Heat: Pedal to the Metal Heat: Pedal to the Metal

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Big Guns question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Major Duncan
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 273
Registered:
July 2004
Big Guns question Thu, 04 August 2022 18:46
Playing 'Defensive Battle of Sasselie'.

A German inf unit reduced to 2 figures occupies the church, and their art has zeroed in on a Soviet tank unit. If I play Attack 3 Centre, can I move the inf out of the church and move a full strength inf unit in, and then fire my art with the extra dice, or would I lose Big Gun status as soon as the unit left the church, along with the Zeroed in counter?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 3047
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Big Guns question Fri, 05 August 2022 16:47
The Big Gun is zeroed in on the unit on the hex. If the unit moves, the gun is no longer zeroed in on the hex.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 250
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Big Guns question Sat, 06 August 2022 10:41
I think the question is more about forward spotting (actions-4) rather than ordinary Big Guns.

https://ncdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_action_4.jpg

So, can an artillery unit (non-Big Gun) retain Zeroed-in capabilities even after the player has vacated scenario-specific hexes?

Rules as written, the cross-hair marker stays on the hex until the unit moves or is eliminated.

https://ncdn0.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_troop_3.jpg

However, this leads to a situation where the artillery can be Zeroed-in to a unit that is beyond its normal range. Rules would then imply your unit can be Zeroed-in on some opponent unit, but you can't attack it if forward spotting conditions aren't met. Sounds wrong.

Considering that Zeroed-in is also lost when the Big Guns move, I would play so that the cross-hair token is removed immediately when the forward spotting hexes are vacated and the artillery are not treated as Big Guns. Thematically it seems OK as well: spotters are moving out and no longer relay information for the added bonus effect.

To give an answer to Major Duncan's question, in my opinion, the status is lost (along with the cross-hair token) as soon as the unit left the church.
      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 273
Registered:
July 2004
Re:Big Guns question Sat, 06 August 2022 20:26
Yeah, I think you are right. Although the Art would regain Big Gun status when the new inf unit entered the church, the zeroed in counter would have been lost as soon as the first inf unit left the church.
      
    
Previous Topic:Chattanooga's US Open
Next Topic:Boat Question
Goto Forum: