Ticket to Ride London Ticket to Ride London

Forums

Search
Forums » Discussion - English » Help! Longest route question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player1479355
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
December 2013
Help! Longest route question Sun, 29 December 2013 04:54

we just got the Europe edition for Christmas.
We are loving it but!...how do you score the longest route? does a station negate your being able to count that route for the longest continuous route?
There seems to be lots of discussion on the different boards. if I had to use a station to complete a route for one of my tickets but it is say...40 cars long and is the longest continuous route in the game does the station I had to use mean its not included as a candidate because I have one station on it? I probably haven't explained it well enough.
We have had lots of discussion and rereading the rules and they are not clear to us.
      
cazaron1
Senior Member
Aspirante

Posts: 223
Registered:
May 2012
Re:Help! Longest route question Sun, 29 December 2013 05:49
Longest route is your longest chain of continuous trains. If you use a station to bypass a route, it allows you to score a ticket but does NOT count towards your longest route. Longest route only counts YOUR trains, not trains you 'borrow' with stations.

Having a station in the route does not 'disqualify' a route from being able to count towards longest route, even though it does not count as longer. By this, I mean, say you had a route that was 18 trains long, then a station, then another 22 trains long. This is not a 'Longest Train' of 40. It is a Longest Train of 22.

Hope this helps.

[Updated on: Sun, 29 December 2013 05:51]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8367
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Help! Longest route question Sun, 29 December 2013 08:26
What DAC cazaron said!

You might also find the Ticket to Ride forum a useful place for future questions, and it'll be seen by more people who play this great game. Cool

Here's a link: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/thread/?frm_id=28
      
valycarrolito
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
August 2019
Re:Help! Longest route question Sat, 31 August 2019 20:27
cazaron1 wrote on Sun, 29 December 2013 05:49

Longest route is your longest chain of continuous trains. If you use a station to bypass a route, it allows you to score a ticket but does NOT count towards your longest route. Longest route only counts YOUR trains, not trains you 'borrow' with stations my ip birthday wishes tneb.

Having a station in the route does not 'disqualify' a route from being able to count towards longest route, even though it does not count as longer. By this, I mean, say you had a route that was 18 trains long, then a station, then another 22 trains long. This is not a 'Longest Train' of 40. It is a Longest Train of 22.

Hope this helps.

or future questions, and it'll be seen by more people who play this great game
      
jessica272
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
September 2019
Re:Help! Longest route question Mon, 16 September 2019 02:33
player1479355 wrote on Sat, 28 December 2013 22:54


we just got the Europe edition for Christmas.
We are loving it but!...how do you score the longest route? does a station negate your being able roblox music to count that route for the longest continuous route?
There seems to be lots of discussion on the different boards. if I had to use a station to complete a route for one of my tickets but it is say...40 cars long and is the longest continuous route in the game does the station I had to use mean its not included as a candidate because I have one station on it? I probably haven't explained it well enough.
We have had lots of discussion and rereading the rules and they are not clear to us.


I wonder how is this related to DoW community ...

[Updated on: Mon, 16 September 2019 02:34]

      
ZarkoJ
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 16
Registered:
December 2019
Re:Help! Longest route question Sun, 29 December 2019 13:12
cazaron1 wrote on Sun, 29 December 2013 04:49

Longest route is your longest chain of continuous trains. If you use a station to bypass a route, it allows you to score a ticket but does NOT count towards your longest route. Longest route only counts YOUR trains, not trains you 'borrow' with stations.

Having a station in the route does not 'disqualify' a route from being able to count towards longest route, even though it does not count as longer. By this, I mean, say you had a route that was 18 trains long, then a station, then another 22 trains long. This is not a 'Longest Train' of 40. It is a Longest Train of 22.

Hope this helps.


Is this an official statement from the game maker? The only reason I ask is because there is nothing stated in game instructions and having played TtR with Alexa, it did use/count stations to bridge routes and count it towards longest route.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Help! Longest route question Sun, 29 December 2019 14:31
Yes that is the statement from the gamemaker. Only trains in your color/your trains count towards the longest route.
      
ZarkoJ
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 16
Registered:
December 2019
Re:Help! Longest route question Sun, 29 December 2019 14:43
Hhhmmm... Thanks!

I wonder why this statement is not incorporated into the game rules?
Also, as stated earlier, the official game app on Amazon’s Alexa does use stations to work out the longest route.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8367
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Help! Longest route question Wed, 01 January 2020 17:59
It is in the Ticket to Ride: Europe rules. If you look under the section about Calculating Scores on page 7 you'll see that it says:

Quote:

Finally, give the 10 point bonus for the European Express to the player(s) who have the Longest Continuous Path on the board. When evaluating and comparing path lengths, only take into account continuous lines of plastic trains of the same color. A continuous path may include loops, and pass through the same city several times, but a given plastic train may never be used twice in the same continuous path. Stations, and the opponents’ routes they may provide access to, do not count for the purpose of computing paths and claiming the longest one. If several players are tied for the longest path, they each receive the 10 point bonus from the European Express card.
      
    
Previous Topic:Tunnels
Next Topic:Rails and Sails Tour tickets
Goto Forum: