Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » dig in question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
marnick
Member
Lucky Bastard

User Pages
Posts: 82
Registered:
December 2009
dig in question Sun, 21 March 2010 13:40
At first me and one friend played dig in as placing 4 sandbags around 4 infantry units. I played again yesterday with some other friends and they wanted to issue an order to 4 units THEN place sandbags underneath them. It was new for me so when this happened we read the card and it really says:
Issue an order to 4 infantry units, these place sandbags yadda yadda.

So what's the correct interpretation? As we see it now it's possible to shoot in the same round you place sandbags.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:dig in question Sun, 21 March 2010 14:21
marnick wrote on Sun, 21 March 2010 05:40

At first me and one friend played dig in as placing 4 sandbags around 4 infantry units. I played again yesterday with some other friends and they wanted to issue an order to 4 units THEN place sandbags underneath them. It was new for me so when this happened we read the card and it really says:
Issue an order to 4 infantry units, these place sandbags yadda yadda.

So what's the correct interpretation? As we see it now it's possible to shoot in the same round you place sandbags.


You played it right the first time. You don't get to move or attack with the Infantry units...the card is purely defensive and you only get to place the sandbags.

Check page 38 of the Official FAQ and you'll find the same answer.

Have fun! Cool
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

User Pages
Posts: 333
Registered:
August 2009
Re:dig in question Sun, 21 March 2010 18:44
sounds like your friends need the combat deck - the "fortify" card allows you to place a spare sandbag on a unit's hex After it's moved and battled...

[Updated on: Sun, 21 March 2010 18:44]

      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:dig in question Tue, 23 March 2010 03:04
i forgot if this has been answered or not
but can you Dig In an infantry on the beach hex ?
logically, of course you can't, but according to the rules, i believe there's no restriction to this.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3377
Registered:
February 2007
Re:dig in question Tue, 23 March 2010 03:16
Steve, I think the only limitation to sandbag placement is a water hex such as ocean or river or stream or ford.
P.9 FAQ states:
Quote:

Q. Are there any restrictions to placing sandbags?
A. Sandbags may be placed on any countryside or terrain land hex, including a hex with a bridge. This means they can be placed on hexes with bunkers, hedgehogs, barbed wire, Dams, and Marsh hexes. Note: Sandbags may not be placed on Ocean hexes or Fords as they are not considered land hexes for this purpose.

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2634
Registered:
August 2006
Re:dig in question Tue, 23 March 2010 03:30
In fact, on the beach, it's even easier. They can simply lay the bags down on the sand without filling them. Smile

(And to really answer your question, yes, Stevens is right. You can put sandbags on beach and desert hexes.)
      
Nightrain
Senior Member
Oberstleutnant

User Pages
Posts: 424
Registered:
October 2008
Re:dig in question Tue, 23 March 2010 10:23
lol, sorry i mean dig-in at ocean, and not beach, i'm confused with the half-hex of water and half-hex of sandy lol
okay thanks for pointing out buddy Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2634
Registered:
August 2006
Re:dig in question Tue, 23 March 2010 13:17
On Ocean hexes, you can use floaties.
      
    
Previous Topic:Would Memoir 44 appeal to...
Next Topic:Villages on a hill<-->Mountains.
Goto Forum: