Ticket to Ride San Francisco Ticket to Ride San Francisco

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Hundred Years War (and Goblin Marauders) unit abilities
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
bcpravel
Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2005
Hundred Years War (and Goblin Marauders) unit abilities Fri, 10 August 2007 22:27
I saw this BGG post linking to a (french?) video that appears to detail the new BattleLore expansions. I'm afraid I'm an English only speaker, so cannot translate exactly what was said (perhaps someone else could help us out?).

The poster from BoardGameGeek said that towards the end of the video they detail the abilities of the new units in the Hundred Years War expansion pack. He lists the abilities as follows:

Arbalestiers: I am assuming this is the unit the author of the post was referring to (he referred to them as Human Crossbowmen). Apparently they are a blue banner unit that gains a bonus strike. He didn't mention the unit's range, or whether or not they gain the bonus strike at point blank range. Personally, wouldn't be surprised if they have the same rules as the Dwarven crossbowmen, although the Wikipedia article on this weapon does imply it was an advanced crossbow so maybe there is something else that we still don't know about this unit.

Halberdiers: Again, I am assuming this is the unit the poster is referencing, in his post he called them "Polearms." These are red banner units that get the, +1 dice in a battle back like Spearmen, but gain a bonus strike against everyone (including cavalry). I assume the bonus strike is not limited to the battle back roll, so I would imagine these would be pretty dangerous to cavalry units.

Hornblowers: Like the Dwarves and Goblins, the musical instrument unit in this set seems to have the most interesting rules. The author of this post and a segment of the video seems to indicate that a unit with an embedded horn can add the dice of a friendly unit that is also in contact with the same opponent to their attack. The example given in the video is an enemy unit being attacked by a blue pennant footman (that has an embedded horn blower). Instead of the foot unit attacking with 3 dice as it normally would, the unit with the horn blower could also use the 3 battle dice of a blue banner cavalry unit that was adjacent to the enemy for a total of 6 attack dice!

I am assuming that the Cavalry would still be able to attack if they had been ordered as well, but this is not stated.

I am also assuming the spearmen have the same rules as the Goblin and Dwarven spearmen, but I expect them to be blue (or maybe even green) banner units. I didn't see any information on these units.

[Updated on: Mon, 13 August 2007 21:13]

      
*player339499
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

Posts: 122
Registered:
March 2007
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Fri, 10 August 2007 22:41
This is the set I'm looking forward to the most! What you write sounds pretty interesting Smile Especially the Hornblowers! I was expecting a lot of the rest (although I'm still excited to find out about the Arbalestier's abilities), but that "add your comrade's strength" idea is a cool idea.
Any news about the medieval lore rules?
      
bcpravel
Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2005
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sat, 11 August 2007 15:44
The creator of the video posted the following on the BGG website about the Hornblower ability:

Quote:

the two units in contact must be activated. So instead of two consecutive attacks, there is just one
.

So it seems the ability isn't as powerful as I imagined, but would still be useful in that it increases the odds of destroying a unit in the initial attack and might offer less opportunities for the enemy unit to battle back as a result.

[Updated on: Sat, 11 August 2007 15:44]

      
echtalion
Member

Posts: 96
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sat, 11 August 2007 16:20
...or retreat cowardly Twisted Evil
      
jayr13
Member

Posts: 46
Registered:
March 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sat, 11 August 2007 17:14
I like it a LOT. I am glad it is not as powerful as originaly thought. Can't wait to get this.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sat, 11 August 2007 22:16
Yes you could wipe the defender out in one roll. As importantly, the defender will only get one battle-back roll at best.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 01:48
yangtze wrote on Sat, 11 August 2007 13:16

As importantly, the defender will only get one battle-back roll at best.

Do you know that for sure? Not challenging you Laughing , just wondering as I asked that question over on bgg...I would think only one bb, but not sure.
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 02:04
True, I might be wrong there. But if there's only one attack there's only likely to be one battle-back?
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 03:11
yangtze wrote on Sat, 11 August 2007 17:04

True, I might be wrong there. But if there's only one attack there's only likely to be one battle-back?

That's what I'm thinking, but it may be treated as two attacks for the purposes of bb's, that would fit into the risk/reward type mechanics of BL, but I think it's a bit of a stretch. Can't wait to find out though Very Happy
      
madgonzo
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
June 2007
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 05:13
Another thing to consider:

When the hornblower is involved, not only does the attacked unit have only one opportunity for battleback, he also has a higher probability of no battleback due to more probabilities of kills or retreats.

In addition, the simultaneous attack guarantees that the adjacent unit is not out of place should the attacked unit be forced to flee. How many times have you moved two infantry units adjacent to your target in order to attack twice, only to have the unit retreat after the first attack and leaving your second attacking unit out of place for the follow-up?
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 07:22
madgonzo wrote on Sat, 11 August 2007 20:13

Another thing to consider:

When the hornblower is involved, not only does the attacked unit have only one opportunity for battleback, he also has a higher probability of no battleback due to more probabilities of kills or retreats.

In addition, the simultaneous attack guarantees that the adjacent unit is not out of place should the attacked unit be forced to flee. How many times have you moved two infantry units adjacent to your target in order to attack twice, only to have the unit retreat after the first attack and leaving your second attacking unit out of place for the follow-up?


Completely agree with all your points, but again, do you have confirmation that there would only be one battle back?
      
*player286868
Senior Member

Posts: 148
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 12:19
it's not say in the video comment.

For the Arbalestiers, they have a 3 hex range, only if they haven't move.

The video provide also the Goblin Marauders's power.

Hyena Riders : blue, can make a 3 hex poursuit movement.

Ostrich Riders : green, can move and shot a 4 hex range attack, without penalty.





      
sdaf
Senior Member

Posts: 206
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 13:22
Matzo wrote on Sun, 12 August 2007 19:49

it's not say in the video comment.

For the Arbalestiers, they have a 3 hex range, only if they haven't move.

The video provide also the Goblin Marauders's power.

Hyena Riders : blue, can make a 3 hex poursuit movement.

Ostrich Riders : green, can move and shot a 4 hex range attack, without penalty.




Looks like with the basic board 'you could run but not hide'...it's just going to be too small...

Epic will be the way to go with all these new expansions and new ability units Wink
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Sun, 12 August 2007 13:47
sdafilli wrote on Sun, 12 August 2007 04:22



Looks like with the basic board 'you could run but not hide'...it's just going to be too small...

Epic will be the way to go with all these new expansions and new ability units Wink


Laughing That doesn't change things much on the 'small' board Wink They're still goblins though, fatal flaw for all to expose Wink

Seriously though, I think these will be very fun to play. CtA games just got that much more interesting...
      
Scragnoth
Senior Member
D-Day Recon Team - Silver

User Pages
Posts: 194
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Mon, 13 August 2007 14:00
Does anybody already know which units belong to which side?
Or are they all open to both sides?

This might be more significant when adding the HYW expansion with CtA.

[Updated on: Mon, 13 August 2007 14:00]

      
ColtsFan77
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3313
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Hundred Years War unit abilities Mon, 13 August 2007 14:13
Scragnoth wrote on Mon, 13 August 2007 07:00

Does anybody already know which units belong to which side?
Or are they all open to both sides?

This might be more significant when adding the HYW expansion with CtA.

I would assume open to both sides. The non-Lore cards that came with CTA were not specifically designated one side or another. And for that matter, even the lore cards that are marked Goblin and Dwarf are not limited to just those players. The only limit would be to have that type of unit described in a specialist card set-up on your side of the board.

Some Goblin cards, for example, say replace a goblin unit... and if you do not have the goblin unit, taking that specialist card is useless to you. In the same way, if the "fleur-de-lis" doesn't typically have a unit the hornblowers need for example, they would be less likely to use that card. But otherwise, any person can grab any card they want.
      
    
Previous Topic:Question about the drastically differing prices out there...
Next Topic:Goblin Marauders & Hundred Years War
Goto Forum: