Ticket to Ride New York Ticket to Ride New York

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Sudden Death Objective
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Divinus
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3
Registered:
September 2017
Sudden Death Objective Thu, 09 August 2018 11:41
Hay,

So, according to both WW and EP rules if a sudden death objective is fullfilled the game ends immediatelly and that side wins. So far so good.

My question is: how many medals does the side that fullfilled the sudden death gains?

This question matters because, according to th core set rulebook says (p.4):
"Given the relatively short duration of a typical battle scenario, we recommend match play, with each player taking first one side, then the other in an immediate re-match.This helps balance any historical advantage that one side may have in a particular scenarioThe winner of the match is the player who scores the most Victory Medals after both battles."
So I need to know what is the score of a game that ends with a sudden death condition.

These are the two options that I conceive of to solve the problem. Let's assume that the game is played to 6 medals, the current score is 2-4, and the player with 2 medals achieves a sudden death condition.

Option 1 - The final score is 6-4 (the sudden death is worth 4 medals = Medals required to win - Medals already conquered). The assumption for this option is that it is always required to achieve the full count of medals for someone to be declared a winner, thus once the player fullfils the sudden death and is declared the winner it receives the remaining meals.

Option 2 - The final score is 3-4 (the sudden death is worth 1 medal). The assumption for this is that the medals on the board count always 1 medal in your score (look at all the types present in WW rules). When they are worth more than one it is specified in the scenario rules (e.g. The town is a permanent medal objective worth two medals for the allies).

It seems option 1 makes more sense, because option 2 creates disincetives to try to win by sudden death. I found this thread
https://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=167637#msg_167637
but no official rullings were cited. Is this still supposed to be house-ruled? If it is it seems ill conceived, since players shouldn't have to house rule the winner of a match. It's not some edge case of some tactical instance, it is the whole victory of a match that is at stake.

[Updated on: Thu, 09 August 2018 11:42]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1990
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Sudden Death Objective Thu, 09 August 2018 11:59
I cannot quote any rulebook, but I have played scenarios where the designers (Richard Borg and Jdrommel) have stated that if sudden death is accomplished the winner gets the maximum amount of medals for that scenario.

So your option 1.

I have always believed that that is also the official ruling, and have never questioned it, so never tried to look it up. Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2726
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Sudden Death Objective Thu, 09 August 2018 15:07
Full medals is the only logical answer.

Since the rules of the game don't cover tournament play I wouldn't expect to see an official ruling. The only place it might interact with official rules is if you're playing a Campaign that includes a scenario with a Sudden Death objective, such as the one in the Khalkhin Gol expansion.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1990
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Sudden Death Objective Thu, 09 August 2018 16:20
Another scenario where you need a ruling is Breakthrough at Mortain (BT-06) if you are playing the Breakthrough Normandy campaign.

Here it was determined that if you win you get max medals.

If you lose you get the medals so far (but max minus 1 if you have more than max)
      
Divinus
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3
Registered:
September 2017
Re:Sudden Death Objective Thu, 09 August 2018 20:12
Thanks for your answers.

The scenario that caused this question was suomosslami from the easter front.

It was not in a campaign, but since I switch sides (as is recommended in the core set rulebook) I need to know the score to sum both games and find the winner.

I am guessing that instead of rulling each scenario, adding a statement to the description of the sudden death objective will be enough.
      
    
Previous Topic:movement question
Next Topic:Jungle and Desert Rules questions
Goto Forum: