Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Combat Deck - Out of Ammo
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
PanzerRunes
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 229
Registered:
January 2007
Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Mon, 14 December 2009 07:11
The Out of Ammo card states that a designated unit must retreat to an open hex on the base line in the section.

What happens is there is no open hex in the baseline of the section?

Does the unit retreat to the next row?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8101
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Mon, 14 December 2009 15:28
PanzerRunes wrote on Sun, 13 December 2009 22:11

The Out of Ammo card states that a designated unit must retreat to an open hex on the base line in the section.

What happens is there is no open hex in the baseline of the section?

Does the unit retreat to the next row?


Either that, or you can't play that card. I wonder how often we'll run into a situation where the baseline in the section is completely occupied...especially a little ways into the battle when units are attacking each other.

[Updated on: Mon, 14 December 2009 15:29]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2628
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Mon, 14 December 2009 22:41
Not being able to play a card to force your attacker to retreat, just because his back row is full? That doesn't sound right.
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1365
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Tue, 15 December 2009 00:47
I wondered the same... our group decide that Battlecry rules applied as that was the origin of the card. If the back row is full the unit is removed from game, no points/medals given.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8101
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Tue, 15 December 2009 01:05
Randwulf wrote on Mon, 14 December 2009 15:47

I wondered the same... our group decide that Battlecry rules applied as that was the origin of the card. If the back row is full the unit is removed from game, no points/medals given.




Wow, that becomes a very powerful card then!

In Battlecry, does it happen very often that a unit is removed from the board this way?

[Updated on: Tue, 15 December 2009 01:11]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2628
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Tue, 15 December 2009 04:51
It could easily happen on the first turn of Sword of Stalingrad, if the German special forces infantry on the far right charges out to close-assault the Russian infantry.

By the way, I assume that Out of Ammo can't be played against an enemy's Ambush, since technically that's not an "Attack."
      
xfoley96
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 52
Registered:
January 2005
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Thu, 17 December 2009 23:13
Randwulf wrote on Mon, 14 December 2009 18:47

I wondered the same... our group decide that Battlecry rules applied as that was the origin of the card. If the back row is full the unit is removed from game, no points/medals given.




Seems a little harsh (and unfair and unsatisfying to both sides). I think I would play it that the retreating unit loses one additional figure if it can't retreat all the way to the back line- just as if it were already as far back as it could be and was forced to retreat once.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1144
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Combat Deck - Out of Ammo Fri, 18 December 2009 10:11
I wonder whether the intention is to recreate a unit falling back on its supply lines or surrendering through lack of ammo? The former seems the best fit and so I wouldn't remove the unit completely. Losing one figure would reduce its fighting capability by weakening it and that seems a more appropriate consequence.
      
    
Previous Topic:Maps showing scenario locations?
Next Topic:Overlord Section card question
Goto Forum: