Ticket to Ride Japan Ticket to Ride Japan

Forums

Search
Forums » Mystery of the Abbey - English » Questions Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Azarkon
Senior Member

Posts: 102
Registered:
January 2003
Questions Question Mon, 07 April 2003 02:33
What would happen if I were to ask a question that had a definate answer that the askee didd not know the answer to. Such as, Do you know anything more than said other player?
Does he have to try and answer (if so, what if he's wrong) does he have to say "I do not know the answer", or does he have to take a vow of silence?
Or am I not allowed to ask such questions?
      
Bruno
Game Designer

Posts: 177
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Questions Question Mon, 07 April 2003 05:43
The rules state that he must answer "to the best of his recollection" (or something like that). This means that the answer can be "I don't know" - and that you didn't ask a very good question.
      
gjertsen
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 7
Registered:
August 2003
another question question Mon, 11 August 2003 03:10
The rules state that you may ask something like:

"How many bearded monks do you have in your hand?"
or:
"How many Benedictines have you crossed out from your suspects' list?"

Is it legit for me to ask something like:

"Have you seen a skinny father?"

If so, it is crucial that players notate their list in such a way to differentiate suspects they have seen versus suspects they have eliminated based on inference. So maybe such a question isn't valid?
      
Bruno
Game Designer

Posts: 177
Registered:
October 2002
Re:another question question Mon, 11 August 2003 22:12
You can ask such a question - but the player can answer "I can't recollect the exact number" - though it may be more elegant to tell also "and I can only tell you how many I have crossed".
      
gjertsen
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 7
Registered:
August 2003
Re:another question question Tue, 12 August 2003 20:57
Bruno wrote on Mon, 11 August 2003 16:12

You can ask such a question - but the player can answer "I can't recollect the exact number" - though it may be more elegant to tell also "and I can only tell you how many I have crossed".


Thanks, Bruno. Are you the Bruno that co-authored the game? If so, nice job; only played once but thoroughly enjoyed it.

By "more elegant", are you implying that the spirit of the game should be such that the player answering the question should always allow the questioner to rephrase his question if his/her insufficient notes/memory prevent him from making an accurate answer?

If so, that means the game depends quite heavily on the "vow of honesty". For example, a question such as:

"How many suspects have you eliminated of the same order as the card you just took from me?"

Answering: "I don't remember which card I took from you, could you be more specific?" is either bad memory or the person conveniently "forgetting" something in order to thwart your attempt at (possibly) some very useful information. In either case, is the answerer oblidged to let you have another shot at asking a question his memory does permit him to answer? Or is "I don't know" an answer and the turn is over?
      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
July 2003
Re:another question question Sun, 17 August 2003 00:47
gjertsen wrote on Tue, 12 August 2003 20:57

If so, that means the game depends quite heavily on the "vow of honesty".


Of course.
But if a player prefers to cheat to win a game between friends rathen than play honestly and have fun... well, he/she isn't much of a player and you should replace him/her as soon as possible.
      
gjertsen
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 7
Registered:
August 2003
Re:another question question Sun, 17 August 2003 03:41
Well, agreed.

So I guess my real question, which is not hypothetical, is what happens when you ask a really good question like "how many Templars of the same girth as both cards I just passed you last Mass have you crossed out?" is answered with "I can't remember what you passed me" and it is the second question (and thus the vow of silence is not an option) -- what happens?

A. Tough luck for the questioner.
B. The questioner reminds the questioned by means of whisper, etc.
C. The questioner has an opportunity to rephrase or ask a different question entirely.

??
      
Bruno
Game Designer

Posts: 177
Registered:
October 2002
Re:another question question Sun, 17 August 2003 13:54
B or C - though I've never asked such a convoluted question! And, yes, I'm one of the authors of the game Wink
      
    
Previous Topic:New Scriptorium card ideas
Next Topic:General Gameplay Questions
Goto Forum: