Author | Topic |
rasmussen81

Posts: 8471
Registered: July 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Mon, 08 April 2019 00:50

|
 |
gheintze wrote on Sun, 07 April 2019 14:44 | Did we figure out how many sets you need for overlord? I would assume only one ( since it is specified that you need more for d-day landings).
Geoff
|
You'll only need one.
|
|
|
Millo76
Posts: 2
Registered: December 2013
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 10 April 2019 14:25

|
 |
I'm deploying an air unit on left flank for instance, where I have to put the unit exactly?
|
|
|
rasmussen81

Posts: 8471
Registered: July 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 10 April 2019 18:31

|
 |
Millo76 wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 05:25 | I'm deploying an air unit on left flank for instance, where I have to put the unit exactly?
|
On an open hex. I'm not sure if I understand your question.
|
|
|
Antoi

Posts: 1132
Registered: March 2005
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 10 April 2019 20:07

|
 |
Burdie Smith wrote on Sat, 30 March 2019 12:23 | When you attack an enemy artillery unit with a machine gun (plane), does the grenade count as a hit or not?
|
Bert, You're Back!!!!!
We missed you... (ok, I don't know for the others, but I missed you )
|
|
|
chrboesen
Posts: 28
Registered: October 2014
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 10 April 2019 20:50

|
 |
How many air cards does the CiC get in Overlord? 2? 6? something else?
|
|
|
Jeronimon

Posts: 2442
Registered: November 2007
|
|
|
Jeronimon

Posts: 2442
Registered: November 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 10 April 2019 22:09

|
 |
Ok ok, I will make it extra easy for you, from those rules:
Overlord - Special Rule
Before playing with the Overlord Command deck, remove the Air Power and the Air Sortie cards from the deck. Apply the updated rules for Command cards.
In an Overlord scenario, the Commander in Chief will handle the
Air Combat cards. The CiC will decide when to deploy an air unit by giving one of their Field Generals an Air Combat card at the beginning of their turn, along with a Command card.
Once an air unit is brought onto the battlefield, the Field General commands the air unit. On later turns, the CiC can pass out an Air Combat card to the Field General that commands the air unit. The CiC will follow the rules for replenishing their Air Combat cards.
If the air unit leaves a Field General’s section, it may be ordered by the Field General of the new section on the next turn. Remember that you cannot order a unit twice per turn however.
The rest of the New Flight Plan Air Rules remain the same.
|
|
|
chrboesen
Posts: 28
Registered: October 2014
|
|
|
rasmussen81

Posts: 8471
Registered: July 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 11 April 2019 01:28

|
 |
chrboesen wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 14:16 | I don't see where the new air rules state the number of air cards for Overlord. For combat cards Overlord gets 4 not 2.
It is also not stated if there can be more than one plane on the map at one time in Overlord. Can there be one plane in each section or just one plane on the entire map?
I guess since both of these questions are not stated, Overlord is treated exactly like a standard map, other than what is stated in the new air rules regarding overlord.
|
Page 8 of the New Flight Plan rule book explains the special rules or changes for different map formats. Overlord is in there as well.
Enjoy!
|
|
|
sam1812

Posts: 2939
Registered: August 2006
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 11 April 2019 05:23

|
 |
By the way, chrboesen, in Overlord, each Field General was given 1 Combat Card in the original rules (3 total), but the Jungle & Desert expansion increased that to 2 cards per Field General (6 total).
chrboesen wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 17:16 | I don't see where the new air rules state the number of air cards for Overlord. For combat cards Overlord gets 4 not 2.
|
|
|
|
Millo76
Posts: 2
Registered: December 2013
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 11 April 2019 10:25

|
 |
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 18:31 |
Millo76 wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 05:25 | I'm deploying an air unit on left flank for instance, where I have to put the unit exactly?
|
On an open hex. I'm not sure if I understand your question.
|
Yes i think you understanded well...so i can choose any open hex on left flank
|
|
|
rasmussen81

Posts: 8471
Registered: July 2007
|
|
|
chrboesen
Posts: 28
Registered: October 2014
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Sat, 27 April 2019 16:12

|
 |
I see that overlord is mentioned in the new rules. I don't see any mention of the number of cards. I also don't see any mention of if more than one plane can be in the air at one time (in different sections commanded by different field commanders). I guess in the absence of any other information the rules are the same as standard boards, so 2 air cards for each player and only one plane on the map.
Thanks for the clarification that combat cards are now 6 with the through the jungle expansion.
|
|
|
rasmussen81

Posts: 8471
Registered: July 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Sun, 28 April 2019 06:50

|
 |
chrboesen wrote on Sat, 27 April 2019 07:12 | I see that overlord is mentioned in the new rules. I don't see any mention of the number of cards. I also don't see any mention of if more than one plane can be in the air at one time (in different sections commanded by different field commanders). I guess in the absence of any other information the rules are the same as standard boards, so 2 air cards for each player and only one plane on the map.
Thanks for the clarification that combat cards are now 6 with the through the jungle expansion.
|
Yep, just one plane per side, even in Overlord.
The number of cards are explained on page 3: 2 Combat Cards +1 for Air Superiority.
Like it says in the last line of the section that explains the Overlord Changes on Page 8: "The rest of the New Flight Plan Air Rules remain the same."
|
|
|
chrboesen
Posts: 28
Registered: October 2014
|
|
|
biglugg

Posts: 15
Registered: June 2015
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Tue, 21 May 2019 04:49

|
 |
Just got an email from Miniature Market on my pre-order. Looks like the release date was pushed out to June... Has anyone received theirs yet?
|
|
|
SamW44

Posts: 54
Registered: August 2017
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Tue, 21 May 2019 18:29

|
 |
Asmodee North America just posted on Instagram that it will be in stores June 6th.
|
|
|
JJAZ

Posts: 832
Registered: May 2008
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Fri, 07 June 2019 19:09

|
 |
I fly like a bird
Thanks Richard (and Jacques, and all others involved) for a great extension.
J.
|
|
|
gheintze

Posts: 1028
Registered: August 2004
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Sat, 08 June 2019 05:23

|
 |
Picked up two copies yesterday and reading the rules.
I have a question about the strategic bombing of objective hexes. This is not specified by the rules, but I assume you can only bomb a hex and get a medal if it an objective he. For your side. That is, the Allies can only bomb Aliied objectives, the axis can only bomb axis objectives, and both sides can bomb dual objectives.
It is also clear that if the opposing side player moves into the hex, the player that bombed the hex loses the medal.
This is where it gets tricky, as the next paragraph is confusing. First let’s assume that the hex was for the allies only—I think this is how it works. The allied player bombs it and gets a medal. The axis player reclaims the hex and the medal is returned. Now the allied player cannot bomb it again to get the medal; the must retake it with a ground unit. Is this right?
It gets more confusing if it is a medal for both players. Let’s use the example above again with the allies getting the medal by bombing. Now the axis get a medal when they retake the hex ( which they can only do with ground troops not Bombing) I assume that this medal can now not be claimed by either side through bombing and will only change sides with ground troops.
Is this all correct?
|
|
|
JJAZ

Posts: 832
Registered: May 2008
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Sat, 08 June 2019 17:10

|
 |
gheintze wrote on Sat, 08 June 2019 05:23 | Picked up two copies yesterday and reading the rules.
I have a question about the strategic bombing of objective hexes. This is not specified by the rules, but I assume you can only bomb a hex and get a medal if it an objective he. For your side. That is, the Allies can only bomb Aliied objectives, the axis can only bomb axis objectives, and both sides can bomb dual objectives.
It is also clear that if the opposing side player moves into the hex, the player that bombed the hex loses the medal.
This is where it gets tricky, as the next paragraph is confusing. First let’s assume that the hex was for the allies only—I think this is how it works. The allied player bombs it and gets a medal. The axis player reclaims the hex and the medal is returned. Now the allied player cannot bomb it again to get the medal; the must retake it with a ground unit. Is this right?
"Yes, you said it, the medal can only be bombed once and only by 1 side and I assume only the Allies in this case could bomb it as the axis can not win it only reclaim it from the Allies"
It gets more confusing if it is a medal for both players. Let’s use the example above again with the allies getting the medal by bombing. Now the axis get a medal when they retake the hex ( which they can only do with ground troops not Bombing) I assume that this medal can now not be claimed by either side through bombing and will only change sides with ground troops.
"A medal hex can only be bombed 1 time by 1 side bottom page 6, but as stated can be reclaimed by ground troops"
Is this all correct?
|
[Updated on: Sat, 08 June 2019 17:14]
|
|
|
Clexton27

Posts: 3606
Registered: February 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Sat, 08 June 2019 23:47

|
 |
I think the general principle from my reading of the rules is that any temporary medal can only be garnered one time by bombing. This excludes any further gaining of the medal by bombing. So if there is a medal that both sides may gain, if one side bombs it to get it, the other side must gain it by ground forces. And if the same medal is lost by the opponent, then again it must be gained by ground forces.
|
|
|
gheintze

Posts: 1028
Registered: August 2004
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Sun, 09 June 2019 23:55

|
 |
Clexton27 wrote on Sat, 08 June 2019 17:47 | I think the general principle from my reading of the rules is that any temporary medal can only be garnered one time by bombing. This excludes any further gaining of the medal by bombing. So if there is a medal that both sides may gain, if one side bombs it to get it, the other side must gain it by ground forces. And if the same medal is lost by the opponent, then again it must be gained by ground forces.
|
Yes, I agree. I just wanted to make sure. That section was just hard to decipher, but this must be the meaning.
Geoff
|
|
|
Clexton27

Posts: 3606
Registered: February 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Mon, 10 June 2019 00:47

|
 |
Geoff we could both be wrong, but I will play it this way until someone from DOW says differently.
|
|
|
Quit2

Posts: 1445
Registered: July 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Mon, 10 June 2019 14:03

|
 |
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 11 April 2019 18:24 |
Millo76 wrote on Thu, 11 April 2019 01:25 |
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 18:31 |
Millo76 wrote on Wed, 10 April 2019 05:25 | I'm deploying an air unit on left flank for instance, where I have to put the unit exactly?
|
On an open hex. I'm not sure if I understand your question.
|
Yes i think you understanded well...so i can choose any open hex on left flank
|
Yep, any hex in the region. Your plane will start on any hex and then will end its movement on any open hex.
You can find the full explanation on page 4 of the rule book over here: https://ncdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_nfp_rules_ en.pdf
|
Just to be clear: that rulebook states that you can start on any hex, even an occupied one (it's the first hex you "move" to). You must end your movement on an empty hex.
|
|
|
Quit2

Posts: 1445
Registered: July 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Mon, 10 June 2019 15:08

|
 |
Something I'm not entirely sure of after reading the rules for a second time.
An Armor that attacks an adjacent flying air unit from a town hex, battles with a -2 die penalty, right?
To be clear, it's the armor standing on the town hex.
|
|
|
Board_Dan
Posts: 43
Registered: February 2018
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Mon, 10 June 2019 16:05

|
 |
gheintze wrote on Sun, 07 April 2019 23:44 | Did we figure out how many sets you need for overlord? I would assume only one ( since it is specified that you need more for d-day landings).
Geoff
|
Yes 1 set for overlord and overtrough. You only need several sets for D-day landings (not overtrough as I understand it though).
|
|
|
Clexton27

Posts: 3606
Registered: February 2007
|
|
|
StridsvagnS

Posts: 6
Registered: March 2015
|
|
|
Clexton27

Posts: 3606
Registered: February 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 26 June 2019 13:11

|
 |
StridsvagnS wrote on Wed, 26 June 2019 04:19 | In Fall Gelb in Campaign book #1 Germany has air supremacy.
We would like to play the grand campaign and use A new flight plan. What do we do?
Just play with the rules concerning air superiority or
We want to use NFP but we also want to keep the intent of the campaign.
|
Just a random opinion, but I don’t think you can have your cake and eat it too.
The Campaign Books were written with the intent of using NO air rules other than the scenario specific rules. I don’t think it possible now to interject the NFP and expect there not to be conflict in the rules, loss of historical context and imbalance in gameplay.
But as always, if that is what you would like to do, have at it. And have fun.
|
|
|
StridsvagnS

Posts: 6
Registered: March 2015
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 26 June 2019 14:04

|
 |
I completely agree, but I would really lika an answer from someone 'official.'
Using the NFP makes the game more gamey and less of a simulation. That's not a problem for me, I just want som advice how to use one quality product with another quality product.
|
|
|
Major Duncan

Posts: 258
Registered: July 2004
|
|
|
StridsvagnS

Posts: 6
Registered: March 2015
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 26 June 2019 19:20

|
 |
Actually, I'm not asking much. Just some official advise how to interpret rules in scenarios with the old Air rules.
|
|
|
Achtung Panzer

Posts: 1176
Registered: December 2007
|
|
|
tank commander

Posts: 2777
Registered: October 2004
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 03 July 2019 22:17

|
 |
I think I have this correct.
ANY Air Combat Card can be used to bring a plane onto the board. This includes the "GROUND TO AIR AMBUSH","GROUND TO AIR ATTACK" and "DOGFIGHT AMBUSH".
I only ask because of the text at the bottom of these cards where the action on the card is conducted during the opposing player's turn. But cards without air unit type icons are mentioned when deploying aircraft.
|
|
|
gheintze

Posts: 1028
Registered: August 2004
|
|
|
tank commander

Posts: 2777
Registered: October 2004
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 04 July 2019 12:20

|
 |
gheintze wrote on Wed, 03 July 2019 23:35 | From my reading of the rules, this is correct. You can use the card to bring the plan on the board, but you don't get to use the ambush action.
Geoff
|
Roger that.
|
|
|
Antoi

Posts: 1132
Registered: March 2005
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Wed, 31 July 2019 11:48

|
 |
tank commander wrote on Wed, 03 July 2019 22:17 | I think I have this correct.
ANY Air Combat Card can be used to bring a plane onto the board. This includes the "GROUND TO AIR AMBUSH","GROUND TO AIR ATTACK" and "DOGFIGHT AMBUSH".
I only ask because of the text at the bottom of these cards where the action on the card is conducted during the opposing player's turn. But cards without air unit type icons are mentioned when deploying aircraft.
|
I had the same question, it seems to contradict page 3 of the rules which say:
rulebook page 3 | ♦ Phase of Play: when necessary on some cards, this text explains
when the Air Combat card must be played in a game turn.
|
|
|
|
sam1812

Posts: 2939
Registered: August 2006
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 01 August 2019 00:45

|
 |
As is true with all of the Combat decks, the special action (Street Fight, Bitter Resistance, bringing on a plane) happens at its own special time -- not necessarily at the time printed on the card.
Antoi wrote on Wed, 31 July 2019 05:48 |
I had the same question, it seems to contradict page 3 of the rules which say:
rulebook page 3 | ♦ Phase of Play: when necessary on some cards, this text explains
when the Air Combat card must be played in a game turn.
|
|
|
|
|
sam1812

Posts: 2939
Registered: August 2006
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 01 August 2019 00:54

|
 |
In preparing for the WBC tournament, we had another Air Combat question, which I checked with Richard:
Pilot Initiative says, "In addition to the orders on the Command card just played, order one air unit anywhere on the battlefield. At the end on the turn, draw another Air Combat card."
If I play PI along with Attack Right, do I order 3 units on the right and bring a new plane onto the battlefield? Or must the plane already be on the battlefield in order to benefit from this card?
Richard Borg wrote:
Quote: | On the battlefield means just that. For your example Attack Right, order 3 units on the right. An air unit can be ordered anywhere on the battlefield, so you would actually be ordering 4 units, 3 on the right and 1 air unit.
Of course you could disregard the text on the Pilot Initiative card and play the card to bring an air unit onto the battlefield in the right section, but it would cost 1 of the 3 orders from the Attack Right.
|
|
|
|
Clexton27

Posts: 3606
Registered: February 2007
|
Re:Memoir ’44 New Flight Plan, the most aspiring expansion yet released
|
Thu, 01 August 2019 01:45

|
 |
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 31 July 2019 18:54 | In preparing for the WBC tournament, we had another Air Combat question, which I checked with Richard:
Pilot Initiative says, "In addition to the orders on the Command card just played, order one air unit anywhere on the battlefield. At the end on the turn, draw another Air Combat card."
If I play PI along with Attack Right, do I order 3 units on the right and bring a new plane onto the battlefield? Or must the plane already be on the battlefield in order to benefit from this card?
Richard Borg wrote:
Quote: | On the battlefield means just that. For your example Attack Right, order 3 units on the right. An air unit can be ordered anywhere on the battlefield, so you would actually be ordering 4 units, 3 on the right and 1 air unit.
Of course you could disregard the text on the Pilot Initiative card and play the card to bring an air unit onto the battlefield in the right section, but it would cost 1 of the 3 orders from the Attack Right.
|
|
So it seems if you play a RECON-1 on the Right and a Pilot Initiative Combat card when you have no airplanes on the board. You could place and order a plane on the Right only and at the end of your turn draw 2 Command Cards and choose one for playing the RECON-1 card and then also draw one Air Combat card for the RECON-1 card. Also, you would draw an additional Air Combat card per the instructions on the Pilot Initiative card. I hope this is correct, because this is what Johan has done to me. LOL!!!!
|
|
|