The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Goblin Marauders
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Posts: 266
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Goblin Marauders Wed, 11 July 2007 20:25
Wrecker wrote on Wed, 11 July 2007 12:43

barcafer wrote on Mon, 25 June 2007 08:19

Any theories on why there would be a second release of the goblin band?


Easy, to wring more money out of us Rolling Eyes

I believe Eric already answered this question. Not all players can/will want to buy both the Goblin Skirmishers and Mauraders expansions. So, by buying either one, you can get the uber-powerful Band unit, and the card to deploy it.

Speaking of uber-powerful Band units, beside aformentioned terrain spells (which, due to their polarizing nature, shall remain unnamed), my thoughts go to: Fireball, Portal, Greater Portal, Creeping Doom, Chain Lightning, and others which I can't think of right now that can mess remotely with a unit. The Band also sounds like a good target for my Giant Spider or Dwarven Bagpipers, should I have them. I say, bring on your Band!

Of course, I usually end up playing Gobbos, so I'd probably have the Band. But I think you get my point. There should be lots of ways to neutralize the Band. The fun will be in the trying.
      
DrSpunj
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Goblin Marauders Fri, 13 July 2007 18:23
Actually with Goblins I'm always most worried about fear cards like Divine Terror. You get them to run at 2 hexes per retreat or lore or whatever and it doesn't take them long to reach the back of the board where they take figure losses automatically. In one of the earliest goblin scenarios I lost 3 goblin units to those spells due to lucky draws by my opponent. Confused

And they're always much cheaper than Fireball & Chain Lighting. Razz
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Goblin Marauders Fri, 13 July 2007 18:30
DrSpunj wrote on Fri, 13 July 2007 09:23

Actually with Goblins I'm always most worried about fear cards like Divine Terror.


That's not my favorite lore card (if my calculations are right, about a 70% chance of getting at least one retreat (which, in the case of the goblins is two Wink ), but if I see a goblin unit with nowhere to go, I'll generally take the chance. I do use those cards to deal out hits much more often than to break up support or move a unit off a landmark, so using them on goblin units is just that much more efficient.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3187
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Goblin Marauders Sat, 14 July 2007 19:01
There is a benefit to fielding 2 goblin bands rather than a single one in some instances... and yes, we don't expect everyone to get both the Skirmishers and the Marauders, so we took that into account as well.
eric
      
FelixPhantasm
Member

Posts: 84
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Goblin Marauders Mon, 21 April 2008 17:50
If this question was asked on a CtA thread my apologies in advance.

The Goblin Marauders Specialist card instructs to replace one unit held in reserve with two Goblin Marauder units of either (or both) Hyenna Riders or Ostrich Riders.

This must mean that the banner color of the replaced unit is irrelevent - correct? After all the Ostrich Riders are a green unit and the Hyennas are blue, if one is allowed to field one of each type the banner color must not figure into the deployment - correct? I suppose another interpretation might be that if any Hyenna Riders are deployed the replaced unit must be at least blue but that seems really convoluted and if true should have been clearly spelled out on the card.

One more related question. Must the replaced unit be of a mounted type? This is not clear on my read of either the specialist card or the CtA rules set for Calling the Reserve.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1609
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Goblin Marauders Mon, 21 April 2008 19:54
FelixPhantasm wrote on Mon, 21 April 2008 09:50

If this question was asked on a CtA thread my apologies in advance.

The Goblin Marauders Specialist card instructs to replace one unit held in reserve with two Goblin Marauder units of either (or both) Hyenna Riders or Ostrich Riders.

This must mean that the banner color of the replaced unit is irrelevent - correct? After all the Ostrich Riders are a green unit and the Hyennas are blue, if one is allowed to field one of each type the banner color must not figure into the deployment - correct? I suppose another interpretation might be that if any Hyenna Riders are deployed the replaced unit must be at least blue but that seems really convoluted and if true should have been clearly spelled out on the card.


First, if memory is correct, Ostrich are green bow riders and the
Hyenas are blue.

Thus you can replace ANY ONE unit with TWO Goblin mounted units.
One of the 2 goblin units needs to go into the spot of the replaced unit. And if memory serves, the 2nd of the 2 units needs to be adjacent to the replaced unit.

FelixPhantasm wrote on Mon, 21 April 2008 09:50


One more related question. Must the replaced unit be of a mounted type? This is not clear on my read of either the specialist card or the CtA rules set for Calling the Reserve.


Nope - the unit being replaced can be either foot or mounted.

Cab
      
Pages (2): [ «  <  1  2 ]     
Previous Topic:Fens of Serech (War of the Jewels) - scenario now posted
Next Topic:goblins
Goto Forum: