Ticket to Ride New York Ticket to Ride New York

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Combat Card Questions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Bayernkini
Senior Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 208
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Combat Card Questions Mon, 21 December 2009 12:41
A new combat card is drawn, if a recon card is played.
Is it equal, playing the recon card like the original card rule
(1 unit in one section) or using the recon as an Airpower/AirSortie card (if rules allow them)?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2706
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Combat Card Questions Mon, 21 December 2009 13:45
Bayernkini wrote on Mon, 21 December 2009 06:41

A new combat card is drawn, if a recon card is played.
Is it equal, playing the recon card like the original card rule
(1 unit in one section) or using the recon as an Airpower/AirSortie card (if rules allow them)?


That depends on whether or not Combat cards follow the same "rules" as Command cards. I have a couple more interesting questions in the same spirit.

On a few Combat cards (Rattenkrieg, Armor Forward, and Infitrators), terrain movement restrictions are ignored. Are units still forbidden to move onto or through impassable hexes?

Normally, when units move, it is clear which ones will be allowed to battle. But Heat Of Battle implies that you might be able to wait and see your dice rolls before choosing which unit will get a second attack. Similarly, there might be multiple ordered units capable of battling on House To House or performing the Street Fight action. In each of these three cases, do you designate the unit when ordered, or when you're ready to roll its dice?

I think it would be good to have official statements to confirm the answers to these questions.

DoW, are we ready for a sticky Combat Card Questions thread?

[Updated on: Mon, 21 December 2009 13:47]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 205
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Combat Card Questions Mon, 25 June 2012 19:40
ad79 wrote on Sun, 13 December 2009 09:45

I have a couple of questions myself after playing all three scenarios that use the Combat Deck. Exellent sceanrios all three. Can we please have some more, Richard?

Fortify: "Place a spare sandbag in 1 ordered unit's hex after the unit has moved and battled."
Can I fortify a unit that only battles, but doesn't move and vice versa?

Sniper: "Place a single figure and Sniper badge on a vacant hex adjacent to 1 ordered INFANTRY unit."
This is placed adjacent 1 ordered unit, BEFORE that unit moves, right?

Heat of Battle: "I ordered INFANTRY unit that makes a successful Close Assault and manages to take ground may battle again..."
If this unit was ordered with a Command Card that gives it a bonus die, for instance TFH, does the unit gets the extra die on the second attack?

Reinforcements: "...deploy at full strength on a vacant hex of your baseline...."
Am I right in thinking that if you have no vacant baseline hexes you can't play this card?

Reposition: "After battling, all your ordered ARTILLERY unit may move 2 hexes"
If the Artillery unit is Ambushed and has to retreat,and therefore can't battle. Can it still use this card and move 2 hexes?
And a minor issue, but shouldn't the card read "ARTILLERY units" and not "ARTILLERY unit"?


Pull back: "Pull a defending unit back. .... Your opponent's unit loses it's opportunity to battle for this turn."
Can I play this card on a unit on my baseline hex as a way to stop my opponent from attacking me?
And if I can do that, do I have to lose 1 figure since I can't retreat?
It would be a very smart play if you have a 2 figure unit up against a unit ordered with a card that gives it ecxtra dice.


Out of ammo: "...The unit is forced to fall back on a vacant baseline hex in the same section of the battlefield. ..."
What if there are no vacant baseline hex in that battlefield section?
Does it lose one figure foe each hexrow it's unable to enter?
Can I play this card on an enemy unit on the enemy baseline hex as a way to stop him from attacking me?


Sorry to bring this old thread up.

Are there official rulings to these questions nowadays?

Dakmor wrote on Sun, 13 December 2009 05:18

On the note of Street Fights, does one have to declare which unit receives the extra die at the beginning of the turn? That is to say, if one declares his Street Fight to be used by a given unit, but said unit's only target retreats earlier in the turn, does that invalidate the extra Close Assault die altogether, or may it be used elsewhere?

I would also like to know rulings on this one.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 478
Registered:
October 2011
Re:Combat Card Questions Sun, 01 July 2012 09:14
Playing a recon card to draw a combat card

Went trew all winter wars scenarios and had solve this question there.

We follow-up and take into account the reasoning on the normal use and blitz use off a recon card.

If you play it as a blitz, you do NOT get the extra command card to chose from and that follows up including NO extra combat card

This reasoning just follows most closely the normal recon card draw rules. Rolling Eyes
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 478
Registered:
October 2011
Re:Combat Card Questions Sun, 01 July 2012 09:21
sam1812 wrote on Mon, 21 December 2009 13:45



On a few Combat cards (Rattenkrieg, Armor Forward, and Infitrators), terrain movement restrictions are ignored. Are units still forbidden to move onto or through impassable hexes?




Following the rules in the normal game, "impassable " hexes are as mentioned impassable. Why else would there be use off having them on the board ?

Ignoring terrain movement does not mean you can for ex. cross an impassable river do you ? (or am i mistaken here ?)
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 785
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Combat Card Questions Sun, 01 July 2012 13:45
I believe if rivers are not fordable only a bridge would allow a unit to cross it, or rafts.
The same would apply on Mountains with no hills next to it.

So a combat card would not help here.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2706
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Combat Card Questions Sun, 01 July 2012 15:44
Flemish_Havy wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 03:21

sam1812 wrote on Mon, 21 December 2009 13:45



On a few Combat cards (Rattenkrieg, Armor Forward, and Infitrators), terrain movement restrictions are ignored. Are units still forbidden to move onto or through impassable hexes?




Following the rules in the normal game, "impassable " hexes are as mentioned impassable. Why else would there be use off having them on the board ?

Ignoring terrain movement does not mean you can for ex. cross an impassable river do you ? (or am i mistaken here ?)

Yes, Havy, you're correct there, but you're answering a question that's more than 2 years old. Smile The topic has been extensively discussed and resolved in the context of BEL.

Thanks for following up, though.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 478
Registered:
October 2011
Re:Combat Card Questions Sun, 01 July 2012 19:57
Lols did not check the dates on that one, it slipped into view in the heat off 'forum posting' also regarding this topic
Laughing
      
Pages (2): [ «  <  1  2 ]     
Previous Topic:Want more proof that DoW reads and considers these threads?
Next Topic:Interesting perhaps ?
Goto Forum: