The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Machine gun (ASW) vs Snipers
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
red_zebra
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 360
Registered:
February 2005
Machine gun (ASW) vs Snipers Wed, 16 November 2011 19:05
When not moving, MG hit on stars.

I guess Snipers will get hit, going by the ruling that aircraft and others thing that hit on stars can hit the sniper.

Just wanted to be sure (it is not in the FAQ!)
      
Phread
Senior Member
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 1777
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Machine gun (ASW) vs Snipers Wed, 16 November 2011 20:38
From the (online) cards database for snipers
Quote:

sam1812 says
2008-05-26 20:39:09
Sniper vs Sniper (Comment / Question)

Question: When an attacking sniper rolls a star, it's a hit. A sniper can be hit only with a grenade. What happens when one sniper rolls a star against another?

Answer: In case of conflict between the attacker and the defender in the interpretation of a star result on the attacker's dice, it is the attacker's interpretation that prevails. So a sniper rolling a star against another scores a hit against



I think the above statement confirms that a MG that has not moved will hit a sniper with a star.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 930
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Machine gun (ASW) vs Snipers Fri, 18 November 2011 00:01
Phread wrote on Wed, 16 November 2011 14:38

From the (online) cards database for snipers
Quote:

sam1812 says
2008-05-26 20:39:09
Sniper vs Sniper (Comment / Question)

Question: When an attacking sniper rolls a star, it's a hit. A sniper can be hit only with a grenade. What happens when one sniper rolls a star against another?

Answer: In case of conflict between the attacker and the defender in the interpretation of a star result on the attacker's dice, it is the attacker's interpretation that prevails. So a sniper rolling a star against another scores a hit against



I think the above statement confirms that a MG that has not moved will hit a sniper with a star.


I believe your interpretation is not so obvious. I could waste time and energy on an argument, but suffice it to say that conceptually, sniper on sniper is a lot different to me than MG on sniper. But in lieu of yet another clarification from DOW on this issue, I would play it as you suggest.

      
    
Previous Topic:Troops 20 - so long expected revelation
Next Topic:Overlord Initiative roll = flag Vs Artillery in Bunkers
Goto Forum: