Ticket to Ride New York Ticket to Ride New York

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » 2 quick rule clarifications
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player677996
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
December 2010
2 quick rule clarifications Mon, 06 December 2010 20:15
Hi! Hoping to play my first SW game tonight, and in reading these forums and looking over the rule book, I'm just looking for a clarification on two things:

1) For the Troop Redeployment at the end of the conquest phase, can I only move around units that are already on the board? The rulebook seems to state exactly that; however, the FAQ seems to actually state otherwise (i.e. units in your hand can also be deployed to the board at this time), so I'm not really sure Shocked

2) If you choose to conquer at the start of your turn (i.e. no Declines) and you go through the "Ready Your Troops" phase, are you REQUIRED to take back all your active units on the board, leaving one in each, or do you have the flexibility to only take some units back? Not sure if there's actually an advantage to doing that or not, but I wanted to clarify if that additional flexibility was there.

Thanks!
      
tyberius
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Registered:
December 2007
Re:2 quick rule clarifications Mon, 06 December 2010 20:41
1. You can move units on the board between any of your territories, even if they're not adjacent. You can also add the ones from your hand. (You will likely only have units in your hand if you failed the final takeover roll, unless you have a weird strategy)
Short answer: Redeploy all your stuff among your territories

2. You have the flexibility. (But as you noted, there's almost no reason to do it)
      
StrafingRunGames
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 125
Registered:
March 2007
Re:2 quick rule clarifications Mon, 06 December 2010 20:46
1. You can redistribute ALL of your troops into any regions under your control in any way that you wish. It is usually better to put as many as possible in areas that are likely to be attacked. You must leave at least one in each region, though.

If you still have troops in your hand, you may also put them into whatever regions that you want. The best example I can give is that it is like the last phase of RISK if you have played that.

2. You have to take all of them into your hand, leaving one in each region. BUT if you want, you may abandon regions at this time by NOT leaving a unit there. You do not have to attack with all of the troops that are now in your hand and as stated above you may redistribute as desired at the end of your turn. You may find that it is counterproductive to abandon regions but it all depends on your race, etc.

Hope this helps.

      
StrafingRunGames
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 125
Registered:
March 2007
Re:2 quick rule clarifications Mon, 06 December 2010 20:48
oh yeah - don't forget that if you have Amazons you must set 4 of them aside at the end of your turn. They are Attack only.
      
8 1/2
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
July 2005
Re:2 quick rule clarifications Sun, 20 May 2018 22:32
Recently received game as gift. Rule book on "Troop Redeployment" states: "Once a player's conquests for the turn have ended, he may freely redeploy the Race tokens he has on the board, moving them from one region to any other region occupied by his race . . . provided that at least one Race token remains in each Region under his control." Based on this, we have not allowed players to add Race tokens to the board during redeployment.
      
    
Previous Topic:Giant game board!
Next Topic:Board and digital game
Goto Forum: