Ticket to Ride Germany Ticket to Ride Germany

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
  I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 January 2016 16:35
Hello fellow players,

I've played SmallWorld a lot on my previous school trip with my friends and we're soon going to go on a such a trip again. So I decided to buy an expansion and I chose Be Not Afraid. I'm not sure about some of its rule, though.
Reveal Spoiler

1. Barbarians cannot move their troops after they conquer, but if I gather them all leaving 1 in each region in the beggining of the round and I don't use all of them on my attacks, can I put them in a region I want or I have to put them away the board?

2.Catapult allows me to conquer territories which are 1 tile away from the catapult tile. But does it allow me to conquer that region even if I don't have any tiles adjacent to it?

Also, I think that Pygmies' ability is basically Elves' ability but with added randomness (statistically, you'll end up losing no soldiers and gaining no soldiers as Pygmies, you can be lucky or unlucky, though) and I wonder if I can find something more interesting for them. Any ideas?

Thanks for replying Smile
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Tue, 26 January 2016 22:39
Hello, new player Wink

1. Strictly speaking you cannot redeploy Barbarians in any way, that's why you have to think it through when you gather troops at the beginning of your turn.

2. Of course. It is the Catapulte's reason to be : allowing you to ignore adjacency and conquer a region one square away even if it's not adjacent to your regions.

What is your point with Pygmies ? You want to make up a whole new power for them ?

If that is your point, then why not try an idea I had but I never got to try and that I named ETs : at the end of your turn, you can choose a race among the six not chosen yet and put it back under the pile of combos, and reveal a new one. You get all the possible VPs that were on this combination. The only exception for this is the Cursed race that you cannot wipe out. It doesn't have to be necessarily a combo with VPs on it, you can use this power on a strong combo that you might see as a threat.
      
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Wed, 27 January 2016 19:32
Thank you for your reply.

1.So can I actually keep more than 1 barbarian in a territory which I conquered before? Or I have to take them all, even if I want some of them to stay where they are?

2. Thanks. Sounds like an interesting combo between commando, flying and heroic.

3. I really like your concept, I think I could find a suitable name for them - shamans, as they influence the future of the Small World Wink I think they could happen to be too OP, though. But I have to try them first.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 12:36
1. You can perfectly leave more than one Barbarian in a region when gathering troops, no rule forbids that - and it is even an obligation for Korrigans, so... And anyway, abandonning a region to reconquer it immediatly after comes to being the same (if it's not a mountain).

Maybe my ETs/Aliens - your Shamans - are overpowered, I don't know, but I think 6 is a good number. Either you get a lot of VPs but make the way to more interesting combos easier for the other players who pick a combo before you do, or you erase good combos but you don't get VPs.
      
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 14:42
Thank you very much for your replies. I'll check your idea soon (hopefully) and tell you about the results. Thank you again Smile
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 14:51
You're welcome. Should you have any doubt, don't hesitate and ask, or check the FAG, it's pretty much helpful.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 14:58
Sorry, I meant the FAQ, au course Confused I can't modify my own messages due to a glitch in how options are displayed.
      
vtz1
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
August 2014
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 28 January 2016 15:15
Okay, thanks again and see you! It's time to play! Very Happy
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1206
Registered:
December 2006
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sun, 31 January 2016 15:41
Greetings,

Where can I find the FAQ, please?
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 382
Registered:
January 2013
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Sun, 31 January 2016 20:35
You can find it here, it's one of the five always-head-on topics :

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=17177&start=0
      
player2400172
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2017
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Thu, 20 April 2017 18:09
What does "passed over" mean for the homunculi race?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8062
Registered:
July 2007
Re:I've just bought Be Not Afraid and have a few questions Fri, 21 April 2017 05:31
player2400172 wrote on Thu, 20 April 2017 09:09

What does "passed over" mean for the homunculi race?


It means that people did not pick that race but payed to go for a race further along. So the player places a coin on the Homunculi and a race token.

I hope this helps and have fun! Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Fauns and "active region"
Next Topic:River World - Rule Clarification - Seafaring
Goto Forum: