Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 19 February 2014 19:01
jepmn wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 21:46

Is this FAQ even being updated any more? The last update is May 2012 and I know there's been several things brought up since then. I have a couple of rules that had official clarifications in
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=20384&start=0
that need adding.

I think we need to restart the sticky with someone very active like rasmussen making the first post.


I don't think the FAQ is being updated any more, but we have plans to make the answers available to everyone soon. If people get the Encyclopedia, which will be available from the DoW store even if you didn't back the Kickstarter, you will see all of the answers to any question that has been asked (and even some that weren't asked) in a VERY attractive book.

Creating a new FAQ thread is not a bad idea. I'll talk with DoW about our options and possibilities. Smile
      
jepmn
Member

User Pages
Posts: 85
Registered:
July 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 19 February 2014 20:41
What might be nice is a wiki. It's actually kind of surprising there is no wiki yet in this day an age. There's a wiki for EVERYTHING. Very Happy

Hmmm....

*typetypetype*

*click*

Well I'll be.

http://smallworld.wikia.com/wiki/Small_World_Wiki
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 19 February 2014 21:43
jepmn wrote on Wed, 19 February 2014 23:41

What might be nice is a wiki. It's actually kind of surprising there is no wiki yet in this day an age. There's a wiki for EVERYTHING. Very Happy

Hmmm....

*typetypetype*

*click*

Well I'll be.

http://smallworld.wikia.com/wiki/Small_World_Wiki


Nice find. Cool
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 May 2014 11:58
Hi guys ! I'm having a rather unpleasant quarrel with a buddy on this site, about Cursed Homonculi and Hordes of.

- According to him, when you skip Cursed Homonculi, you have to put three VPs on the combo and thre Homonculi as well, but you'll agree with me that it is one Homonculi per skipping and not per VP, right ?

- Hordes of token : when you lose a region, you can't just take a Hordes of token from another region and exchange it for a normal race token from the region you just lost. And when you go into decline, you cannot just exchange a lonely Hordes of token for a spare normal race token just like this, you just lose the region, because you redeployed like a fool during your previous turn. Whereas this buddy claims you can exchange them like a cheater who won't admit you cannot just exchange race tokens like this like it was magic.

So, what do you think ?
      
J-Effe IV
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Registered:
March 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 May 2014 16:58
We play it so that Hordes of Tokens are just like regular tokens, and thus can be exchanged at will. If they happen to be alone on a region and the player declines, he can simply just replace it by another race token if available (just as if the hordes of token had been on another region that had an extra race token).

So basically, yeah, the first two tokens to go in the tray are always the "Hordes of" ones. We do it this way because the "Hordes of" tokens are actually the same as if DoW had printed 2 extra tokens for each race.

We play it this way : If the player has more tokens than the total of its race + power when going into decline, he must discard tokens until he reaches this total (and also discard any extra token he has until there is only one token per region). Else, he only needs to discard the extra tokens so that he has only one token per region.

So if you have, say, Hordes of Orcs, then you actually have 12 Orcs, at least 2 of which must return to the tray when going into decline if no Orc has died already. If you only have 8 Orcs left, and all are alone on a region, no token returns to the tray upon going into decline (as the Hordes of tokens are already in the tray anyway).

That's how we play it because that's what makes the most sense for us, and we feel the Hordes of Power would be not balanced otherwise. I'm not however telling you that you should play it this way. Smile

As for the Homonculi: we never add more than one at a time (nothing in the rules implies that it is linked to VPs). In fact, "Cursed" does not make you skip the race thrice - you skip it only once but pay more (and as you skip it only once, you only put one Homonculi on the combo).

[Updated on: Fri, 16 May 2014 17:09]

      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 16 May 2014 18:00
J-Effe IV wrote on Fri, 16 May 2014 16:58

We play it so that Hordes of Tokens are just like regular tokens, and thus can be exchanged at will. If they happen to be alone on a region and the player declines, he can simply just replace it by another race token if available (just as if the hordes of token had been on another region that had an extra race token).

So basically, yeah, the first two tokens to go in the tray are always the "Hordes of" ones. We do it this way because the "Hordes of" tokens are actually the same as if DoW had printed 2 extra tokens for each race.

We play it this way : If the player has more tokens than the total of its race + power when going into decline, he must discard tokens until he reaches this total (and also discard any extra token he has until there is only one token per region). Else, he only needs to discard the extra tokens so that he has only one token per region.

So if you have, say, Hordes of Orcs, then you actually have 12 Orcs, at least 2 of which must return to the tray when going into decline if no Orc has died already. If you only have 8 Orcs left, and all are alone on a region, no token returns to the tray upon going into decline (as the Hordes of tokens are already in the tray anyway).

That's how we play it because that's what makes the most sense for us, and we feel the Hordes of Power would be not balanced otherwise. I'm not however telling you that you should play it this way. Smile

As for the Homonculi: we never add more than one at a time (nothing in the rules implies that it is linked to VPs). In fact, "Cursed" does not make you skip the race thrice - you skip it only once but pay more (and as you skip it only once, you only put one Homonculi on the combo).




Okay for the Homonculi. For Hordes of, so that is the official rule ? Because I am willing to accept it but the way you introduce it seems to violate some basic rules... I mean, when you decline, all you can do is discard tokens from each region so as to leave one per region, flip them, score and nothing else, the game stops. Not only is it what I would interpret it from the official rules as they are written, but also it seems a bit more logical : I don't quite imagine how tokens could be switch like this, like it was "magic".

And it adds a bit of strategy if you can't just dispose of the Hordes of tokens if you please. When you are conquered : it seems unfair to switch them like this so everything goes well for the Hordes of player. I mean, take Peace-Loving, they can make tons of money but can also be stuck in defavorable situations where the race has to adapt. While with this version of Hordes of, there is neither fair play, nor surprise, nor strategy, so it kills the spirit of the game a little bit (in my opinion). When you are conquered, how can one justify it is the guy miles away that dies instead of one in the region you just lost ? If one is not allowed to swtich them at will, then it adds a bit of fun : shall I protect such or such region with my Hordes, with the risk of running out of regular race tokens ? And when you redeploy, you would have to think well before placing the tokens, otherwise you would lose the region when you decline if you foolishly leave a Hordes of token alone.

Sorry for being so voluble ^^ If this is the official rule, I'll stick to it, while perhaps adapting it to my games a little bit ! And I don't think my way of using Hordes of would make them unbalanced, I mean, two more tokens to attack and defend is already quite powerful ^^ And I thought Hordes of tokens acted like race tokens but are NOT race tokens.

[Updated on: Fri, 16 May 2014 18:05]

      
hungryhalfling33
Junior Member
KS Backer - Orc

Posts: 12
Registered:
November 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 26 September 2014 18:05
Hi there,

I ran into a situation that I'm not sure how to answer. Let's say, for a four player game, one of my opponents has the seafaring tritons power/race and he conquers a sea space (on the edge) and then a continuous line of territories by the sea.

My question is, would I be able to choose a race and enter the coastal territories on the board where my opponent has conquered? Or would the sea territory that he owns prevent me from reaching the coastal territories, since I cannot conquer sea territories?

To sum up, would the sea territory be considered the "edge" of the board if a player own it with the seafaring power?

Any light shed on this predicament would be appreciated. Thanks! Very Happy
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 26 September 2014 18:45
The answer is in your question ^^ You cannot conquer Sea and Lake regions, therefore you don't have to worry about what's inside. The regular rules apply : when entering the board, you can conquer any region on the side of it, or by crossing a Sea.
      
Rhodesy
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 20 November 2014 16:56
Not sure how active this thread is, but hoping to get a reply! Got the new Spider's Web expansion and have a few questions on race combos and interactions:

Dragon Master vs Skags with a Skag attack - who wins out in this scenario?

Lava special power against declined races - are the declined races simply removed as if the region is conquered?

Soul-touch power - just clarification as to whether the revived race takes a turn immediately (i.e. a reverse stout)

[Updated on: Thu, 20 November 2014 16:56]

      
Oniromane
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
December 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 20 November 2014 23:27
If I have a declined race + an ancestor declined race + a soul touch race I m gonna decline, which race is gonna revive? May I choose?

[Updated on: Thu, 20 November 2014 23:27]

      
masterdruid817
Member

Posts: 52
Registered:
October 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 21 November 2014 14:02
Oniromane wrote on Thu, 20 November 2014 17:27

If I have a declined race + an ancestor declined race + a soul touch race I m gonna decline, which race is gonna revive? May I choose?

I would assume that you revive the non-spirit race, though I don't actually have the expansion. You are talking about spirit and soul touch, right?
      
Oniromane
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
December 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 21 November 2014 21:38
Yes sorry, I play with the FRench version
      
jazontan
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
November 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 10 February 2015 17:15
Hi all,

Sorry if these questions have been asked before, but after today's first Small World session, my gaming group was quite confused with some of the abilities.

1. Can a player enter the board for first conquest from multiple regions in the map even if its not adjacent?

2. Sorcerer "once per turn per opponent" rule. Let's say player A is the sorcerer, adjacent to him are 2 regions with single active tokens of player B and C. Does player A convert both tokens of player B and C during his (player A's turn) or individually during player B's turn and player C's turn?

3. Merchant ability. Rule says collect +1 for ANY region you occupy. Does it mean that if i end with 5 regions I get 5 region VP and +1 bonus for all = 10 VPs?

Thanks for any help. My gaming group loved this game despite the confusing moments Smile
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1881
Registered:
November 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 11 February 2015 09:52
jason.tan.77715 wrote on Tue, 10 February 2015 17:15

Hi all,

Sorry if these questions have been asked before, but after today's first Small World session, my gaming group was quite confused with some of the abilities.

1. Can a player enter the board for first conquest from multiple regions in the map even if its not adjacent?

2. Sorcerer "once per turn per opponent" rule. Let's say player A is the sorcerer, adjacent to him are 2 regions with single active tokens of player B and C. Does player A convert both tokens of player B and C during his (player A's turn) or individually during player B's turn and player C's turn?

3. Merchant ability. Rule says collect +1 for ANY region you occupy. Does it mean that if i end with 5 regions I get 5 region VP and +1 bonus for all = 10 VPs?

Thanks for any help. My gaming group loved this game despite the confusing moments Smile


1. You choose one region to enter the board and after thatb you need to conquer adjacent regions (barring special abillities: flying slingmen)

2. The first example is correct: during player A's turn he can convert one single active token per adversary. No conquests during other players turns.

3. yes, each region counts for 2 (of te active race, your indecline race scores as normal) so 5 regions = 10 VP 4 regions = 8 VP etc

Enjoy!

[Updated on: Wed, 11 February 2015 09:52]

      
C00Lman
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 1
Registered:
November 2014
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 05 June 2015 12:16
I have a question about Dragonmaster power.
Do I have to take dragon back to hand at the start of next turn or I may leave it at the same place so I won't use power of conquering region by 1 token?
You may say that I can just abandon a region and conquer it again by 1 token, but it will be impossible if my opponent will break chain of my regions so abandoned region won't be adjacent to other my regions. So it is important note. Thx Razz

[Updated on: Fri, 05 June 2015 12:19]

      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 05 June 2015 12:50
I'd say, next turn, if you don't use the dragon and if you don't abandon its region, it stays right where it is.
      
Vitellus
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
January 2016
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 10 January 2016 17:06
I could use some help analyzing this combo, had a big discussion about it yesterday Very Happy

- Slingmen (or catapult for the same issue)
- Combo with The Great Brass Pipe or "Underworld"-ability

Can I sling my units across the map using these "tunnels"? This using the adjacent rule and then seeing every region around the "exit"-region of the tunnel as "one region away" (thus not the exit-region itself, which gets excluded by being adjacent)

Or do you interpret the rule "a Region that is one Region away from one they currently occupy" less broad?
      
bentonite
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
September 2016
  Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 11 October 2016 22:00
Can a Seafaring race do a first conquest on the Lake ?


Can Halflings move Holes-in-the-ground that be placed in the first two regions which conquered on the first turn , to another first two regions which conquered on the next turn ?

[Updated on: Tue, 11 October 2016 22:27]

      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 12 October 2016 10:05
Can a Seafaring race do a first conquest on the Lake ?
No, they have to make their first conquest on a border region (including the seas).

Can Halflings move Holes-in-the-ground that be placed in the first two regions which conquered on the first turn , to another first two regions which conquered on the next turn ?
No, they are only placed in their first-ever two regions that they conquered. Any other regions they conquer, whatever turn it is, would not be their first regions.
      
bentonite
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 6
Registered:
September 2016
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 12 October 2016 19:23
kholdstare wrote on Wed, 12 October 2016 15:05

Can a Seafaring race do a first conquest on the Lake ?
No, they have to make their first conquest on a border region (including the seas).

Can Halflings move Holes-in-the-ground that be placed in the first two regions which conquered on the first turn , to another first two regions which conquered on the next turn ?
No, they are only placed in their first-ever two regions that they conquered. Any other regions they conquer, whatever turn it is, would not be their first regions.



Thank You Smile
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 22 November 2017 19:28
Hey guys, a quick question : if I take a region with Skags in it, the Loot marker turns out to be an attack symbol, then I lose a token but I can try to conquer other regions. But what if this conquest was the last one, and I used the Dice for it ? If I have more than one token left even after losing a race token, do I get another last conquest ? I suppose not, but I still wanted to ask.

Another question : can Sorcerers do a conversion if they have no race token in hand left ?

[Updated on: Wed, 22 November 2017 20:03]

      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Posts: 95
Registered:
August 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 22 November 2017 21:20
You can use reinforcement die once per turn so I think that would still be your last attack. Think of it as rolling the dice and it failing, since you weren't able to attack the region. You'd have leftover tokens, but still couldn't attack anymore.
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 23 November 2017 10:42
blaxnlion écrit le Wed, 22 November 2017 19:28

Hey guys, a quick question : if I take a region with Skags in it, the Loot marker turns out to be an attack symbol, then I lose a token but I can try to conquer other regions. But what if this conquest was the last one, and I used the Dice for it ? If I have more than one token left even after losing a race token, do I get another last conquest ? I suppose not, but I still wanted to ask.


If you use the die to reinforce a conquest, your conquest phase will end whatever the result.
Quote:


Another question : can Sorcerers do a conversion if they have no race token in hand left ?

Only if they didn't use the die for their last regular conquest. If they didn't, their conquest phase hasn't ended yet. Sorcerers can only convert during their conquest phase.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 23 November 2017 12:23
OK thanks. And a fairly good question some posts earlier that wasn't answered : if you conquer a Skag region with an attack symbol, and you did it with your Dragon or as a first conquest with Halflings :
- do you conquer the region since both the Dragon and a Hole-in-the-ground protect you from race abilities ?
- if not, can you re-use the Dragon ? And for the Hole-in-the-ground, is it lost, since it has to be put after the first-ever conquest ? Or do you have to put it in the first-ever region you conquer, making the failed conquest not count ?
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 23 November 2017 14:14
That should answer your question:
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20365259#20365259
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 23 November 2017 15:39
And my final question : Stout Leprechauns. Can they conquer, put Pots of Gold in their regions, decline and get all the Pots they just dispatched ? Or do the Pots stay until the next round and then can be turned into VPs ? Or are they simply lost ? I think it's the third answer, the rule states "if te Pots of Gold are there at the beginning of your next turn" and "non-used Pots are lost in decline".
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 23 November 2017 16:14
I don't have the app, but I recall reading that someone tried that combo and the Pot of Gold disappeared as soon as the Stout Leprechauns went into decline.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 24 November 2017 13:23
Hi again... I'm sorry, I am building my own extension with many new races and powers, and many of them trigger questions that are linked to already existing powers and races.

Mercenaries can spend a VP to decrease the cost of an attack by two ; they can do that after they throw the dice for a last conquest. What about Fire Balls ? Can you spend one or more after throwing the dice as well ?

[Updated on: Fri, 24 November 2017 13:43]

      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 24 November 2017 14:04
blaxnlion écrit le Fri, 24 November 2017 13:23

Hi again... I'm sorry, I am building my own extension with many new races and powers, and many of them trigger questions that are linked to already existing powers and races.

Mercenaries can spend a VP to decrease the cost of an attack by two ; they can do that after they throw the dice for a last conquest. What about Fire Balls ? Can you spend one or more after throwing the dice as well ?

No. The way I read the ability, the Fireballs must be spent at the same time as your race tokens, so you must decide if you want to use them before throwing the die.
      
Dan42hitchikers
Member

Posts: 95
Registered:
August 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 24 November 2017 15:50
That would make sense with the way it is forced in the app.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 06 December 2017 00:24
Hello again ! I’ve made a general check of pretty much all interactions possible, and I came up with all those questions so I’d like you to tell me if you can answer or confirm my thoughts (forgive me if there is any repetition) :

- Judging by the rules Fauns do get a bonus Faun token when they conquer an active Elf. The Elf gets an extra token if any left in the tray as well right ?

- If Igors are also in play in this configuration. Since no token is lost, do they still get a token to convert in Igors later, or do they get nothing ?

- More global question about Igors : if Fauns are in play, do Igors get the race tokens, which makes the race who lost a race token have to wait for the token to be converted in an Igor to be put back in the tray, so that they can get a new one when conquered by Fauns ?

I don’t know if my question was clear. Here’s an example :

Fauns, Igors and all 10 Humans are in play. Fauns conquer a Human region. Igors get the Human token, to convert later. But then there is no Human token left in the tray to get one back. Do humans simply get it back then and Igors take a Lost Tribe token as reimplacement ?

- Do Igors get a race token for each lost because of a Skag attack token ?

- I suppose a non-empty region conquered by Pillaging Amazons is worth one VP at the end of turn, even if they had to abandon this region when redeploying for being too widespread.

- Do tokens lost to a Sorcerer conversion still go to Igors ?

- I suppose that a Sorcerer conversion is forbidden in a region with a Behemoth in it. Correct ?

- I heard Elves lose a race token if they find an attack token from the Skags, correct ?

- In-decline Ghouls still have to pay a VP to a Corrupt race they conquer, I suppose.

- Can a Barbarians’ Behemoth be redeployed ?

- What happens to a Pot of Gold or a Loot token in a region emptied by a Lava token ?

- Can a Lava token or a Winter marker be sent/put in a Water region ?

- Can Ice Witches put a Winter marker in a region held by a Diplomat race which picked them as allies ? The rules state that they just can’t conquer one of their regions.

- Do Lava Orcs get an additional VP for regions they emptied with a Lava token ? I suppose not.

- Same questions with Lava Fauns, if they get a new Faun token (as well as the race which held the Lava region). The rules state to treat the tokens from the region where Lava was put as if they were conquered, without any token being lost.

- Can you use Lava against a Diplomat race which picked you as ally ? I suppose not…

- Does using Lava against a Corrupt race make you pay a VP ?

- What happens if you decline with your Soul-Touch race and you have an in-decline Spirit race and another regular in-decline race ? The race which declined the latest is revived ?

- Copycat power cannot copy Soul-Touch just like it can’t copy Spirit, correct ?

- What happens if you use Copycat on Historian ? Is it like for Wealthy, you will get one VP for every in-decline race on the board only if you copy it on your first turn of conquest ? I suppose it is.

- Is a region with a Winter marker still worth one less VP if you occupy it with a non-Ice Witch race AND an immunity token (Dragon, Catapult…) ?

- When a Soul-Touch declines, the other in decline race stays in decline and is revived only at the beginning of next turn ?

- Can you use the Slingmen power if they are Flying and conquer a region more than one square away from any other region you occupy to get the bonus VP ?

- Can a race picked as ally by Diplomat Skags attack them again if they fall on a Skag attack token which was in an empty region ? I suppose it doesn’t change anything.

- A Berserker race attacks a region with an attack token in it after throwing the die. The Berserker race has to lose one token but can it carry on if it has other tokens left ?

- Can an Underworld race make its first conquest on any Cavern region ?

- Can Underworld Slingmen stack their power and UnderWorld power ? They occupy a Cavern region, and conquer a region adjacent to another Cavern region they don’t occupy to get one VP?

- Stout : is there a redeployment phase ? This is important for one of my races. I suppose there is because this is important for Ghouls.
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 06 December 2017 10:41
Quote:


- Judging by the rules Fauns do get a bonus Faun token when they conquer an active Elf. The Elf gets an extra token if any left in the tray as well right ?


Yes.
Quote:


- If Igors are also in play in this configuration. Since no token is lost, do they still get a token to convert in Igors later, or do they get nothing ?


They get nothing.
Quote:


- More global question about Igors : if Fauns are in play, do Igors get the race tokens, which makes the race who lost a race token have to wait for the token to be converted in an Igor to be put back in the tray, so that they can get a new one when conquered by Fauns ?


Just replace the tokens earned by the Igors with dummy tokens (for example, Lost Tribe tokens), so as to make more available in the tray. I'm pretty sure I read an official answer stating that Igors can't prevent players from getting race tokens from the tray if there are any available in their hands and if it happens, you should just use a substitute.
Quote:


- Do Igors get a race token for each lost because of a Skag attack token ?


Yes, it was lost after all.
Quote:


- I suppose a non-empty region conquered by Pillaging Amazons is worth one VP at the end of turn, even if they had to abandon this region when redeploying for being too widespread.


Yes, you get 1 VP for each non-empty region you conquered during the turn, it doesn't say anything about holding it.
Quote:


- Do tokens lost to a Sorcerer conversion still go to Igors ?


Yes.
Quote:


- I suppose that a Sorcerer conversion is forbidden in a region with a Behemoth in it. Correct ?


Yes, they count as race tokens.
Quote:


- I heard Elves lose a race token if they find an attack token from the Skags, correct ?


Yes.
Quote:


- In-decline Ghouls still have to pay a VP to a Corrupt race they conquer, I suppose.


Yes.
Quote:


- Can a Barbarians’ Behemoth be redeployed ?


Yes, only the Barbarian tokens themselves can't be redeployed.
Quote:


- What happens to a Pot of Gold or a Loot token in a region emptied by a Lava token ?


Good question. Putting a Lava token counts as if you conquered the region with no loss of enemy tokens (that's in the rule), so I'd say you earn the Pot of Gold or flip over the Loot token and resolve it normally, except you still place the Lava token. But that's just a guess.
Quote:


- Can a Lava token or a Winter marker be sent/put in a Water region ?


There's no such restriction, so I'd say yes.
Quote:


- Can Ice Witches put a Winter marker in a region held by a Diplomat race which picked them as allies ? The rules state that they just can’t conquer one of their regions.


Yes, that's not a conquest.
Quote:


- Do Lava Orcs get an additional VP for regions they emptied with a Lava token ? I suppose not.


Strangely, I'd say yes. The rules state that it is treated as if the region was conquered, so even if you don't earn 1 VP for occupying the region, you should earn 1 VP for conquering a non-empty region. Tc be confirmed.
Quote:


- Same questions with Lava Fauns, if they get a new Faun token (as well as the race which held the Lava region). The rules state to treat the tokens from the region where Lava was put as if they were conquered, without any token being lost.


I'd say yes to both, that would be similar to attacking Elves. That is if the rule about treating it as a conquest still holds.
Quote:


- Can you use Lava against a Diplomat race which picked you as ally ? I suppose not…


I'd say no as well since it IS an attack.
Quote:


- Does using Lava against a Corrupt race make you pay a VP ?


I'd say yes, since it IS an attack.
Quote:


- What happens if you decline with your Soul-Touch race and you have an in-decline Spirit race and another regular in-decline race ? The race which declined the latest is revived ?


I'd say you revive the regular in-decline race, no matter which race was declined the latest, because the in-decline Spirit race just doesn't count toward your limit of in-decline race. That's just a guess. It would also mean that if you only have an in-decline Spirit race and decline your Soul-Touch race, you don't have any in-decline race to revive. Again, just a guess.
Quote:


- Copycat power cannot copy Soul-Touch just like it can’t copy Spirit, correct ?


Correct.
Quote:


- What happens if you use Copycat on Historian ? Is it like for Wealthy, you will get one VP for every in-decline race on the board only if you copy it on your first turn of conquest ? I suppose it is.


Yes, you only get those VPs on the turn you choose the Historian ability.
Quote:


- Is a region with a Winter marker still worth one less VP if you occupy it with a non-Ice Witch race AND an immunity token (Dragon, Catapult…) ?


Good question! I suppose it should be removed because the region is immune to race abilities and special powers.
Quote:


- When a Soul-Touch declines, the other in decline race stays in decline and is revived only at the beginning of next turn ?


Yes, you have to wait a whole turn to revive your in-decline race.
Quote:


- Can you use the Slingmen power if they are Flying and conquer a region more than one square away from any other region you occupy to get the bonus VP ?


I'd say no, but the rules state that the VP can only be earned by conquering a region the way the Slingmen's ability works.
Quote:


- Can a race picked as ally by Diplomat Skags attack them again if they fall on a Skag attack token which was in an empty region ? I suppose it doesn’t change anything.


I also suppose it doesn't change anything.
Quote:


- A Berserker race attacks a region with an attack token in it after throwing the die. The Berserker race has to lose one token but can it carry on if it has other tokens left ?


They can still continue to conquer more regions, they are just forbidden to attack that region again.
Quote:


- Can an Underworld race make its first conquest on any Cavern region ?


No, they still have to enter through a border region.
Quote:


- Can Underworld Slingmen stack their power and UnderWorld power ? They occupy a Cavern region, and conquer a region adjacent to another Cavern region they don’t occupy to get one VP?


Yes.
Quote:


- Stout : is there a redeployment phase ? This is important for one of my races. I suppose there is because this is important for Ghouls.


Yes, you go into decline after scoring, which happens after the redeployment phase.
      
blaxnlion
Senior Member

Posts: 413
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 06 December 2017 16:44
Thanks a lot... Still another question : if you pay one VP with a Mercenary race, or use a Fire Ball, on a failed conquest (Skags, last conquest...) are they wasted ?

If you fail a conquest the same way with Berserker against Skags but you still have enough tokens left, is the previous die roll cancelled and you have to throw it again ?
      
kholdstare
Member

Posts: 35
Registered:
May 2015
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 07 December 2017 10:35
blaxnlion écrit le Wed, 06 December 2017 16:44

Thanks a lot... Still another question : if you pay one VP with a Mercenary race, or use a Fire Ball, on a failed conquest (Skags, last conquest...) are they wasted ?


I'd say they are. Those are resources that you spend for an attack, so it would make senseif you lost them.
Quote:


If you fail a conquest the same way with Berserker against Skags but you still have enough tokens left, is the previous die roll cancelled and you have to throw it again ?

I'd say you have to throw it again, since the next attack will be a new one.
      
Pages (7): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7 ]     
Previous Topic:Fan Creations - Races and Powers
Goto Forum: