Ticket to Ride Japan Ticket to Ride Japan

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Trying to understand posts on socerers
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Pluddleglum
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2016
Trying to understand posts on socerers Fri, 01 January 2021 14:00
On page 4 of the rules I find Important Note: Regardless of a Race and/or Special Power benefit, a player must always have at least one Race token available to initiate a new conquest.

However, in some of the posts it sounds like people are initiating the sorcerers power without having any tokens left in hand. Can someone help me understand why this is being said and point me to the rules that make this clear or help me in my misunderstanding of the rules. To me if my previous conquest if used the remainder of my tokens I cannot initiate a conquest against a one token region because I do not have a token left in hand. Thanks I am new to the gave and have been trying to understand this.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Lake Express

User Pages
Posts: 8466
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Trying to understand posts on socerers Sat, 02 January 2021 04:37
Yes, both are true. And it's a logical question!

The note on page 4 is true because you can't use special powers like the Triton ability (conquer regions next to water for one less token) or the Commando ability (attack all regions for one less token) to empty a region of enemy tokens without tokens in your hand. So even if you rolled 3 pips for the Berserk ability and it would make a region "free" to conquer, you still need to have one token in your hand to try for that attack. If this rule wasn't in place, we would have players wiping the board for as long as they could roll, without actually conquering regions.

However, the Sorcerers are able to use their ability at the very end of their turn without any tokens in their hand because the tokens for that conquest aren't coming from their hand. The tokens are taken from the box, so as long as they still have available tokens in the box, they can use their ability to convert a one-token active race.

If you still aren't sure, you could play the digital version of Small World on your iPad or Steam and test it out. It's an official use of the rules and you'll find that a Sorcerer player is able to use the special ability after using up all of their tokens.

Have fun with the game and I hope this helps!
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 472
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Trying to understand posts on socerers Sat, 02 January 2021 21:02
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 02 January 2021 04:37

Yes, both are true. And it's a logical question!

The note on page 4 is true because you can't use special powers like the Triton ability (conquer regions next to water for one less token) or the Commando ability (attack all regions for one less token) to empty a region of enemy tokens without tokens in your hand. So even if you rolled 3 pips for the Berserk ability and it would make a region "free" to conquer, you still need to have one token in your hand to try for that attack. If this rule wasn't in place, we would have players wiping the board for as long as they could roll, without actually conquering regions.

However, the Sorcerers are able to use their ability at the very end of their turn without any tokens in their hand because the tokens for that conquest aren't coming from their hand. The tokens are taken from the box, so as long as they still have available tokens in the box, they can use their ability to convert a one-token active race.

If you still aren't sure, you could play the digital version of Small World on your iPad or Steam and test it out. It's an official use of the rules and you'll find that a Sorcerer player is able to use the special ability after using up all of their tokens.

Have fun with the game and I hope this helps!


They can't use the ability at the end of the turn if they have rolled the reinforcement dice.
      
    
Previous Topic:Sorcerers Clarification
Next Topic:Escargots question
Goto Forum: