The River The River

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Thread
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8227
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 20 September 2015 23:08
Erik Uitdebroeck wrote on Sun, 20 September 2015 11:59

Hello everyone,

I have a question concerning supply trains:
What happens with the train when the units have left the train ? Does it just stay there or can I order it to move around so it protects some units hiding behind it (Los) ?


It's still a unit, so you can do what you want with it. And the other side can target it as normal.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2670
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 21 September 2015 07:09
Erik Uitdebroeck wrote on Sun, 20 September 2015 14:59

Hello everyone,

I have a question concerning supply trains:
What happens with the train when the units have left the train ? Does it just stay there or can I order it to move around so it protects some units hiding behind it (Los) ?


Unloading a train does not affect the fact that the train is considered a unit which of course means it can still be ordered and moved.
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1247
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 21 September 2015 18:48
Thank you for the quick reply.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2739
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 29 May 2017 23:43
These Khalkhin Gol expansion questions never got added here ... from the "Relieve the Early Hours..." thread. (There also are some additional questions farther down that thread that don't appear to be officially answered.)

rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 12 January 2017 10:59

I looked back at our notes about this expansion and also got a reply from Richard Borg, so as you start playing this new expansion, here are a few clarifications:

Q. May a Molotov Cocktail be used by the defender playing an AMBUSH card?
A. Yes.

Q. When playing as the attacker using a Molotov Cocktail, if the defender plays an AMBUSH card, and I am forced to retreat and therefore not battle, do I lose the Molotov Cocktail or can I save the token for another battle?
A. No. The Molotov Cocktail token is only discarded after you roll the dice.

Q. On the Tightening the Noose Breakthrough scenario Tankettes are named in the rules but not printed on the map. Are their Tankettes in this scenario or is this just a misprint?
A. We need to review a few things and look back at what was intended for this scenario, but for now you can assume it was a copy/paste error and play without the Tankettes.

Q. Cavalry are ordered just like infantry. Does this mean that the special infantry rules for Japanese infantry also apply directly for the Japanese Cavalry such as Yamato Damashi Concept, Seishin Kyoiku Doctrine and Banzai War Cry?
A. Even though Cavalry are ordered like Infantry, they are not Infantry and do not benefit from listed national abilities. An ordered Cavalry Unit:
• May move up to 3 hexes and battle.
• May battle any enemy target 2 or fewer hexes away. It rolls 2 dice in Close Assault and 1 die against a target at 2 hexes.
• May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat.

I hope this helps!


      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 28 September 2017 16:18
I am just starting into playing Campaign Book #1 again and had some questions about the Brandenburgers. These particular questions were not addressed in the FAQ and although the answer may seem obvious to many of you, I am still cogitating on the possible answers.

Mind you, I understand if the Brandenburger has already lost it's enemy figure it no longer has special powers and is treated simply as a Special Forces Infantry. Therefore these questions are only pertinent in the case of a full strength (3 figures + 1 enemy figure) Brandernburger.

1. Q. If a Brandenburger unit is at full strength and I play a BARRAGE card. Do I have to reroll to see if I get an Infantry symbol on the die before any hits are applied?

2. Q. If a Brandenburger unit is at full strength and I play an AIRPOWER card. Do I have to reroll to see if I get an Infantry symbol on the die before any hits are applied?

3. Q. If I throw a Flag on any of the above rolls and since Brandenburgers don't innately have the power to ignore Flags; is it still applied regardless since it is not a "hit"?

4. Q. If the Flag roll causes a "hit" because the Brandenburger must take it and it cannot retreat do I have to reroll for this "hit"?



http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_21.jpg
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Railway Tycoon

User Pages
Posts: 8227
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 29 September 2017 18:44
Quote:

1. Q. If a Brandenburger unit is at full strength and I play a BARRAGE card. Do I have to reroll to see if I get an Infantry symbol on the die before any hits are applied?

2. Q. If a Brandenburger unit is at full strength and I play an AIRPOWER card. Do I have to reroll to see if I get an Infantry symbol on the die before any hits are applied?


In both of these cases, Brandenburger units will behave normally; any hit would then be re-rolled to see if it's a kill. Nothing in the cards indicate that they change the ability of the unit.

Quote:

3. Q. If I throw a Flag on any of the above rolls and since Brandenburgers don't innately have the power to ignore Flags; is it still applied regardless since it is not a "hit"?


Yes, they have to retreat normally. Their ability doesn't have anything to do with ignoring retreat flags.

Quote:

4. Q. If the Flag roll causes a "hit" because the Brandenburger must take it and it cannot retreat do I have to reroll for this "hit"?


This is a bit tougher but I would think they would behave the same way as Tiger tanks in this situation. I don't have it in front of me, but how do Tiger tanks handle Flags that would be hits? My memory is that they still re-roll and ignore it if the hit isn't confirmed.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Arnhem Tree

User Pages
Posts: 3460
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 30 September 2017 00:31
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 29 September 2017 12:44


Quote:

4. Q. If the Flag roll causes a "hit" because the Brandenburger must take it and it cannot retreat do I have to reroll for this "hit"?


This is a bit tougher but I would think they would behave the same way as Tiger tanks in this situation. I don't have it in front of me, but how do Tiger tanks handle Flags that would be hits? My memory is that they still re-roll and ignore it if the hit isn't confirmed.



Here is the general rule for Tiger Tank retreat that can't be taken:

Tiger Tank – Targeting
All battle dice that score a hit on a Tiger tank are re-rolled. Also retreats rolled against a Tiger that cannot retreat are re-rolled. If at least one re-roll a grenade, that unit is destroyed. All other roll results are ignored.

So I think you would be correct Jesse in applying the same principle here. Thanks for your quick response and help.
      
Airfix
Junior Member
Band of Brothers Instructor

User Pages
Posts: 21
Registered:
January 2017
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 26 October 2017 16:53
Wow . . . I just found your FAQ pdf. What a great resource.

I like it because it 1) shows what I've been doing wrong, 2) shows some options that I hadn't thought of, and 3) it's interesting to read on it's own.

Thanks much. It makes a great game even greater (if that is even possible).

      
Pages (4): [ «  <  1  2  3  4 ]     
Previous Topic:A quick note about the FAQ and our rulings
Next Topic:Combat Cards FAQ Thread
Goto Forum: