Ticket to Ride New York Ticket to Ride New York

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » hornblower - question I cant find an answer to...
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
kilou
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2008
hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Tue, 08 April 2008 00:41
Hi,

I looked at the hornblower faq's and could not find the answer to this one.

In a scenario where I have a blue infantry unit with a hornblower adjacent to a red Halbedier unit.

I activate both units , no movement (or 1 hex both, no change in battle limitations, as long as they stay adjacent).

I Attack a Cavalry unit (red, blue or green, should not matter).

now, a typical infantry unit does 0 dmg with bonus strikes (yellow sword on shield)
Halberdiers however have bonus strikes against cavalries.

now, a red + blue unit = 4 dice + 3 hence 7 dice total.

now do I roll the 4 dice, then the 3 dice (but have it count as 1 attack), to get an even split between the bonus strikes that apply from the halbedier & infantry unit? or do I roll all 7 dice at once, and have all bonus strikes count ?

I was not able to find any information in regards to this... Any help would be apprecieated.
      
ColtsFan77
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3313
Registered:
February 2006
Re:hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Tue, 08 April 2008 01:14
All the unit that is called does is contibute its dice to the attacking unit. Resolution of the battle falls under the conditions of the attacking unit.

So in your case, you basically have a Blue Infantry unit able to attack with 7 dice. You ignore all attributes of the Halbedier -inlcuding his bonus strikes.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Tue, 08 April 2008 06:30
And, this might be unnecessary to post, but in the example being discussed, for the 7d rolled, only the first bonus strike would be ignored, any others rolled during that attack would be hits - as that is the rule for foot soldiers attacking mounted units.
      
Sam Gamgee
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 13
Registered:
August 2007
Re:hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Fri, 11 April 2008 03:19
So if the situation was reversed (Hornblower in the Halberdier unit) then the 1st Bonus strike would be counted?

Edit: Grammar mistake.

[Updated on: Fri, 11 April 2008 03:20]

      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Fri, 11 April 2008 03:50
Yup Smile
      
ColtsFan77
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3313
Registered:
February 2006
Re:hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Fri, 11 April 2008 04:35
Sam Gamgee wrote on Thu, 10 April 2008 20:19

So if the situation was reversed (Hornblower in the Halberdier unit) then the 1st Bonus strike would be counted?

Edit: Grammar mistake.

The thing to remember is that the unit called is giving it's dice to the unit with the hornblower. Then treat the hornblower unit like normal - disregarding any helping unit - and just use the new dice total.
      
Sam Gamgee
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 13
Registered:
August 2007
Re:hornblower - question I cant find an answer to... Fri, 11 April 2008 20:58
Kewl. I get it.

Thanks!
      
    
Previous Topic:My solo rules
Next Topic:The Wedge vs. The Line
Goto Forum: