Ticket to Ride London Ticket to Ride London

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Apparent Conflicting Rules about Stations
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player4077802
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2019
Apparent Conflicting Rules about Stations Sat, 20 April 2019 15:09
I have a question about the rules for Building a Station on page 6 of the Europe TTR rulebook. My interpretation is in parentheses.

The first rule states "A Train Station allows its owner (the person building the station) to use one, and only one, of the routes belonging to another player (implies that another player owns the route the station builder needs), into or out of that city (the city the station will be built on) to help him connect the cities on his Destination Tickets."

The second rule states "Stations may be built on any unoccupied city (this can only mean a city that does not already have a station built on it), even if it currently has no claimed routes into it.”

Since the first rule implies that a station can only be built on a city that has a route leading into or out of that city, the second rule is in direct conflict by stating that a station could be built on a city with no claimed route into it.

Can someone explain how these two rules can co-exist?

Thank you.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8300
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Apparent Conflicting Rules about Stations Sat, 20 April 2019 18:32
player4077802 wrote on Sat, 20 April 2019 06:09

I have a question about the rules for Building a Station on page 6 of the Europe TTR rulebook. My interpretation is in parentheses.

The first rule states "A Train Station allows its owner (the person building the station) to use one, and only one, of the routes belonging to another player (implies that another player owns the route the station builder needs), into or out of that city (the city the station will be built on) to help him connect the cities on his Destination Tickets."

The second rule states "Stations may be built on any unoccupied city (this can only mean a city that does not already have a station built on it), even if it currently has no claimed routes into it.”

Since the first rule implies that a station can only be built on a city that has a route leading into or out of that city, the second rule is in direct conflict by stating that a station could be built on a city with no claimed route into it.

Can someone explain how these two rules can co-exist?

Thank you.


Basically you can build a Station on any city (that doesn't already have a Station on it). Any city on the whole board. This can mean that you build the station on a city that has no routes build in or out of it.

Then, at the end of the game you can use that station to claim one route (in or out of that city) to continue your path and connect to cities.

The danger of placing a Station before it has any opponent routes claimed is that the opponent can avoid that city if they want.

I hope this helps!
      
player4077802
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2019
Re:Apparent Conflicting Rules about Stations Mon, 22 April 2019 01:11
Thanks for your quick response. So according to what you have said, at the end of the game when each player gets a last turn, a player can build a station on an unoccupied city and claim a route regardless of length to help him connect the cities on his Destination Ticket even if no other player has claimed that route.

If this is so, I think Days of Wonder needs to re-word the rule to make it clearer. I personally think the first rule should remain and the second rule done away with. Players need to plan better to complete destinations and should be so penalized if they cannot and not be able to throw up a "Hail Mary" and use a station in conflict with the first rule. Just my opinion.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8300
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Apparent Conflicting Rules about Stations Mon, 22 April 2019 05:16
No, you've miss-understood me.

A Station only helps you if another player has claimed a rout connected to that city. However, the second rule allows you to build your Station anywhere on the board if a city doesn't already have a Station.

So what I was saying is that you could, early in the game, place a station out in the middle of eastern Europe before anyone has routes over there. It would probably be wasted, but you could do it. Once another player builds in to the city that has the Station, the Station would allow you to connect your route to the city at the other end of that route.

The point is that players can put their Station on any empty city and can use any of their opponent's claimed routes coming in or out of that city.

I hope this makes it more clear and sorry if I confused you!

[Updated on: Mon, 22 April 2019 05:17]

      
player4077802
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2019
Re:Apparent Conflicting Rules about Stations Mon, 22 April 2019 16:48
Thanks. This clears up my question.
      
    
Previous Topic:Ticket To Ride Demo Rules (Board game)
Next Topic:Japanese Rules
Goto Forum: