Small World of Warcraft - Available now! Small World of Warcraft - Available now!

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » From a fordable stream to a bridge?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Sir Wesk
Member
Maggiore

Posts: 52
Registered:
March 2021
From a fordable stream to a bridge? Sun, 02 May 2021 15:43
Hi everyone, probably you've already discussed this topic, but I was unable to find any answer on the Forum+FAQ.
Well, unit on a fordable stream: is it possible to move directly onto a bridge? I would say no...But I'd like to get the confirmation by expert players Cool
Thank you in advance, have a great week!
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2992
Registered:
August 2006
Re:From a fordable stream to a bridge? Sun, 02 May 2021 15:54
You cannot move along a fordable river onto or off of a bridge hex. The precedent for this is "Collapsible Rafts & Boars" on page 23 of the FAQ.

By the way, Memoir Online gets this wrong and permits units to retreat from a bridge to a frozen river or vice versa.
      
Sir Wesk
Member
Maggiore

Posts: 52
Registered:
March 2021
Re:From a fordable stream to a bridge? Sun, 02 May 2021 20:51
Sam, thank you very much for the quick answer Smile
      
RomaPlayer
Junior Member
Tenente

User Pages
Posts: 4
Registered:
March 2020
Re:From a fordable stream to a bridge? Mon, 03 May 2021 11:42
Maybe in the Bridge FAQ/Compendium could be specified this limitation, currently is written as such limitation only applies to bridges over "Rivers and Waterways" when the issue affects too the "Fordable Rivers" and "Fordable Streams" https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compe ndium/?id=terrain_9

in the Italian Memoir fb page players(me included) are suggesting to update and put in the 3rd Q/A
Q. Does the orientation of the bridge matter, or can a unit move onto the bridge from any adjacent non-waterway hex?
A. A unit may move onto a bridge from any adjacent non-waterway hex of any kind.
      
McMedic
Junior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Posts: 9
Registered:
March 2021
Re:From a fordable stream to a bridge? Mon, 03 May 2021 15:47
RomaPlayer wrote on Mon, 03 May 2021 05:42

Maybe in the Bridge FAQ/Compendium could be specified this limitation, currently is written as such limitation only applies to bridges over "Rivers and Waterways" when the issue affects too the "Fordable Rivers" and "Fordable Streams" https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/content/cards_compe ndium/?id=terrain_9

in the Italian Memoir fb page players(me included) are suggesting to update and put in the 3rd Q/A
Q. Does the orientation of the bridge matter, or can a unit move onto the bridge from any adjacent non-waterway hex?
A. A unit may move onto a bridge from any adjacent non-waterway hex of any kind.

A Fordable River or Fordable Stream is still a waterway hex and hence, you cannot move from them onto a bridge.

Also, you cannot move from one bridge to another bridge if they are adjacent. The point would be that the hex the bridge is on is still a waterway hex.

(This, of course, is not meant to exclude bridges that serve as a connected unit as in the example of the Arnhem Bridge scenario).

https://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/memoire_board/?id=25

Even in this scenario the rules specify that you may only enter the bridge unit from the specified ends, not from adjacent non-waterway hexes.

[Updated on: Mon, 03 May 2021 15:50]

      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 2518
Registered:
November 2007
Re:From a fordable stream to a bridge? Mon, 03 May 2021 19:08
Scenario rules always trump the standard rules Smile
      
RomaPlayer
Junior Member
Tenente

User Pages
Posts: 4
Registered:
March 2020
Re:From a fordable stream to a bridge? Mon, 03 May 2021 21:34
Putting aside scenarios with specific rules, that are clear. I disagree in assuming a fordable stream “still a waterway”... unless Is officially stated by the authors of the game/rules. A waterway is something that generally allows navigation, a stream does not, that’s why I believe they created 3 versions of that terrain card Very Happy
      
    
Previous Topic:how to get hit vs long gun as in D-Day landings
Next Topic:Overlord on Vassal, Saturday, 8 May
Goto Forum: