The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Old west rules clarification
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
cochise72
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
September 2018
Old west rules clarification Sat, 20 October 2018 02:47
Can anyone explain how the alien works in the old west version? I've tried asking a few times now.

If you are already built into a city that someone puts the alien in, can you claim the alien by building the route on the other side of the city?

[Updated on: Sun, 21 October 2018 19:56]

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1609
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Old west rules clarification - Revised Mon, 22 October 2018 06:51
Okay, Alvin works like this.

The first person to build into Roswell (where Alvin starts) can claim Alvin and gets 10 points. Then that person MUST move Alvin to any city that claiming person controls. Thus Alvin can’t stay in Roswell (or any city that he was in when claimed - he must move to a new city along that players route).

Then the next person who claims a route in Alvin’s new city would get 10 points and moves Alvin to a new city along this next player.

Thus to answer your question Cochise, you WOULD NOT be able to claim it. Note the words “when another player claims a route into the new city”. This is planned..otherwise the first person claiming Alvin would move it to a city they could claim and thus get 10 points repeatedly. Sadly not the case.

I do see one situation which is unclear and surprised the rules doesn’t address.
Here is that situation : let’s say Mark has moved Alvin to St. George and Mark has city markers on iin both St George and Salt Lake City. The next player Sue claims the St George to Salt Lake City. Obviously Mark gets the 14 points but who gets Alvin points?? I would say Sue gets the 10 points and move Alvin along her route.

The reason I say this is that Sue claimed the route. Although Mark got the route points due to city markers, They only apply for route points not Alvin points.

Obviously that is how I see it and obviously one person’s interpretation on the Alvin and both city routes have city markers. I used one person had both but still the same if different people had the city markers. Basically the person who claimed the route would get Alvin points and thus move it elsewhere.

Cab
Revised my early answer after seeing something in the rules I missed initially....

[Updated on: Mon, 22 October 2018 07:03]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8229
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Old west rules clarification - Revised Mon, 22 October 2018 20:49
A few clarifications:

~ Alvin is moved to a city you control (a city with your City Marker on it) not just a city your track goes through.

~ You must actually build a route into the city with Alvin; it's not enough to just have track already down. So if you already have track connected to the city, you can build a new one coming in from a different direction to claim Alvin. So to answer your question, you actually could claim Alvin by building a route on the other side of the city.

~ The player who builds into Alvin's city gets the 10 points for him. It doesn't matter what other points are given anywhere else, for anything else...Alvin goes to the builder's city

I hope this helps!

[Updated on: Mon, 22 October 2018 20:50]

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1609
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Old west rules clarification - Revised Thu, 01 November 2018 02:26
Rassemun,

In regards to a person claiming Alvin again, the rules do specify that it does have to be another player before he/she can claim it again.

Correct on city markers on where Alvin is moved to...forgot there is one on starting city.

Cab
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8229
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Old west rules clarification - Revised Thu, 01 November 2018 17:10
Caboose wrote on Wed, 31 October 2018 18:26

Rassemun,

In regards to a person claiming Alvin again, the rules do specify that it does have to be another player before he/she can claim it again.

Cab


His original question wasn't if he can claim Alvin after he had already claimed it. He said: "If you are already built into a city that someone puts the alien in, can you claim the alien by building the route on the other side of the city?"

The way I read that was that he built into a city...then his opponent moved Alvin to that city. So it looked like he was asking if he can claim Alvin by building into the city again. The answer would be yes.

[Updated on: Thu, 01 November 2018 17:12]

      
    
Previous Topic:Rails & Sails tie breaker
Next Topic:Any chance of a winter train set like the Halloween Freighters?
Goto Forum: