Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » A couple of air rules questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
vonMaxin
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 19
Registered:
November 2014
A couple of air rules questions Tue, 26 May 2015 17:28
We played jdrommel's Iwo Jima overlord the other night:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4710

A couple of questions came up that we were unable to figure out, so we just went with our gut.

1. Do Japanese units in caves ignore a flag from an airplanes strafe? The caves on hills/mountains cards explicitly state "Japanese units in caves must ignore all flags." Whereas the Strafing card says "Flags cannot be ignored." We looked through the FAQ and whatnot, but couldn't find anything. Incidentally, we played as though they could not ignore the flag.

2. In the scenario, each side has ready to take off planes on the airfield and the aircraft carrier. We understood how to use those and how to order them, but we weren't sure if we could introduce a new plane using the Air Sortie card played in one of the flanks. Meaning, do we have to burn through our ready to take off planes first? Or can we, say, play an Air Sortie card on the right flank and--per the air rules--fly in an additional plane?

We all silently assumed that we could not bring in additional planes until the ready to take off ones were gone. We didn't think of this until the battle was nearly over with.

Any insight would be most appreciated!

(Oh, and the poor Americans were slaughtered 15-9. We shouldn't have gone for Mount Suribachi after we destroyed the artillery unit with a barrage!)
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 3370
Registered:
February 2007
Re:A couple of air rules questions Wed, 27 May 2015 00:12
vonMaxin wrote on Tue, 26 May 2015 11:28

We played jdrommel's Iwo Jima overlord the other night:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=4710

A couple of questions came up that we were unable to figure out, so we just went with our gut.

1. Do Japanese units in caves ignore a flag from an airplanes strafe? The caves on hills/mountains cards explicitly state "Japanese units in caves must ignore all flags." Whereas the Strafing card says "Flags cannot be ignored." We looked through the FAQ and whatnot, but couldn't find anything. Incidentally, we played as though they could not ignore the flag.

2. In the scenario, each side has ready to take off planes on the airfield and the aircraft carrier. We understood how to use those and how to order them, but we weren't sure if we could introduce a new plane using the Air Sortie card played in one of the flanks. Meaning, do we have to burn through our ready to take off planes first? Or can we, say, play an Air Sortie card on the right flank and--per the air rules--fly in an additional plane?

We all silently assumed that we could not bring in additional planes until the ready to take off ones were gone. We didn't think of this until the battle was nearly over with.

Any insight would be most appreciated!

(Oh, and the poor Americans were slaughtered 15-9. We shouldn't have gone for Mount Suribachi after we destroyed the artillery unit with a barrage!)


1. Even deeply entrenched Japanese MAY NOT ignore strafing retreat flags regardless of the terrain they are encamped in.
FAQ p. 48:
Quote:

Q. May Japanese infantry ignore Flags from a Barrage or Air Power card?
A. No. Command cards that state "Flags may not be ignored" will still force Japanese Infantry units to retreat. This includes Strafing Airplanes.


2. You may always introduce aircraft from off the board using an AIR SORTIE card or its equivalent unless the scenario notes specifically restrict you to only using the air pieces originally placed on the board.

[Updated on: Wed, 27 May 2015 00:23]

      
vonMaxin
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 19
Registered:
November 2014
Re:A couple of air rules questions Wed, 27 May 2015 04:42
Thanks for the replies. Glad we played the caves correctly. The air rules, however, were a complete mess for our first go, but I can't wait to give them another try.

[Updated on: Wed, 27 May 2015 06:44]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2628
Registered:
August 2006
Re:A couple of air rules questions Wed, 27 May 2015 06:40
There's a lot to absorb in the Air Rules. It's worth reading the rule book and FAQ pages several times. But, for many types of scenarios, once you understand it, it does add a great new dimension to the game.
      
trumpetman52
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 257
Registered:
April 2006
Re:A couple of air rules questions Sun, 31 May 2015 02:07
this brings up a good question in my mind. if the japanese retreat that is fine. but where do they retreat to. if they are in a cave do they simply move to another cave, which is normal movement procedure for japanese in caves or do they retreat to an exposed area outside of the caves. this seems counter productive.
thoughts
trumpetman52
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2590
Registered:
October 2004
Re:A couple of air rules questions Sun, 31 May 2015 05:12
trumpetman52 wrote on Sat, 30 May 2015 20:07

this brings up a good question in my mind. if the japanese retreat that is fine. but where do they retreat to. if they are in a cave do they simply move to another cave, which is normal movement procedure for japanese in caves or do they retreat to an exposed area outside of the caves. this seems counter productive.
thoughts
trumpetman52



Simple. They follow normal retreat rules and fall back one hex to their baseline. This usually give a unit two hexes to choose from. Any unit that cannot retreat takes a hit as normal.
      
    
Previous Topic:10 may 1940 - 75 years ago "La Bataille de France" began
Next Topic:Download on Mac 10.0.2
Goto Forum: