The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Wed, 09 September 2009 01:01
FAQ p. 19
Quote:

Q. Can the Air Sortie card be played on its own, in lieu of the pre-programmed card when using Russian Command rules? i.e. the pre-programmed card remains in place this turn, as it does if a Recon 1 card is played from the hand.
A. Yes. Note: Air Sortie equivalents (the Air Power card and Recon 1 cards when Air Strikes are available) must be played from the Commissar Chip like normal cards.


This seems in contradiction to the Russian Command Rules found on p.4 of the Eastern Theater Expansion.

Quote:


On the Russian player's turn, in lieu of playing the Command card already
committed under the Commissar Chip, the Russian player may choose to play
from his hand a 'Recon 1' Command card
or a 'Counter-Attack' Command card.
The Command card under the Commissar Chip is not used and remains under the
token until the next turn. The Russian player may also play the Ambush card from
his hand per the standard rules.


It seems that if Air Rules are in effect and the Russian can play RECON 1 cards to use air rules, he should be able to do this without having to place this card under the Commisar Chip...

Or is the FAQ saying only if he is using the RECON 1 card for an Air Sortie Equivalent does it need to be placed under a Commisar Chip.

Please help me on the careful parsing of this rule.

Confused Confused
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2740
Registered:
August 2006
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Wed, 09 September 2009 01:33
Interesting questions. Here's how I'd analyze them.

1. Air Sorties, of course, didn't exist when the Eastern Front expansion was released. When Air Pack came out, the "Red Army" Nation card's description of the commissar rule didn't include Air Sorties with the other cards directly playable from the hand. The Air Rules book appears to be silent on the question, unless I overlooked something - in fact, page 3 says, "an Air Sortie may be played during a player's turn, like any other Command Card in the player's possession." So it appears that there was no permission to play a Sortie directly by itself.

However, I see no contradiction between that and the FAQ, because, as page 4 says, "All answers in this document are official and were checked by Richard Borg. The answers herein may clarify or overrule previous statements made online or in older FAQ documents." The FAQ deliberately says Yes, so it's Yes.

2. As you noted, the FAQ says, "Air Sortie equivalents (the Air Power card and Recon 1 cards when Air Strikes are available) must be played from the Commissar Chip like normal cards." When you intend to play it as an Air Sortie, it's not a Recon-1 any more. If you're not using it as an Air Sortie Equivalent, then it's not an Air Sortie Equivalent, so it should be playable from the hand. (Except in Overlord, where all Recon-1s must be played from the chip.)
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8229
Registered:
July 2007
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Wed, 09 September 2009 06:09
I think Sam's got it. Cool

      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Wed, 09 September 2009 13:54
By jove he's got it!
The rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain (or de plane)

Thank you Henry Higgins Laughing

It's good to hash these things out...
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Wed, 09 September 2009 17:06
so to recap things up, please tell me that i'm right

- Air Sortie can't be played alone directly from hand by the Russian and will still have to be placed under the chip unless if the card under the chip is section card, so the Air Sortie can be played along with that card ?

- if Recon-1 will be used as Air Power, then it has to be put under the chip, otherwise Recon-1 will be in effect if it's played directly from hand

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8229
Registered:
July 2007
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Wed, 09 September 2009 17:27
Close. Smile

The Air Sortie card is never played from the hand because it is always face up on the table. As such, it doesn't need to be placed under the Commissar Chip and can be played alone from the table. If you play the Air Sortie card alone, the card that was under the chip stays under the chip.

The Recon-1 card is an Air Sortie Equivalent, so it would need to be placed under the Chip (just like the Air Power card). But if you just wanted to use the Recon-1 function of the card, you can play it straight from the hand...unless you're playing Overlord.

I hope that helps. Cool
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Thu, 10 September 2009 05:34
thanks jes,
so if i just want to order an airplane, i will play the Air Sortie from the table and will not draw any card after my turn right ?
thanks again
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8229
Registered:
July 2007
Re:To Fly or Not to Fly: That is the Question Thu, 10 September 2009 05:37
Steve Nightrain wrote on Wed, 09 September 2009 20:34

thanks jes,
so if i just want to order an airplane, i will play the Air Sortie from the table and will not draw any card after my turn right ?
thanks again



Yep. If you didn't use a card from your hand (or from the Commissar Chip) you don't get a new card.

Glad to help. Cool
      
    
Previous Topic:How do you draw if you use Air power token in campaign?
Next Topic:Where do you start with the rules?
Goto Forum: