Corinth Corinth

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Winter Wars Combat Cards
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Kaleb Dassow
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
May 2019
Winter Wars Combat Cards Mon, 13 May 2019 23:32
I got winter wars recently and came to a question about the combat cards: Can you play a combat card such as frozen ground, but play it side by side with a winter forest to have a tank move 4 hexes into a forest and still fire?
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3481
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Tue, 14 May 2019 04:52
Kaleb Dassow wrote on Mon, 13 May 2019 17:32

I got winter wars recently and came to a question about the combat cards: Can you play a combat card such as frozen ground, but play it side by side with a winter forest to have a tank move 4 hexes into a forest and still fire?

Yes, I believe you are within the rules to do this. However, please note that in many Winter Combat scenarios you are often limited to Armor movement of two hexes. The FROZEN GROUND Card may increase your movement to three hexes of movement but not necessarily four. Otherwise you may enter a Forest on your last hex of movement and with the WINTER FOREST Card battle with Armor.
      
Kaleb Dassow
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
May 2019
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Tue, 14 May 2019 20:35
Thank you for answering. I think it is great how scripture may be applied to everything, even board games.
      
Jon Washington
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 59
Registered:
October 2017
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Tue, 14 May 2019 22:31
Kaleb Dassow wrote on Mon, 13 May 2019 17:32

I got winter wars recently and came to a question about the combat cards: Can you play a combat card such as frozen ground, but play it side by side with a winter forest to have a tank move 4 hexes into a forest and still fire?

Winter Wars rulebook page 5 says

There is no limit to the number of Combat cards a
player may hold or the number of Combat cards he
may play during his, or an opponent's, turn.

      
Kaleb Dassow
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
May 2019
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Wed, 15 May 2019 00:56
Perfect. That answers it all. But that does make me think of another question: may a standard infantry unit move two hexes into a forest with a Winter Forest card, and still fire even though it just moved twice?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2775
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Wed, 15 May 2019 02:52
Winter Forest just allows a unit to ignore the normal "may not battle."

However, it doesn't allow a standard infantry to move 2 and battle.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3481
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Wed, 15 May 2019 18:48
Kaleb Dassow wrote on Tue, 14 May 2019 18:56

Perfect. That answers it all. But that does make me think of another question: may a standard infantry unit move two hexes into a forest with a Winter Forest card, and still fire even though it just moved twice?

If the Infantry was a Special Forces Infantry it could do as you suggested. Also if you played an INFANTRY ASSAULT card, then at least one of your Standard Infantry could move 2 hexes into a Forest and with the WINTER FOREST card played it could battle.

[Updated on: Wed, 15 May 2019 18:56]

      
Kaleb Dassow
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
May 2019
Re:Winter Wars Combat Cards Wed, 15 May 2019 23:05
Thanks. That Makes sense.
      
    
Previous Topic:UK tournament? (UK Games Expo?)
Next Topic:Base game reprint?
Goto Forum: