Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
  I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 January 2016 16:35
Hello fellow players,

I've played SmallWorld a lot on my previous school trip with my friends and we're soon going to go on a such a trip again. So I decided to buy an expansion and I chose Be Not Afraid. I'm not sure about some of its rule, though.
Reveal Spoiler

1. Barbarians cannot move their troops after they conquer, but if I gather them all leaving 1 in each region in the beggining of the round and I don't use all of them on my attacks, can I put them in a region I want or I have to put them away the board?

2.Catapult allows me to conquer territories which are 1 tile away from the catapult tile. But does it allow me to conquer that region even if I don't have any tiles adjacent to it?

Also, I think that Pygmies' ability is basically Elves' ability but with added randomness (statistically, you'll end up losing no soldiers and gaining no soldiers as Pygmies, you can be lucky or unlucky, though) and I wonder if I can find something more interesting for them. Any ideas?

Thanks for replying Smile
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 January 2016 22:39
Hello, new player Wink

1. Strictly speaking you cannot redeploy Barbarians in any way, that's why you have to think it through when you gather troops at the beginning of your turn.

2. Of course. It is the Catapulte's reason to be : allowing you to ignore adjacency and conquer a region one square away even if it's not adjacent to your regions.

What is your point with Pygmies ? You want to make up a whole new power for them ?

If that is your point, then why not try an idea I had but I never got to try and that I named ETs : at the end of your turn, you can choose a race among the six not chosen yet and put it back under the pile of combos, and reveal a new one. You get all the possible VPs that were on this combination. The only exception for this is the Cursed race that you cannot wipe out. It doesn't have to be necessarily a combo with VPs on it, you can use this power on a strong combo that you might see as a threat.
      
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 27 January 2016 19:32
Thank you for your reply.

1.So can I actually keep more than 1 barbarian in a territory which I conquered before? Or I have to take them all, even if I want some of them to stay where they are?

2. Thanks. Sounds like an interesting combo between commando, flying and heroic.

3. I really like your concept, I think I could find a suitable name for them - shamans, as they influence the future of the Small World Wink I think they could happen to be too OP, though. But I have to try them first.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 12:36
1. You can perfectly leave more than one Barbarian in a region when gathering troops, no rule forbids that - and it is even an obligation for Korrigans, so... And anyway, abandonning a region to reconquer it immediatly after comes to being the same (if it's not a mountain).

Maybe my ETs/Aliens - your Shamans - are overpowered, I don't know, but I think 6 is a good number. Either you get a lot of VPs but make the way to more interesting combos easier for the other players who pick a combo before you do, or you erase good combos but you don't get VPs.
      
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 14:42
Thank you very much for your replies. I'll check your idea soon (hopefully) and tell you about the results. Thank you again Smile
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 14:51
You're welcome. Should you have any doubt, don't hesitate and ask, or check the FAG, it's pretty much helpful.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 14:58
Sorry, I meant the FAQ, au course Confused I can't modify my own messages due to a glitch in how options are displayed.
      
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 15:15
Okay, thanks again and see you! It's time to play! Very Happy
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1210
Registered:
December 2006
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sun, 31 January 2016 15:41
Greetings,

Where can I find the FAQ, please?
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sun, 31 January 2016 20:35
You can find it here, it's one of the five always-head-on topics :

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=17177&start=0
      
player2400172
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2017
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 20 April 2017 18:09
What does "passed over" mean for the homunculi race?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8084
Registered:
July 2007
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Fri, 21 April 2017 05:31
player2400172 wrote on Thu, 20 April 2017 09:09

What does "passed over" mean for the homunculi race?


It means that people did not pick that race but payed to go for a race further along. So the player places a coin on the Homunculi and a race token.

I hope this helps and have fun! Smile
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Fri, 15 September 2017 18:03
blaxnlion wrote on Thu, 28 January 2016 11:36

1. You can perfectly leave more than one Barbarian in a region when gathering troops, no rule forbids that - and it is even an obligation for Korrigans, so... And anyway, abandoning a region to reconquer it immediately after comes to being the same (if it's not a mountain).


You are incorrect.
From the Summary Sheet:

Ready your Troops: Leaving 1 Race token in each Region, take the others back in hand. If you wish, you may abandon some (all) Regions during this phase, but you will lose the Victory coins associated with them (and possibly become subject to the First Conquest rule again).

The exception to this rule are the Kobolds which can't occupy or conquer a region with less than 2 tokens.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sat, 16 September 2017 11:09
Samboda wrote on Fri, 15 September 2017 18:03

blaxnlion wrote on Thu, 28 January 2016 11:36

1. You can perfectly leave more than one Barbarian in a region when gathering troops, no rule forbids that - and it is even an obligation for Korrigans, so... And anyway, abandoning a region to reconquer it immediately after comes to being the same (if it's not a mountain).


You are incorrect.
From the Summary Sheet:

Ready your Troops: Leaving 1 Race token in each Region, take the others back in hand. If you wish, you may abandon some (all) Regions during this phase, but you will lose the Victory coins associated with them (and possibly become subject to the First Conquest rule again).

The exception to this rule are the Kobolds which can't occupy or conquer a region with less than 2 tokens.


The rules don't forbide you to leave more than one token in a region so you are perfectly allowed to do it. You don't even have to take tokens back in hand if you don't wish to make further conquests. That is also allowed, and yet the rules don't mention it explicitely, since they mention only two situations : carry on your conquests or going into decline.
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sun, 17 September 2017 15:32
> Ready your Troops
Leaving in place one Race token in each Region they occupy,
the player may take all his other Active Race tokens from the
map back in hand and use them to conquer new Regions.


If you choose to attack by taking token from the map, the rules force you to take all but one. Afterwards you can abandon regions to have more token to conquer.

You play the way you want; if you want to leave more tokens behind than those that the rules specified you can. Be advised that you giving more power to the Barbarians.

One last thing; I tested the Barbarians and other races in the Smallworld 2 App, the app doesn't give you the choice to leave more than one token behind.

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sun, 17 September 2017 19:44
Samboda wrote on Sun, 17 September 2017 15:32

> Ready your Troops
Leaving in place one Race token in each Region they occupy,
the player may take all his other Active Race tokens from the
map back in hand and use them to conquer new Regions.


If you choose to attack by taking token from the map, the rules force you to take all but one. Afterwards you can abandon regions to have more token to conquer.

You play the way you want; if you want to leave more tokens behind than those that the rules specified you can. Be advised that you giving more power to the Barbarians.

One last thing; I tested the Barbarians and other races in the Smallworld 2 App, the app doesn't give you the choice to leave more than one token behind.




That's right, I play the way I want, and furthermore I think being allowed to leave more than one race token in a region when gathering troops is logical. I have other arguments, aside from the fact it does not explicitely forbide you to leave more than one race token :

- unless you decide to decline, that means you can't do nothing : you have to take your tokens back in hand and make new conquests, when a player might decide not to make new conquests at all, which is allowed and understandable in some situations. For Barbarians whose player does not want to conquer anymore but not decline either, that means he/she has to gather his troops and then leave them outside of the board, since he can't redeploy them ? That's ludicrous to me. Tell me, on the app, does it make you use all of your tokens until the last conquest or can you stop your turn of conquest even if you have enough tokens left ? I bet you can stop at any moment. So if the app makes you gather all your Barbarians and you do not wish to make a single new conquest, that means the app forces you to leave one token in each region only, like the Pixies, knowing Barbarians are 9 and Pixies are 11 ? Nope, sorry, that sounds like a flaw to me.
- if you can keep occupying a region with one token or abandon it, I don't see why you can't keep occupying it with two or more tokens. I know we should not try to find any logic about every bit of detail in a game, what's more about non-existing creatures in the real world, but this game is based on conquest and the key is strategy. If you can have such or such strategy to keep attacking, conquer this way or that way, or do nothing, you can also have a strategy about gathering your troops and there is no reason to limit it to abandon regions or not and leave one single token in the others, especially concerning Barbarians. In real life, it is completely conceivable to leave more troops on certain regions as well as abandonning them.
- you can get to the same situation as if you leave more troops in your Barbarians by abandonning them and reconquering them right away, which makes no sense to me and is a waste of time. Although it is still a problem to touchy players who will pay attention to every detail, such as wanting to leave only two tokens in a Mountain when reconquering it without any bonus attack will make you place three there. Tha brings another fact : the rules do not make you conquer a region with the exact required amount of tokens. It says a conquest is made with a minimum of one token, but it doesn't mention a maximum. The same can be said about gathering your troops : you have to leave minimum one token to keep occupying this region but no maximum is mentionned...

Besides, I don't think the App is an argument, it's known to have a few flaws of its own regarding other mechanisms...

[Updated on: Sun, 17 September 2017 19:47]

      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Mon, 18 September 2017 01:22
Here are some post about what we are talking about:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/931906/placing-extra-tokens -during-conquest

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/586952/barbarians-clarifica tion

Barbarians, Pixies, Kobolds, Mummies, Escargots and Scarcrows are races with lots of token, to balance that they have negative racial powers.

I agreed that the app have some issues, it doesn't give you the option the leave the tokens in place and score without declining.

[Edit] Try to think like this: with most of the races, you don't worry about conquering with more token than necessary, neither with not taking all tokens from regions when readying your troops; because you can reorganize the troops after conquering. In my opinion you are trying to mitigate the negative effect of the Barbarians (not being able to redeploy) by exploiting the rules.

[Updated on: Mon, 18 September 2017 09:37]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Mon, 18 September 2017 19:09
Actually I am not trying to overpower Barbarians. I sincerely thought that them being unable to redeploy was already a consequent flaw : on the first turn the most defended regions you took get absurdly defended, and on the second turn all regions that you had previously conquered and that you don't abandon end up almost defenseless. I don't see how allowing to leave more than one token in a region is mitigating their disadvantage : it's all the less tokens to conquer, one should not forget that.
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 20 September 2017 10:53
blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 18 September 2017 18:09

... I don't see how allowing to leave more than one token in a region is mitigating their disadvantage : it's all the less tokens to conquer, one should not forget that.


I know you will have less tokens to conquer, but by leaving more than one token in a region you are basically redeploying in advance.
Do you remember which was the special power that barbarians had, when you played with them?
I really wish Days of Wonder was more involved in clarifying the rules when they launch new Small World expansions.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 388
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 20 September 2017 18:52
Samboda wrote on Wed, 20 September 2017 10:53

blaxnlion wrote on Mon, 18 September 2017 18:09

... I don't see how allowing to leave more than one token in a region is mitigating their disadvantage : it's all the less tokens to conquer, one should not forget that.


I know you will have less tokens to conquer, but by leaving more than one token in a region you are basically redeploying in advance.
Do you remember which was the special power that barbarians had, when you played with them?
I really wish Days of Wonder was more involved in clarifying the rules when they launch new Small World expansions.


I wasn't really thinking about a particular combo.

And like I said it is not really redeploying in advance, you can get to a similar "redeployment" by abandonning a region and then conquering it right back.

The tokens you lose for conquest largely compensate the advantage of being allowed to leave more than one race token in a region, in my opinion.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8084
Registered:
July 2007
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 20 September 2017 19:20
Samboda wrote on Wed, 20 September 2017 01:53


I really wish Days of Wonder was more involved in clarifying the rules when they launch new Small World expansions.


New? I'm not sure I would call this a new expansion. What rules clarification are you wanting to know about?
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 21 September 2017 10:34
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 20 September 2017 18:20

Samboda wrote on Wed, 20 September 2017 01:53


I really wish Days of Wonder was more involved in clarifying the rules when they launch new Small World expansions.


New? I'm not sure I would call this a new expansion. What rules clarification are you wanting to know about?


I was referring to River World and Sky Islands as the new expansions, even though River World will be one year old.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8084
Registered:
July 2007
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Fri, 22 September 2017 20:06
Samboda wrote on Thu, 21 September 2017 01:34

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 20 September 2017 18:20

Samboda wrote on Wed, 20 September 2017 01:53


I really wish Days of Wonder was more involved in clarifying the rules when they launch new Small World expansions.


New? I'm not sure I would call this a new expansion. What rules clarification are you wanting to know about?


I was referring to River World and Sky Islands as the new expansions, even though River World will be one year old.


I might have missed it, but what were your specific questions that you don't feel were answered by DoW?
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 September 2017 10:27
There was an argument in the following points, due to Barbarians negative racial power:

- When gathering troops, can we leave more than one race token in each region?

- When gathering troops, can we take race tokens from some of the regions we occupy?

- When conquering can we use more token than necessary?

In my opinion, the answer to all of the above questions is No, because they mitigate the Barbarians racial power.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8084
Registered:
July 2007
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 September 2017 19:25
EDIT: In reviewing my work on the Small World Pocket Encyclopedia, which we worked on with DoW and the designer, I have revised my answers to reflect what we determined that I had clearly remembered wrong.

Quote:

- When gathering troops, can we leave more than one race token in each region?


No. The key is, indeed, that you may leave your tokens or take all but one token. You can, of course, also take all of the tokens if you want.

Quote:

- When gathering troops, can we take race tokens from some of the regions we occupy?


Same as above. You can take all or all but one token into your hand.

Quote:

- When conquering can we use more token than necessary?


No. The rules clearly say "Upon conquering a Region, the player must deploy the Race tokens he used to conquer this Region inside its borders on the map."

Quote:

In my opinion, the answer to all of the above questions is No, because they mitigate the Barbarians racial power.


The racial power doesn't say anything about when and how to take tokens into your hand. It simply limits your options for redeploying.

[Updated on: Wed, 27 September 2017 05:02]

      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 September 2017 20:33
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 26 September 2017 18:25

Quote:

- When gathering troops, can we leave more than one race token in each region?


Yes. The rules clearly state that players "may take all his other Active Race tokens from the map back in hand and use them to conquer new Regions." This is always an option and I've even seen players decide not to take any tokens back in their hand.

Quote:

- When gathering troops, can we take race tokens from some of the regions we occupy?


Yes. Same as above.



I understand that you have a choise ...; but the expression "take all his other Active Race tokens" is also important. For me you either leave the tokens in place or take them all for conquering (leaving one behind if you wish to maintain the zone).

[Updated on: Tue, 26 September 2017 20:33]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8084
Registered:
July 2007
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 27 September 2017 05:01
When I got home, I looked over the Small World Pocket Encyclopedia and the work we did to create that (with input from the designer) and I had remembered it wrong. Indeed, you may leave all tokens on the spot, take all but one of them, or take all of the tokens.

Sorry for the confusion of answering in the middle of my work day without checking my notes. Embarassed

[Updated on: Wed, 27 September 2017 05:03]

      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 27 September 2017 09:53
Thank you rasmussen81 for the clarification.
      
    
Previous Topic:Question about redeployment, i bet is always the same
Next Topic:FAQ Tales and Legend
Goto Forum: