Small World of Warcraft Small World of Warcraft

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Rules for Italian artillery
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
magick
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 103
Registered:
December 2004
Rules for Italian artillery Thu, 24 January 2019 15:53
The rules state that Italian artillery may ignore 1st flag rolled against it. If the artillery unit has sandbags placed upon it, does this mean it can ignore 2 flags rolled against it?
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3600
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Thu, 24 January 2019 17:54
magick wrote on Thu, 24 January 2019 09:53

The rules state that Italian artillery may ignore 1st flag rolled against it. If the artillery unit has sandbags placed upon it, does this mean it can ignore 2 flags rolled against it?

Exactly!
      
magick
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 103
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Thu, 24 January 2019 18:18
Thanks for the verification
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1132
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Thu, 24 January 2019 19:05
and because they're italian, they can reatreat 3 hexes per flag instead of ignoring them.
      
magick
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 103
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Thu, 24 January 2019 19:33
Yep, I knew that one Very Happy
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 241
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Fri, 25 January 2019 14:40
Could you point me where this is in the rules? My intuition is that the bonuses would not "stack".

I know that Japanese infantry in sandbags etc. must ignore two flags, but that is special in itself, and separately explained.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2744
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Fri, 25 January 2019 22:26
Zalamence wrote on Fri, 25 January 2019 08:40

Could you point me where this is in the rules? My intuition is that the bonuses would not "stack".

I know that Japanese infantry in sandbags etc. must ignore two flags, but that is special in itself, and separately explained.


The defensive terrain bonus that modifies the number of dice an attacker would roll does not stack.

The ability of an Italian artillery unit to ignore a flag is conferred via a special Nation rule, not due to terrain. I would think if they also have sandbags, they could ignore two flags.

This sort of makes sense as if they are tough to dislodge normally, they would be tougher to root out if they were dug in.

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 241
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Sat, 26 January 2019 14:48
So it's an interpretation of rules?

If so, would this apply to all such cases where terrain gives the ability to ignore first flag and some other feature also gives the same ability? Heroic leader [Actions - 8] comes to mind.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3600
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Sat, 26 January 2019 16:13
Zalamence wrote on Sat, 26 January 2019 08:48

So it's an interpretation of rules?

If so, would this apply to all such cases where terrain gives the ability to ignore first flag and some other feature also gives the same ability? Heroic leader [Actions - 8] comes to mind.

Yes, I agree with you 100%

One case of ignoring the flag is intrinsic to the Terrain.
The other case of ignoring the flag is intrinsic to the unit.


Hence, a Heroic leader on a Church hex with a sandbag MAY ignore two flags:
- One flag because the Heroic Leader MAY ignore one flag.
- Another single flag because although both the Church Hex and the sandbag each give a one flag protection, these protections are not cumulative and so only one flag protection attributed to the existing terrain.

The difference with Japanese Infantry Units is that they MUST ignore flags where other units from other nations do not have this requirement. Other nations units have an option to take the flag rather than ignore it.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Lake Express

User Pages
Posts: 8424
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Sat, 26 January 2019 20:56
Well said, Paul. I would agree.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 241
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Sun, 27 January 2019 12:08
I know I'm taking it too far, but

Let's have even more flag ignoring abilities on top of each other. In the official scenarios Slim River and Bakri (CB#2) you can end up with a unit of Japanese infantry, lead by Heroic leader, taking cover in sandbags.

https://ncdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_nation_3.jpg
https://ncdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_action_8.jpg
To me it looks like Japanese infantry with heroic leader would have to ignore one flag, and may choose to ignore the second flag.

In terrain that ignores a flag they must ignore two flags, and due to heroic leader they could choose to ignore the third flag.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2918
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Sun, 27 January 2019 15:23
Zalamence, that is correct.

And of course all flags in a cave. But on Air Power and Barrage, the flags still may not be ignored.
      
ArchNME
Member
Iron tank

User Pages
Posts: 88
Registered:
July 2014
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Mon, 28 January 2019 01:19
Twisted Evil Gotta love this game.

Don
      
player3920363
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
January 2019
Re:Rules for Italian artillery Mon, 08 April 2019 23:08
Thanks for the verification
Tutuapp 9apps Showbox

[Updated on: Mon, 08 April 2019 23:08]

      
    
Previous Topic:Memoir 44 German Open 2019
Next Topic:Trouble downloading scenarios?
Goto Forum: