Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Clarification about Ground Interdiction (Air Pack Rules)
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
S A Gundel
Junior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
December 2012
Clarification about Ground Interdiction (Air Pack Rules) Tue, 05 May 2015 19:39
If I understand correctly,...the player with the air plane can not strafe when he lands on an open hex next to an enemy unit. During opponent's move, restrictions are placed on his units. My question is,....when player with airplane flies away on his move, can he strafe? Or, is that a no, no, also. Also, I guess the player with the plane can only remain in the hex for one turn? Thank for clearing this up for me.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1134
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Clarification about Ground Interdiction (Air Pack Rules) Tue, 05 May 2015 20:35
Hi,

Below is the original text from the rulebook:

Quote:

Airplanes do not battle in the traditional way. Instead, an Airplane may use its "air battle" action to accomplish a single Special Action from among those available to its Aircraft type. This Special Action takes place during the Combat phase of
the Airplane player's turn, unless specified otherwise in the
Special Action's phase of play. (airpackrules p. 6)


So you can perform only one action per turn.

Quote:

Ground Interdiction (Me 109, P40, Spitfire, Yak-7)
Special Action: Any ordered enemy ground unit that starts
its turn adjacent to the Airplane cannot move this turn, though
it may still battle, and will not add to the Airplane's Air Check
roll, unlike other enemy units (see Air Check Roll p. 8 ), when
the Airplane is activated again.
Any ordered enemy ground unit that moves onto a hex
adjacent to the Airplane must stop and cannot battle this turn,
but adds to the Airplane's Air Check roll as normal.
Phase of play: The benefit of this action occurs during the
Airplane Opponent's Movement and Combat phases. A
player’s Airplane may not do strafing on his turn and Ground
Interdiction on his Opponent’s turn.
Airpackrules p.7


Example:

you order a plane and fly towards an enemy unit. you choose ground interdiction as an action (so no strafing this turn) and end your planes move against two enemy units.
on your opponents turn, he can't move the units adjacent to your plane (although he can shoot with them). After your opponents turn you can order your plane again for a single action en strafe the adjacent units if you like.

Quote:

Each turn it is ordered, an Airplane must move at least 1 hex; and an Airplane can never move twice over the same hex
during the course of a single turn nor end its move on the hex
it started on Airpack rules p. 6


This says enough about staying in one place I think.

Hope this clear things up for you Smile
You made me want to play with the airpack again Wink

[Updated on: Tue, 05 May 2015 20:37]

      
S A Gundel
Junior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 20
Registered:
December 2012
Re:Clarification about Ground Interdiction (Air Pack Rules) Wed, 06 May 2015 02:00
Thank you,...that clears it up. Hope to see you on-line.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2970
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Clarification about Ground Interdiction (Air Pack Rules) Wed, 06 May 2015 07:30
S A Gundel wrote on Tue, 05 May 2015 13:39

If I understand correctly,...the player with the air plane can not strafe when he lands on an open hex next to an enemy unit.

You decide whether you want your plane to strafe or interdict.

The plane may move up to 4 hexes, and must finish on a hex that has no other units on it (unless it's landing on a Carrier or an Airfield with Ready to Take Off markers). If you strafe, you roll 1d against any enemy units the plane passed over in its movement, and the plane may conclude its move adjacent to an enemy unit, though that may result in an air check on your next turn.

Alternatively, you may choose to end the plane's movement adjacent to one or more enemy units and Interdict them.
Quote:

My question is,....when player with airplane flies away on his move, can he strafe? Or, is that a no, no, also.

If the plane is not ordered, it flies away. It may not perform a special action, but it also is not subjected to an air check.
Quote:

Also, I guess the player with the plane can only remain in the hex for one turn?

As Antoi said, an airborne plane must either be ordered or fly away. If it is ordered, it must move, it may perform a special action, and it may not repeat a hex during a single turn, including its starting and ending hexes.
      
    
Previous Topic:Partial Memoir Clearout
Next Topic:Drop In The Night: 101st Sceario
Goto Forum: