Small World of Warcraft - Available now! Small World of Warcraft - Available now!

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Behind Enemy Lines plus cave
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 242
Registered:
June 2010
Behind Enemy Lines plus cave Sun, 22 December 2019 19:18
Caves are quite simple, Behind Enemy Lines is less simple. I looked and found some interaction they have - starting from a cave hex, you can use the BEL to move to another cave, like a normal order.

You cannot first move to another cave and then continue moving before battling.

However, there's more due to the nature of BEL. Since you can move twice, and additionally make a short movement by Taking Ground, I would like to know how these are all played.

Case A: Starting from a different hex. Is it possible to move onto a cave hex and move through caves in the same turn (with BEL)?

Case B: Starting from a cave hex. Is it possible to move through caves, battle from a cave hex, Take Ground and/or move again?
https://ncdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_terrain_52.jpg
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 2442
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Behind Enemy Lines plus cave Sun, 22 December 2019 22:31
Tje answer is I think on page 53 of the FAQ:

Q. When using Behind Enemy Lines, does moving through a Cave hex count as one hex and allow the Japanese Infantry unit to move two more hexes before battling?
A. No. Moving from one Cave hex to another empty Cave hex is the unit’s entire movement for the turn. The Japanese Infantry unit can still battle but may not move another three hexes.

So you can only move from one cave to another then attack, and if that was in close assault you can take ground. (As taking ground is part of the battling phase.)
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1132
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Behind Enemy Lines plus cave Sun, 22 December 2019 22:31
From the Pacific Rulebook:
Quote:

Only Japanese Infantry may use a Cave
network to move from any Cave hex it
occupies onto any other empty Cave hex as its entire
movement for the turn. The unit may still battle


To me it means NO to both of your questions.
But since you may battle, you can take ground if you want to.
      
    
Previous Topic:D-Day Landings Expansion/Map Re-Print
Next Topic:Confirm/Deny Battlemap reprint rumors?
Goto Forum: