Corinth Corinth

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Newbie question - Artillery on Bunker + Barriage Tactical Card
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 933
Registered:
November 2011
Newbie question - Artillery on Bunker + Barriage Tactical Card Tue, 03 January 2012 00:25
Hello,

according to the general rules, any artillery unit which is protected by a bunker and receives a FLAG on a roll, it's considered as destroyed.

On the other hand, the tactical card "Barriage" states units receiving FLAGs will retreat, as usual.

What does it prevail?

Thanks
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3468
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Newbie question - Artillery on Bunker + Barriage Tactical Card Tue, 03 January 2012 00:41
Actually.

An artillery in a Bunker may ignore the FIRST flag, so in a normal combat it would take 2 flags rolled to score one hit on the artillery. However with an AIRPOWER card and a BARRAGE card, the flags can not be ignore, so a single flag from an AIRPOWER or BARRAGE on an Artillery in a bunker is a hit. The cards in this case trump the power of the bunker to assist in ignoring a flag.

I think many of the question you ask are found in the FAQ.

I highly recommend that you spend some time reviewing it. It can be dowloaded for free from this site:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/faq/

[Updated on: Tue, 03 January 2012 00:44]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8267
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Newbie question - Artillery on Bunker + Barriage Tactical Card Tue, 03 January 2012 00:42
Almilcar wrote on Tue, 03 January 2012 03:25

Hello,

according to the general rules, any artillery unit which is protected by a bunker and receives a FLAG on a roll, it's considered as destroyed.

On the other hand, the tactical card "Barriage" states units receiving FLAGs will retreat, as usual.

What does it prevail?

Thanks


I think you're getting a few of the rules a little mixed up with this one. Smile

~ Artillery in Bunkers cannot retreat (because they are cemented in) so Flags count as hits.

~ Bunkers allow the Artillery to Ignore 1 Flag each time they are attacked. Therefore, they are safe from Flags unless an attacker rolls 2 Flags in the same roll.

~ Artillery Barrage is a Tactic card that says Flags cannot be ignored. Cards always overrule the normal Terrain modifications (which is why units can move through any passible Terrain with Behind Enemy Lines).

So to answer your question, if an attacker rolls any Flags against Artillery in a Bunker after playing the Artillery Barrage card, the Artillery will treat those Flags as hits.

I hope this helps make things clear! Cool

EDIT: Looks like Stevens beat me to it. I would agree with him that it would be good to read through the FAQ carefully because a lot of these questions are answered there. Before asking anything, it's always a good idea to check the FAQ...and then we can help if it's still confusing. Smile

[Updated on: Tue, 03 January 2012 00:44]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 933
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Newbie question - Artillery on Bunker + Barriage Tactical Card Tue, 03 January 2012 08:29
Thanks to both. I will refer first to the FAQ before coming here.

Thanks for the help.

(FAQ downloaded and printed, for the sake of)

Regards
      
    
Previous Topic:Scenario Question - Point-du-Hoc
Next Topic:To breakthrough or not to breakthrough
Goto Forum: