Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Cavalry
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1448
Registered:
July 2007
Cavalry Mon, 12 January 2015 19:04
A question about cavalry arose on BGG.

The EF rulebook states
A Cavalry unit is ordered like a regular infantry unit.

In the EP rulebook, this line is slightly updated (the cavalry rule is marked as being slightly updated, so this seems to be intended) to
A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat.

In french, it says:
Une unité de cavalerie est activée comme de l'infanterie mais combat comme des blindés. (only battles as armour, nothing about movement.)

The addition of being treated like armour for battle and movement has quite some implications.
Battle: -2 dice when attacking towns and forests, -2 dice when attacking from towns, no combat when moving in marshes, flooded fields, rice paddies, ..
Movement: Cannot move into hedgehogs, city ruins, onto cliffs and bluffs, removes wire when moving into it, ..

Was this the intention? Or was it only there for the meaning of the armour overrun and moving 3 + battle?
And if it was intentional, which language version should be used? French or English?
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3613
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Cavalry Mon, 12 January 2015 20:01
Quit2 wrote on Mon, 12 January 2015 13:04

A question about cavalry arose on BGG.

The EF rulebook states
A Cavalry unit is ordered like a regular infantry unit.

In the EP rulebook, this line is slightly updated (the cavalry rule is marked as being slightly updated, so this seems to be intended) to
A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat.

In french, it says:
Une unité de cavalerie est activée comme de l'infanterie mais combat comme des blindés. (only battles as armour, nothing about movement.)

The addition of being treated like armour for battle and movement has quite some implications.
Battle: -2 dice when attacking towns and forests, -2 dice when attacking from towns, no combat when moving in marshes, flooded fields, rice paddies, ..
Movement: Cannot move into hedgehogs, city ruins, onto cliffs and bluffs, removes wire when moving into it, ..

Was this the intention? Or was it only there for the meaning of the armour overrun and moving 3 + battle?
And if it was intentional, which language version should be used? French or English?



http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_8.jpg

The only way that CAVALRY are treated like armor is this:
If they make a successful Close Assault combat (the enemy unit is destroyed or retreats0 that may Take Ground and battle again

watch the KEY WORD here LIKE an Armor Overrun combat.

Check out this question in the FAQ:
Quote:


Q. Cavalry is considered an Infantry unit that can do Overrun attacks. So may a Cavalry unit Close Assault, Take Ground after the successful Close Assault and battle again, then play a Heat of Battle card to Take Ground and battle again?
A. Yes


Consider also the NEW Supported Infantry which can also take ground and battle again. Although the unit contains one ARMOR figure, it is still an Infantry Unit and is ordered as such and takes hits on infantry symbols on the die. Having the ability to do an overrun combat does not mean the unit is Armor.

[Updated on: Tue, 13 January 2015 18:39]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1448
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Cavalry Mon, 12 January 2015 20:06
That was my initial thought as well, but you have to admit that the rule has been adapted between the EF and EP, so I would like to know what the modification of the rule text means? What was the intention of changing the rule text? Clarify the existing rule or changing it?
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1134
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Mon, 12 January 2015 20:12
clexton27 wrote on Mon, 12 January 2015 20:01

Quit2 wrote on Mon, 12 January 2015 13:04

A question about cavalry arose on BGG.

The EF rulebook states
A Cavalry unit is ordered like a regular infantry unit.

In the EP rulebook, this line is slightly updated (the cavalry rule is marked as being slightly updated, so this seems to be intended) to
A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat.

In french, it says:
Une unité de cavalerie est activée comme de l'infanterie mais combat comme des blindés. (only battles as armour, nothing about movement.)

The addition of being treated like armour for battle and movement has quite some implications.
Battle: -2 dice when attacking towns and forests, -2 dice when attacking from towns, no combat when moving in marshes, flooded fields, rice paddies, ..
Movement: Cannot move into hedgehogs, city ruins, onto cliffs and bluffs, removes wire when moving into it, ..

Was this the intention? Or was it only there for the meaning of the armour overrun and moving 3 + battle?
And if it was intentional, which language version should be used? French or English?



http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_8.jpg

The only way that CAVALRY are treated like armor is this:
If they make a successful Close Assault combat (the enemy unit is destroyed or retreats0 that may Take Ground and battle again

watch the KEY WORD here LIKE an Armor Overrun combat.

Check out this question in the FAQ:
Quote:


Q. Cavalry is considered an Infantry unit that can do Overrun attacks. So may a Cavalry unit Close Assault, Take Ground after the successful Close Assault and battle again, then play a Heat of Battle card to Take Ground and battle again?
A. Yes


Consider also the NEW Supported Infantry which can also take ground and battle again. Also and INFANTRY.


That's not what the rules in EP say I think
You have three phases
1: ordering-> like infantry
2: Moving -> Like armor
3: Armor -> Battle

So everything you do after ordering is like armor. So -2 dice reduction in forest and Town. That's how I play it. So they are useless except in open ground.

However. I never noticed before the little infantry unit on the summary card. there it says (infantry) 2-1-

I don't know anymore Very Happy
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 930
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Cavalry Mon, 12 January 2015 23:38
EP does not change cavalry rules. What's written there is just poor paraphrasing of original rule (my opinion of course).
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2970
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Cavalry Mon, 12 January 2015 23:48
I would interpret that the change in wording was only intended as a clarification, and not a change in the rules.

If Cavalry were no longer permitted on Bunker and Road Block hexes, for example, I think there would have been a more explicit statement.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3613
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Cavalry Tue, 13 January 2015 04:23
Yes, much ado about nothing.

If you had no EP figures, you would use 4 INFANTRY figures and a Cavalry Badge. So you would still order them like infantry and move onto terrain as an Infantry unit.

p.6 Eastern Front Rules:
Quote:

The Infantry with a Cavalry badge are Cavalry units.
Place 4 Infantry figures and a Cavalry Badge in the hexes as indicated in the scenario.
A Cavalry unit is ordered like a regular infantry unit. An ordered Cavalry unit:
- May move up to 3 hexes and battle.
- May battle any enemy target 2 or fewer hexes away. It rolls 2 dice in Close Assault and 1 die against a target at 2 hexes.
- May, on a successful Close Assault Combat, take ground and battle again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun Combat (see M44 p.11).


Cavalry don't remove wire on entering.
Suffer the same dice reduction as Infantry on attacking units in Terrain.

So just poor wording in the Equipment Pack Rules.

[Updated on: Tue, 13 January 2015 04:26]

      
    
Previous Topic:Advice jdrommel's OverThrough El Alamein
Next Topic:Scenario Editor - Larger Maps
Goto Forum: