Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Tunnels (declaring your intention)
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
gaim87
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2021
Tunnels (declaring your intention) Sun, 31 January 2021 20:03
Hi!

I have a question! Suppose I want to place my wagons in a track with a tunnel and I end up not being able to, because I drew cards of the same color (I want to use) from the pile and I don't have the required amount.

Do I have to declare to the other players where I wanted to place my wagons? Because they could block me, if they knew...

Thanks!
      
Photios
Senior Member
Armor Excellence

User Pages
Posts: 644
Registered:
January 2011
Re:Tunnels (declaring your intention) Sun, 31 January 2021 21:59
yes you have to clearly declare it; or else who knows if you are drawing the correct number of cards?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Lake Express

User Pages
Posts: 8475
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Tunnels (declaring your intention) Sun, 31 January 2021 23:32
Photios wrote on Sun, 31 January 2021 12:59

yes you have to clearly declare it; or else who knows if you are drawing the correct number of cards?


Well, they're always drawing the same number of cards...but the other players need to know which route so they know if you drew the right color of card. So yes, you have to clearly identify which track you're trying for.

Part of the risk with tunnels is that if you fail, you opponents will indeed know where you're going!
      
gaim87
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2021
Re:Tunnels (declaring your intention) Mon, 01 February 2021 15:20
OOOK, thanks!
      
Fomalhaut76
Member

Posts: 45
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Tunnels (declaring your intention) Mon, 01 February 2021 21:44
gaim87 wrote on Sun, 31 January 2021 20:03

Hi!

I have a question! Suppose I want to place my wagons in a track with a tunnel and I end up not being able to, because I drew cards of the same color (I want to use) from the pile and I don't have the required amount.

Do I have to declare to the other players where I wanted to place my wagons? Because they could block me, if they knew...

Thanks!

Okay, here are the facts:
There have been – on BoardGameGeek and maybe other places – lenghty discussions regarding this question. The rules as printed are not clear. In the end Alan Moon himself ruled that yes, players should be obliged to tell which tunnel it is.

Me and my friends, however, played the game long before that question was settled. Probably before it was even asked. We decided (or I did, as I am a fan of using the rules creatively without breaking them), that we did not have to state which tunnel we tried to claim. Like this:

Player A: I want to claim a yellow tunnel. [Plays two yellow cards.]
Player B draws three blind cards. They are (probably) not all yellow or locomotives. Thus ...
Player A: Great. [Tosses the two yellow cards and possibly one or two extra cards into the discard pile and places two waggons on a 2-long yellow or grey tunnel.]

The argument that the other players "must see that A plays the correct number of cards" seems – to me – invalid. That becomes obvious when the train pieces are placed. It's always like that, for any route, that the number of cards matches the route when the train pieces are played (and not before).

Anyway it's always almost obvious, which tunnel a player plans to claim. Either it's the only possible one, or it's the most logical when the existing railway network is studied ... Smile
      
gaim87
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2021
Re:Tunnels (declaring your intention) Tue, 02 February 2021 15:49
^This is, indeed, a good way to slightly bend the rules, without actually feeling like you're playing a different game. I guess we'll have to decide how we are going to play it.
      
    
Previous Topic:TTR Asia
Next Topic:What is my total score
Goto Forum: