Author | Topic |
jamthom8
Posts: 3
Registered: April 2014
|
T2R Nordic Countries Rules Clarification
|
Tue, 15 April 2014 09:10
|
 |
In the rule booklet in the subsection 'Ferries' it states the following:
*A player can play additional Locomotive cards as a substitute for a color card
*Any three cards can be used as a substitute for a Locomotive card
So according to the second dot point you can play any three cards instead of a locomotive card and according to the first dot point you can play any locomotive card instead of a colour.
Is it possible to combine these two rules into one and use any three cards instead of a locomotive card as a substitute for a color card? e.g. If you wish to take Stavangar to Kristiansand (an orange ferry route with one locomotive icon) you could play any nine cards instead.
Thanks in advance.
|
|
|
cazaron1
Posts: 223
Registered: May 2012
|
Re:T2R Nordic Countries Rules Clarification
|
Tue, 15 April 2014 10:19

|
 |
Yes, assuming that you're playing the locomotive to fill the ferry space.
"Any three cards can be used as a substitute for a Locomotive card".
The locomotive is independent; you need colour cards AND a locomotive to take a ferry route, so you can combine 3 cards to make one locomotive and use that locomotive on the ferry route.
Please correct me if I'm wrong, anyone; I'll mentally note it and change how I play next time.
|
|
|
jamthom8
Posts: 3
Registered: April 2014
|
Re:T2R Nordic Countries Rules Clarification
|
Tue, 15 April 2014 10:44

|
 |
You do need locomotive cards AND colour cards to take a ferry root but it also says that you can use locomotive cards in place of colour cards in ferry routes so you could pay the Stavangar to Kristiansand with three locomotive cards if you wanted to. My question is can you play any three cards instead of each of those three locomotives (for a total of nine cards) to take that route?
|
|
|
cazaron1
Posts: 223
Registered: May 2012
|
Re:T2R Nordic Countries Rules Clarification
|
Tue, 15 April 2014 14:07

|
 |
Oh, geez. Let me consult the rules.
I would say that you can, given that any three can substitute for a locomotive, which you can play as a substitute for a colour card...
I would say you can. However, definitely wait for official rulings.
|
|
|
jamthom8
Posts: 3
Registered: April 2014
|
Re:T2R Nordic Countries Rules Clarification
|
Tue, 15 April 2014 14:54

|
 |
How would I seek these official rulings?
|
|
|
cazaron1
Posts: 223
Registered: May 2012
|
|
|
broxa
Posts: 2
Registered: January 2018
|
Re:T2R Nordic Countries Rules Clarification
|
Mon, 29 March 2021 16:32
|
 |
I have been looking into this with the online version. By trial and error I have found the following.
You can use any 3 cards instead of a locomotive to fill in the locomotive symbols on the ferry.
You cannot use three cards as a wild card to fill in the colour card portion.
BUT
If you have a locomotive in your hand you can use 3 card groups to fill in the locomotive symbols and then use locomotive card(s) in the colour part.
So on the Bergen to Andalsnes black ferry with 3 blacks and 2 loco symbols you can have
3 Blacks + 2 Locos
2 Blacks + 3 Locos
1 Black = 4 Locos
5 Locos as usual
but also where Trio means any 3 cards
3 Blacks + 1 Loco + 1 Trio
3 Blacks + 2 Trios
2 Blacks + 2 Locos + 1 Trio - one loco replacing a Black
2 Blacks + 1 Loco + 2 Trios
1 Black + 3 Locos + 1 Trio
1 Black + 2 Locos + 2 Trios
4 Locos + 1 Trio
3 Locos + 2 Trios
You cannot claim the route with 2 Blacks + 3 Trios
|
|
|