Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Supported Infantry
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
BabeDad
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Posts: 32
Registered:
August 2009
Supported Infantry Fri, 26 June 2015 04:03
Can Armor Supported Infantry enter Hedge Hogs and can they make a second Close Assault with BEHIND ENEMY LINES? We ruled yes they can enter Hedge Hogs and yes they can make a second Close Assault but do not get the bonus die from BEL, for the second Close Assault.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2629
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Supported Infantry Fri, 26 June 2015 04:08
There has been an official ruling on this. Supported Infantry are subject to the same movement restrictions as regular infantry. It may take ground onto a Hedgehog hex and do an overrun close assault.
      
Jeronimon
Senior Member
Brigadier

User Pages
Posts: 1869
Registered:
November 2007
Re:Supported Infantry Fri, 26 June 2015 09:56
I feel the extra die question is one for the FAQ. Getting the extra die or not on an overrun for certain cards can, in my opinion, not be deduced from the text on the card. So a ruling on that would be nice. Smile
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 997
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Supported Infantry Fri, 26 June 2015 10:11
Although I agree With Jeronimon that an official clarification would be nice I think that you may battle with an extra die.

The reason why with some cards (like close assault) you cannot battle with an extra die in overrun (or similar like supported infantry) is that you have to start adjacent to the unit you fire upon. Behind enemy lines does not have that restriction.

As for entering the hedge hog
Quote:

A Supported Infantry unit is made up of 4 Infantry
figures and 1 Tank figure, and is marked with a Battle
Star. It is treated like Infantry for all purposes. D-day landings p.7


As far as the rules go its ordered like infantry. you can even enter a Bunker with supported infantry.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2629
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Supported Infantry Fri, 26 June 2015 15:05
FAQ, page 60, talking about the Infiltrators Combat card, says, "Heat of Battle allows the unit, after a successful Close ASssault, to Take Ground and battle again with the bonus."

I would use that as precedent to say that the Supported Infantry's overrun does get the extra die.

[Edit: Corrected spelling of Infiltrators.]

[Updated on: Sat, 27 June 2015 02:35]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 997
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Supported Infantry Fri, 26 June 2015 21:41
sam1812 wrote on Fri, 26 June 2015 15:05

FAQ, page 60, talking about the Ifniltrators Combat card, says, "Heat of Battle allows the unit, after a successful Close ASssault, to Take Ground and battle again with the bonus."

I would use that as precedent to say that the Supported Infantry's overrun does get the extra die.


Good find Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:New Breakthrough Scenario
Next Topic:July and August tournaments in Houston
Goto Forum: