Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Using Command and Tactics Cards
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player3251246
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2018
Using Command and Tactics Cards Sat, 14 April 2018 22:39
Being new at Memoir 44 I want to be sure I am following the rules and intent of the game. I have assumed that nothing can be done without a card describing the command. There is no independent movement or action allowed.
Situation 1: I have 4 Command Cards. One of them says issue orders to multiple units. Do I draw a second card with specific orders (ex: INFANTRY ASSAULT). Does this one card apply to all of the units specified? I assume it does so at the end of my turn I would have to draw 2 cards to keep my Command card total.
Situation 2: Is the COUNTER ATTACK card played during the opponents turn or do you have to wait till your turn? If during the opponents turn do I draw a replacement card before my opponent does?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2628
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Using Command and Tactics Cards Sun, 15 April 2018 01:23
Hi again.

In a non air rule basic game, you play one and only one card a turn.

If it is a section card you order up to that many units on the card in the specified areas (left, center, right).

If you play a Tactics card,just follow the directions on the card.

As to the COUNTER ATTACK card, you play that one on your turn. Note the instructions on the COUNTER ATTACK card regarding section cards and the infantry assault card. Within those conditions, the COUNTER ATTACK card acts as if you played the same card as your opponent did in his last turn.

You may wish to check this link out:

https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/advanced-play/

You can find the card data base section and the FAQ which you can download.

I do have a few recommendations for you.

Reread the rule book again as a few questions you ask are covered there.

After that, reading the FAQ would be very helpful.

A good deal of the players are more than willing to help with your questions. So if you have any more feel free to ask. You may wish to add any more question posts to a thread you already started rather than start a new thread for each question you have.

Have fun.

John

[Updated on: Sun, 15 April 2018 14:54]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1942
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Using Command and Tactics Cards Mon, 16 April 2018 11:20
Like John said, read the rulebook agin. Some of your questions are answered there.
Also read the command cards carefully, the text on there usually explains what to do.

And also: play online, that helps in getting the game mechanics in your system.

Good luck! Smile
      
player3251246
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2018
Re:Using Command and Tactics Cards and Engineers Wed, 18 April 2018 02:15
John,

Thanks for the info. I think I was reading too much into the card. The section cards mainly tell you how to move but you can't battle unless you use a tactics card.

Tried your link but no luck. I tried all 3 booklets and also the "Save Target as..." (these words never appeared). I kept getting a partial cover page but nothing else. Do you know of another place to find these FAQs?

Also, I have looked at the basic rules, terrain expansion pack, and Pacific Theater pack on minefields and I still wonder how an engineer unit "clears" a minefield? This comes from page 13 of the Terrain Pack expansion under Combat Engineers.

John
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2672
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Using Command and Tactics Cards and Engineers Thu, 19 April 2018 06:27
To clear a minefield, the Engineer moves onto the hex with the minefield, and if the Engineer would be able to battle (i.e., typically, if it moved one hex), it removes the minefield chit instead of battling. The Engineer must to this; it's not an option.

On the other hand, if the Engineer wouldn't be able to battle (for typically, from moving two hexes), then the mine detonates as usual.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2628
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Using Command and Tactics Cards and Engineers Thu, 19 April 2018 11:50
player3251246 wrote on Tue, 17 April 2018 20:15

John,

Thanks for the info. I think I was reading too much into the card. The section cards mainly tell you how to move but you can't battle unless you use a tactics card.

John


Hi.

If I understand you correctly, you are under the impression a section card only allows a unit to move but not battle.

If so, be aware that an ordered unit (unless a card states otherwise) may:

1) MAY move (although a player may choose not to move any/ all ordered units

2) MAY battle depending if an enemy unit is in range of the firing unit AND there is a LOS unless the moving unit entered terrain which does not allow a unit to battle on the turn of entry

Usually, the only difference between a Section card order and an order off a Tactics card is that those from a Tactics card may give a movement bonus (INFANTRY ASSAULT) or firing bonus (ARMOR ASSAULT) to those units ordered.

[Updated on: Thu, 19 April 2018 11:53]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2628
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Using Command and Tactics Cards and Engineers Thu, 19 April 2018 11:52
As to the FAQ links, they should work. It may take some time for them to download completely depending on your internet speed.
      
    
Previous Topic:3 player memoir
Next Topic:Memoir 44 Winter Wars and Eastern Front Available !!!!
Goto Forum: