Corinth Corinth

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Old West Rules
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Lyndel
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2019
  Old West Rules Mon, 11 February 2019 00:31
Old West is our favorite, though we like them all.

I have read some of the forums, but am still not clear on these items which I believe are unclear in the rules:

1. Can you claim Alvin when building a route out of the city marker where he is? E.g., I built a route into my opponent's city marker at Billings coming from Gillette. My opponent subsequently captures Alvin and puts him on his city marker at Billings. Then I continue my route from Billings to Great Falls. Can I take Alvin since I've built a route from his city marker? The rules say "into a city", but I suppose it depends on perspective.

2. When playing with 4 players, can I build a route from Bozeman to Billings on red track and later build a route from Bozeman to Billings on green track? There are occasions when this would be valuable. For instance if I have a city marker on Billings with Alvin under it and the only route left to Billings is the one to Bozeman.

3. In one of the forums, it plainly states that building a city marker happens at the end of a turn where you are claiming a route. (I think it was unclear in the rules if this was to happen during that turn or as a separate turn.) If it is during that turn, when the rules say "playing a pair of cards of the same color" -- does that mean then the same color as the color of the route you just claimed? E.g., If I claim a route from Missoula to Spokane with 2 green cards, in order to build a city marker in one of those cities, I must play 2 more green cards (I understand I can use a locomotive in place of one or more)?

4. If I'm interpreting the rules correctly in question number 3, does this mean that the only time a city marker can be built is during a turn claiming a route connected to that city? I cannot place city marker in a city I've already connected to in previous turns?

Thank you! We love it!
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8267
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Old West Rules Mon, 11 February 2019 20:28
Lyndel wrote on Sun, 10 February 2019 15:31

Old West is our favorite, though we like them all.

I have read some of the forums, but am still not clear on these items which I believe are unclear in the rules:

1. Can you claim Alvin when building a route out of the city marker where he is? E.g., I built a route into my opponent's city marker at Billings coming from Gillette. My opponent subsequently captures Alvin and puts him on his city marker at Billings. Then I continue my route from Billings to Great Falls. Can I take Alvin since I've built a route from his city marker? The rules say "into a city", but I suppose it depends on perspective.


Yeah, don't get too stuck on which direction you're building the route from. If you connect to the city in question it qualifies.

Lyndel wrote on Sun, 10 February 2019 15:31

2. When playing with 4 players, can I build a route from Bozeman to Billings on red track and later build a route from Bozeman to Billings on green track? There are occasions when this would be valuable. For instance if I have a city marker on Billings with Alvin under it and the only route left to Billings is the one to Bozeman.


The same player can never claim two tracks between the same cities.

Lyndel wrote on Sun, 10 February 2019 15:31

3. In one of the forums, it plainly states that building a city marker happens at the end of a turn where you are claiming a route. (I think it was unclear in the rules if this was to happen during that turn or as a separate turn.) If it is during that turn, when the rules say "playing a pair of cards of the same color" -- does that mean then the same color as the color of the route you just claimed? E.g., If I claim a route from Missoula to Spokane with 2 green cards, in order to build a city marker in one of those cities, I must play 2 more green cards (I understand I can use a locomotive in place of one or more)?


If you look at the rules, you'll notice that the section that talks about building a city marker is under the heading "Claim a Route". You can only build a city after claiming a route and the city must be one of the two cities you just connected.

Playing two cards of the same color simply means they have to be the same color as each other, not necessarily the color you just used for the route.

Lyndel wrote on Sun, 10 February 2019 15:31

4. If I'm interpreting the rules correctly in question number 3, does this mean that the only time a city marker can be built is during a turn claiming a route connected to that city? I cannot place city marker in a city I've already connected to in previous turns?


Correct!

Enjoy the game!!
      
    
Previous Topic:Three face-up locomotives with only locomotives left in the deck
Next Topic:Where are the threads about the digital versions of the game?
Goto Forum: