4 said you "Permenantly discard" a race token, that it means that the race token is no longer available to be used with the sorcerers' race ability, despite the fact that it says the token ends up back in the tray. Since the sorcerers start with about eight extra tokens, I don't think this is terribly unreasonable.

Thoughts? Given what I've read elsewhere on the forum, our interpretation seems to be incorrect. Does anyone think it's unreasonable?

If the sorcerers' losses can be recycled via the race's power, that seems to me to make the race neigh impossible to stop.
      
Magnot
Member

User Pages
Posts: 49
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Sorcerers - losses? Wed, 03 June 2009 00:28
I believe your interpretation of the rules is incorrect.

As for Sorcerers being impossible to stop, I believe that the key is to (a): avoid leaving lone tokens vulnerable to their special ability and (b): do not ignore them as far as your conquests go. As with skeletons, if they lose more tokens than they gain, eventually they'll just have to cut their losses and go into decline.

[Updated on: Wed, 03 June 2009 00:30]

      
KarmanMonkey
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Sorcerers - losses? Wed, 03 June 2009 00:45
That's just it... Skeletons require constant conquests to replenish their losses, and it's usually, at most, two troops per turn. In a five player game, the Sorcerers can gain four "free" territories per turn, so to make them lose ground, you have to consistently take four or more territories away from him (on average) While your people are suffering attrition, the sorcerers aren't, since those losses are extras that he took away from you.

It's all well and good to suggest keeping at least two troops per territory, but that means you won't be able to expand as much as you should be, while the sorcerer player is under no such restriction.

Not trying to be overly negative, just countering your statements. Smile

[Updated on: Wed, 03 June 2009 00:46]

      
**player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 766
Registered:
November 2004
Re:Sorcerers - losses? Wed, 03 June 2009 16:01
KarmanMonkey écrit le Wed, 03 June 2009 00:45

In a five player game, the Sorcerers can gain four "free" territories per turn
Unless they have "flying" or "cave" capabilities, Sorcerers rarely get into contact with the four other active races that the other players own.
Quite often, one or two players have gone into decline (and Sorcerers cannot convert races in decline).
One only needs to place more than one token of an active race in the way of the Sorcerers.

Now, in a multiplayer game, there also will be temporary "alliances", where everybody goes for a kill against a particularily dangerous race combo - if players manage not to get caught in small "vendettas" which make them loose sight of the global picture...
      
Zoli2
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 9
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Sorcerers - losses? Sun, 14 June 2009 20:05
But when can I replace the tokens? For example, I conquer 2 region, and then I'm adjacent to an other race. Can I replace, or only the begin of my turn?
      
BamH1
Member
Small World Creation Contest Winner

User Pages
Posts: 85
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Sorcerers - losses? Mon, 15 June 2009 02:01
Zoli wrote on Mon, 15 June 2009 04:05

But when can I replace the tokens? For example, I conquer 2 region, and then I'm adjacent to an other race. Can I replace, or only the begin of my turn?

Anytime during their attack phase EXCEPT: can't be used to "enter the board" and can't be used AFTER your final re-enforcement role.


The official FAQ HERE is very helpful.
Quote:

Sorcerer
Q: For a Non-flying Sorcerers' first turn: Are they allowed to use their power to convert an opponent's sole token bordering the edge?
A: No, Non-flying Sorcerers cannot use their special conquest to enter the board.

Q: Can Sorcerers use their Ability after placing all their units?
A: It depends what you mean. The Sorcerers cannot use their Ability after doing a final conquest for the turn using the Reinforcement die roll. But they can use their ability otherwise.

Q: Can a non-Seafaring Sorcerer use its power to take a single token on a sea or lake?
A: In order to use their token substitution power, the Sorcerers must still be able to conquer the region they target. Since only seafaring races can conquer Lakes & Seas, a (non-seafaring) sorcerer would not be able to conquer a Lake or Sea occupied by another (seafaring) token.

[Updated on: Mon, 15 June 2009 02:01]

      
    
Previous Topic:Graphic templates
Next Topic:Entering Decline when whiped out?
Goto Forum: