Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 Online - English » Direct from H Q card
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Mr Bluze
Senior Member
Arnhem Victory

User Pages
Posts: 128
Registered:
October 2005
Direct from H Q card Mon, 14 November 2016 16:23
I realize that one should save Tactic cards towards the end of a game. I was wondering if the exception to the rule is when l am playing as the Russians and the Commissar rule is in play. What I like to do is if I have a Direct from H Q card is to play it first. So when it is my turn I can respond to any attack that the Axis player has played any thoughts on this?
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3611
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Direct from H Q card Mon, 14 November 2016 19:27
Yes sir, a good choice as is the 1-1-1 card.
      
CAMiller
Junior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 18
Registered:
September 2015
Re:Direct from H Q card Sun, 20 November 2016 00:22
I disagree. In my opinion, the Direct from HQ card should usually be held onto as long as possible, especially when you're the Russians with the Political Commissar. Direct from HQ is the most flexible card in the deck and will be just as powerful later in the game, so it's an excellent insurance card for when the Russian player has no better cards to play.

The one exception would be a scenario like Suomussalmi where the Russians have multiple vulnerable units at the start and if Direct from HQ is the only card you have that will activate those units.
      
Mr Bluze
Senior Member
Arnhem Victory

User Pages
Posts: 128
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Direct from H Q card Sun, 20 November 2016 00:34
CAMiller wrote on Sat, 19 November 2016 17:22


The one exception would be a scenario like Suomussalmi where the Russians have multiple vulnerable units at the start and if Direct from HQ is the only card you have that will activate those units.


That is a good tip since I have trouble with Suomussalmi.

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1133
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Direct from H Q card Sun, 20 November 2016 10:52
playing with the russian commissar is al about initiative.
you can play Direct from HQ card(DHQ) in the beginning but the question is what this will gain you.
If you loose 1 or 2 medals do not worry, playing with the commissar is not a problem. Take control over the battlefield and seize initiative! Cool

DHQ is just a card that you use to execute your plan. And if that plan is to pull back some units at the beginning to attack (and take initiative) in another flank thats good.

But that's just my humble opinion Smile

      
    
Previous Topic:Posting Results for League season 20
Next Topic:Counting Cards
Goto Forum: