Ticket to Ride London Ticket to Ride London

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
kbomb
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
July 2006
Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 14:39
This question may have been answered elsewhere, but I couldn't find a definitive answer. Hence, please excuse any duplication.

The Equipment Pack Smoke Shells documentation states:

Line of Sight: A hex containing a Smoke Shell blocks Line of Sight, though units that are in the hex containing this Smoke Shell may be seen and see out of that hex. In other words, a unit is hidden from line of sight only if the line of sight crosses the hex containing a Smoke Shell. Smoke Shell hexes also block line of sight for Artillery units.

The underlined sentence is confusing. Normal artillery and non-moving mortars don’t require line of sight to fire at a target within range. Therefore, can they fire at targets behind smoke or not?

Thanks.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8334
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 18:41
They may not. The Smoke blocks line of sight for everyone, including Artillery.
      
Board_Dan
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2018
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 18:47
No
      
kbomb
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 5
Registered:
July 2006
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 19:10
The smoke shells can only occupy 3 adjacent contiguous hexes. (Towns, forests, hills, etc. often occupy more such hexes, yet Artillery and stationary Mortars can still indirectly fire at targets beyond them.)

Therefore, please explain why Artillery and stationary Mortars can't indirectly fire at targets through/beyond Smoke.

Thanks!

Edit: Reworded text.

[Updated on: Wed, 26 June 2019 20:47]

      
Jon Washington
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 91
Registered:
October 2017
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 21:09
kbomb wrote on Wed, 26 June 2019 13:10

The smoke shells can only occupy 3 adjacent contiguous hexes. (Towns, forests, hills, etc. often occupy more such hexes, yet Artillery and stationary Mortars can still indirectly fire at targets beyond them.)

Therefore, please explain why Artillery and stationary Mortars can't indirectly fire at targets through/beyond Smoke.

Thanks!

Edit: Reworded text.


Because the rules say they can't.
      
Board_Dan
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2018
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 21:44
kbomb wrote on Wed, 26 June 2019 19:10

The smoke shells can only occupy 3 adjacent contiguous hexes. (Towns, forests, hills, etc. often occupy more such hexes, yet Artillery and stationary Mortars can still indirectly fire at targets beyond them.)

Therefore, please explain why Artillery and stationary Mortars can't indirectly fire at targets through/beyond Smoke.

Thanks!

Edit: Reworded text.


Smoke Shell hexes also block line of sight for Artillery units

Because the rule about smoke shells says so. The game is not always logical but the rules are always clear, and in this specific case it's very clear. ARTILLERY CAN NOT FIGHT IF LOS IS BLOCKED BY SMOKE SHELL.

[Updated on: Wed, 26 June 2019 21:45]

      
Jon Washington
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 91
Registered:
October 2017
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 21:49
Is there an echo in here? Laughing
      
nemesszili
Senior Member
Hauptmann

User Pages
Posts: 966
Registered:
June 2008
Re:Smoke Shells and Artillery/Mortars Wed, 26 June 2019 23:04
Don't own the Equipment Pack, but Campaign Book 1 had 3 smoke markers with somewhat more permissive rules. See:

https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compe ndium/?id=action_19375377

https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compe ndium/?id=action-31

While I'm guessing the modifications were necessary for the EP scenarios, I find the original rules more to my liking.
      
    
Previous Topic:Double Breaklord saison 4 : The Pacific
Next Topic:There is no Commissar rule?
Goto Forum: