Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » FAQ Tales and Legend
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 408
Registered:
January 2013
FAQ Tales and Legend Tue, 20 June 2017 12:31
Hi everybody? I had some doubts about some events and what we are supposed to do regarding some particular configurations :

- about an event which cancels the race powers for this turn (I don't know the name in English, I play the French version) : what happens to Ghouls already in decline ? Trolls' lairs ? Ice Witches' Snow Balls ? Skags' treasures already put on the map ? Halflings' Holes in the Ground ? Races such as Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - does their disadvantage still apply ? Priestesses in decline (should they score one VP for the region they occuy, or no VP at all ?

- about an event which cancels all special powers (all cursed, I think the name is) : what happens with Fortified's Fortresses already on the map ? The two extra Hord tokens ? Cursed (should 3 VPq be payed regardless since it doesn't seem to be regarded as a special power but the absence of special power) ? Spirit race when it's alread declined ? Seafaring (should the water region(s) be abandonned or conquering one is simply forbidden ?).

- about an event which makes the player pay a VP to the player which conquers a region of his/hers, without loding a race token : what happens with Elves and Pygmees ?

Thanks in advance for your answer !
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 24
Registered:
May 2013
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Thu, 28 September 2017 12:56
blaxnlion wrote on Tue, 20 June 2017 11:31

Hi everybody? I had some doubts about some events and what we are supposed to do regarding some particular configurations :

- Rats - about an event which cancels the race powers for this turn (I don't know the name in English, I play the French version) : what happens to Ghouls already in decline ? Trolls' lairs ? Ice Witches' Snow Balls ? Skags' treasures already put on the map ? Halflings' Holes in the Ground ? Races such as Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - does their disadvantage still apply ? Priestesses in decline (should they score one VP for the region they occuy, or no VP at all ?

- The Great Curse - about an event which cancels all special powers (all cursed, I think the name is) : what happens with Fortified's Fortresses already on the map ? The two extra Hord tokens ? Cursed (should 3 VPq be payed regardless since it doesn't seem to be regarded as a special power but the absence of special power) ? Spirit race when it's alread declined ? Seafaring (should the water region(s) be abandonned or conquering one is simply forbidden ?).

- Wealth Redistribution - about an event which makes the player pay a VP to the player which conquers a region of his/hers, without loding a race token : what happens with Elves and Pygmees ?

Thanks in advance for your answer !


The answer to the Wealth Redistribution event is easy, both races pay 1 VC per region conquered.
Now about the other 2 events (this is my interpretaion):

Rats
Ghouls in decline - Do not attack.
Trolls - Lairs stay in play but do not provide extra protection or remove them.
Ice Witches - Snow Balls stay in play but not provide extra protection, neither VC reduction.
Skags - The treasure tokens stay on the map but do not provide defense against an attack or VC to the conqueror
Halflings - Holes in the Ground lose immunity to conquest .
Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - Accordingly with a SW: Underground question about Mummies and Gnomes the answer might be: No, they still have the race restrictions.
Priestesses in decline - They score 1 VC.

The Great Curse
Fortified - Fortresses stay in play but do not provide extra protection or victory coins.
Hordes of - 2 extra tokens may not be used.
Cursed - Following the Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds rule I would say it continues the same
Spirit race in decline - Do not score this turn.
Seafaring - Conquered regions do not score and you may not conquer new water regions (if playing normal SW)
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Thu, 28 September 2017 15:05
Samboda écrit le Thu, 28 September 2017 12:56

blaxnlion wrote on Tue, 20 June 2017 11:31

Hi everybody? I had some doubts about some events and what we are supposed to do regarding some particular configurations :

- Rats - about an event which cancels the race powers for this turn (I don't know the name in English, I play the French version) : what happens to Ghouls already in decline ? Trolls' lairs ? Ice Witches' Snow Balls ? Skags' treasures already put on the map ? Halflings' Holes in the Ground ? Races such as Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - does their disadvantage still apply ? Priestesses in decline (should they score one VP for the region they occuy, or no VP at all ?

- The Great Curse - about an event which cancels all special powers (all cursed, I think the name is) : what happens with Fortified's Fortresses already on the map ? The two extra Hord tokens ? Cursed (should 3 VPq be payed regardless since it doesn't seem to be regarded as a special power but the absence of special power) ? Spirit race when it's alread declined ? Seafaring (should the water region(s) be abandonned or conquering one is simply forbidden ?).

- Wealth Redistribution - about an event which makes the player pay a VP to the player which conquers a region of his/hers, without loding a race token : what happens with Elves and Pygmees ?

Thanks in advance for your answer !


The answer to the Wealth Redistribution event is easy, both races pay 1 VC per region conquered.
Now about the other 2 events (this is my interpretaion):

Rats
Ghouls in decline - Do not attack.
Trolls - Lairs stay in play but do not provide extra protection or remove them.
Ice Witches - Snow Balls stay in play but not provide extra protection, neither VC reduction.
Skags - The treasure tokens stay on the map but do not provide defense against an attack or VC to the conqueror
Halflings - Holes in the Ground lose immunity to conquest .
Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - Accordingly with a SW: Underground question about Mummies and Gnomes the answer might be: No, they still have the race restrictions.
Priestesses in decline - They score 1 VC.

The Great Curse
Fortified - Fortresses stay in play but do not provide extra protection or victory coins.
Hordes of - 2 extra tokens may not be used.
Cursed - Following the Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds rule I would say it continues the same
Spirit race in decline - Do not score this turn.
Seafaring - Conquered regions do not score and you may not conquer new water regions (if playing normal SW)


I actually answered these in the French forum. These are mostly based on the rules, answers from DoW I gathered here and there, and the unofficial FAQ, which is a collection of Q&A done by one of the DoW staff I believe.

Wealth Redistribution:
Elves - They don't pay since they don't lose a token. The event makes you pay instead of losing a token, so if there would have been no lost token, you don't have to pay. (this is in the unofficial FAQ)
Pygmies - not too sure, but my guess is they only have to pay if they don't get at least one Pygmy back.

Rats:
Ghouls - If they were already in decline, they remain on the board. However, they don't "act like an active race" anymore, so they don't attack, can't redeploy and when their regions are conquered, the Ghouls there are lost and returned to the tray.
If they are active and you go into decline, then you must follow the normal rules of decline and remove all but one Ghoul per region. The next turn, the removed Ghouls aren't returned, but the remaining Ghouls can still act as an active race.
Trolls - You remove all Troll's Lairs and you don't place any during this turn. On the next turn, the removed Lairs aren't placed back.
Ice Witches - The Snowglobes are removed from the board and you don't get any new ones. On the next turn, the removed Snowglobes aren't placed back.
Skags - The Loot tokens are removed from the board and you don't place any new ones. On the next turn, the removed Loot tokens aren't placed back.
Halflings - The Holes are permanently removed. If the Halflings leave the board, they must start conquering from a border region like a normal race.
Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - According to the unofficial FAQ, the restriction is their power, so they don't have any restrictions anymore. For the Kobolds, on the next turn, they must be redeployed so they have at least two Kobolds per region.
Priestesses in decline - The tower remains on the board, but they only score 1 VP.

The Great Curse:
The unofficial FAQ explains that to resolve The Great Curse, you must act as if the special powers are all on their in-decline side and The Great Curse only applies to active races (so not to in-decline races, nor to the races in the selection row).
Fortified - Fortresses stay in play and only provide extra protection, no victory coins. You can't place any new Fortresses this turn.
Hordes of - You must remove them from the board; you will be able to use them again on the next turn. If one or both tokens were lost, you don't get it/them back.
Cursed - You still have to pay 3 VP if you skip it because The Great Curse only applies to active races.
Spirit race in decline - Nothing happens to it, you still score VPs for it because The Great Curse only applies to active races.
Seafaring - You keep the sea and lake regions and score them normally. You can't conquer any seas, nor the lake during this turn.
      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 24
Registered:
May 2013
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Thu, 28 September 2017 19:17
The card The great curse states the following: All Special Powers (including those in decline, if any) are useless this turn. Racial Powers still apply.
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Fri, 29 September 2017 10:28
I know what's written, but see here, the official answer from Days of Wonder: https://www.daysofwonder.com/fr/msg/?goto=194800#msg_194800

[Updated on: Fri, 29 September 2017 10:29]

      
Samboda
Junior Member

Posts: 24
Registered:
May 2013
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Fri, 29 September 2017 11:28
kholdstare wrote on Fri, 29 September 2017 09:28

I know what's written, but see here, the official answer from Days of Wonder: https://www.daysofwonder.com/fr/msg/?goto=194800#msg_194800


Thank you for the link; but I still do not agree, since some in decline special powers are still useful.
Depending on the approach you take in the turn the cards "Rats" and "The Great Curse" are active, some races will be impaired in future turns (this might be what the designer was aiming for).
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Fri, 29 September 2017 12:35
I know. I'm not for or against any interpretation. I also don't agree with the official answer because of the text on the card, but it's their game, so if they say it should be played that way, then I'm fine with it, even though it retcons what is said on the card.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 408
Registered:
January 2013
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Wed, 06 December 2017 15:09
kholdstare wrote on Thu, 28 September 2017 15:05


I actually answered these in the French forum. These are mostly based on the rules, answers from DoW I gathered here and there, and the unofficial FAQ, which is a collection of Q&A done by one of the DoW staff I believe.

Wealth Redistribution:
Elves - They don't pay since they don't lose a token. The event makes you pay instead of losing a token, so if there would have been no lost token, you don't have to pay. (this is in the unofficial FAQ)
Pygmies - not too sure, but my guess is they only have to pay if they don't get at least one Pygmy back.

Rats:
Ghouls - If they were already in decline, they remain on the board. However, they don't "act like an active race" anymore, so they don't attack, can't redeploy and when their regions are conquered, the Ghouls there are lost and returned to the tray.
If they are active and you go into decline, then you must follow the normal rules of decline and remove all but one Ghoul per region. The next turn, the removed Ghouls aren't returned, but the remaining Ghouls can still act as an active race.
Trolls - You remove all Troll's Lairs and you don't place any during this turn. On the next turn, the removed Lairs aren't placed back.
Ice Witches - The Snowglobes are removed from the board and you don't get any new ones. On the next turn, the removed Snowglobes aren't placed back.
Skags - The Loot tokens are removed from the board and you don't place any new ones. On the next turn, the removed Loot tokens aren't placed back.
Halflings - The Holes are permanently removed. If the Halflings leave the board, they must start conquering from a border region like a normal race.
Pixies, Barbarians and Kobolds - According to the unofficial FAQ, the restriction is their power, so they don't have any restrictions anymore. For the Kobolds, on the next turn, they must be redeployed so they have at least two Kobolds per region.
Priestesses in decline - The tower remains on the board, but they only score 1 VP.

The Great Curse:
The unofficial FAQ explains that to resolve The Great Curse, you must act as if the special powers are all on their in-decline side and The Great Curse only applies to active races (so not to in-decline races, nor to the races in the selection row).
Fortified - Fortresses stay in play and only provide extra protection, no victory coins. You can't place any new Fortresses this turn.
Hordes of - You must remove them from the board; you will be able to use them again on the next turn. If one or both tokens were lost, you don't get it/them back.
Cursed - You still have to pay 3 VP if you skip it because The Great Curse only applies to active races.
Spirit race in decline - Nothing happens to it, you still score VPs for it because The Great Curse only applies to active races.
Seafaring - You keep the sea and lake regions and score them normally. You can't conquer any seas, nor the lake during this turn.


Hi again, just one question about Loot tokens that are removed : can they be used again next turn ? Or they are permanently discarded ?
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:FAQ Tales and Legend Wed, 06 December 2017 15:38
They are mixed back in the reserve, they are not discarded permanently.
      
    
Previous Topic:Sky islands released?
Next Topic:Power Pack 1 & 2
Goto Forum: