Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Campaign Book Questions - Victory Event Rolls
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
dhurtt
Member
Cadet

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2007
Campaign Book Questions - Victory Event Rolls Thu, 29 July 2010 19:39
I appears that only the grenade is restricted to not being applied to a unit that is depleted, but are there any other limits to applying the other dice?

For example, if I roll 4 infantry call I apply them all to a single unit, wiping it out? Can I play an infantry and a retreat on the same unit? Can I play two retreats against an artillery unit on the baseline and destroy it?

One last question: if a unit is destroyed by one of the methods above, does it count as one of the victory medals for the scenario?

Thanks,

Dale Hurtt

Currently playing the Fall Gelb campaign on: http://daleswargames.blogspot.com

Wooden Warriors: http://wooden-warriors.blogspot.com
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 3353
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book Questions - Victory Event Rolls Thu, 29 July 2010 23:39
Dear Dale,
A quick reread of the rules is in order since the basic Campaign rules say that only 1 dice may be applied to any one unit.

I am away from home, but when I return, I will try to find the exact page where this is referenced to assist you.
      
dhurtt
Member
Cadet

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Campaign Book Questions - Victory Event Rolls Fri, 30 July 2010 00:01
Thanks because I cannot find it. The example only talks about not applying more than one Grenade to a single unit.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 3353
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Campaign Book Questions - Victory Event Rolls Fri, 30 July 2010 01:04
Go to page 7 of the Campaign Book:

Read the text under the section entitled "VICTORY EVENT ROLL RESULTS".

Please note that you can only apply dice rolls of GRENADES to your opponents figures. In all other rolls, except STARS, your opponent has the choice of how to apply the roll.

Therefore, since GRENADES can only be applied to full-strength units you cannot eliminate any one unit of your opponent's outright. However, it is possible that he may opt to do so and apply several dice rolls to kill off one entire unit instead of weakening a group of units. This may assist him strategiclly in the ensuing battle.

[Updated on: Fri, 30 July 2010 03:11]

      
dhurtt
Member
Cadet

Posts: 34
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Campaign Book Questions - Victory Event Rolls Fri, 30 July 2010 02:30
Whoops! That would do it! Thanks.
      
    
Previous Topic:Overlord on Vassal, Saturday, July 31. Which scenario should we play?
Next Topic:Abatis and engineers
Goto Forum: