Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Ticket to Ride Europe 15<sup>th</sup> Anniversary

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Last-to-Occupy Turn-Start Medal Objective
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3035
Registered:
August 2006
Last-to-Occupy Turn-Start Medal Objective Wed, 11 May 2022 23:04
In the Ladder tournament on Vassal, we're playing Sbeitla, Tunisia (from the Jungle & Desert expansion), and the scenario has a Last To Occupy (Turn Start) objective.

I would interpret that if a tank moves through the objective but doesn't stop there, it hasn't occupied the hex, so it can't earn the medal.

I seem to recall that there may have been a ruling to the contrary. I can't find it.

Has there been an official ruling on this?
      
SamW44
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 77
Registered:
August 2017
Re:Last-to-Occupy Turn-Start Medal Objective Thu, 12 May 2022 13:58
Edit: Yeah ignore me. What I said makes no sense. Below posts surely have this right!

[Updated on: Thu, 12 May 2022 18:37]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 249
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Last-to-Occupy Turn-Start Medal Objective Thu, 12 May 2022 14:27
I think that "Turn start" means you have to start your turn there.

Last-to-occupy would, then, only add that once the objective is secured and the medal earned, you can move somewhere else without losing the medal.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3640
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Last-to-Occupy Turn-Start Medal Objective Thu, 12 May 2022 14:36
I concur. You must be occupying the objective at the beginning of your turn to be awarded it. And you may exit the hex thereafter and still retain the medal until your opponent occupies it. However, your opponent will not gain the medal until they occupy it at the beginning of their turn.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 1149
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Last-to-Occupy Turn-Start Medal Objective Sat, 14 May 2022 13:42
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 11 May 2022 23:04

In the Ladder tournament on Vassal, we're playing Sbeitla, Tunisia (from the Jungle & Desert expansion), and the scenario has a Last To Occupy (Turn Start) objective.

I would interpret that if a tank moves through the objective but doesn't stop there, it hasn't occupied the hex, so it can't earn the medal.

I seem to recall that there may have been a ruling to the contrary. I can't find it.

Has there been an official ruling on this?


The winterwars rules say on page 4:

Quote:

Permanent Medal
Objective (Turn Start)
The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and
permanently gained when the appropriate side occupies
the hex at the start of its turn. The medal is not returned
or put back in play, even if the unit later vacates this hex.
Last to Occupy Medal Objective
The Victory Medal in this objective hex is captured and
gained the moment a unit from either side occupies this
hex. The unit may vacate the hex, but the Victory Medal
is still held as long as an enemy unit does not occupy
the objective hex.


So if its only last to occupy you can move through and keep the medal. But the turn start objective specificly says you have to start on the hex at the beginning of your turn.

So I agree with Zalamence and Clexton27
      
    
Previous Topic:The Mareth Line - a new Campaign Book for you!
Next Topic:How reputable is Philibert?
Goto Forum: