Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Digital Game - English » Ticket to Ride - Tips and Tricks
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Yann
-= Crew =-
Emerald Master

User Pages
Posts: 2424
Registered:
October 2002
  Ticket to Ride - Tips and Tricks Fri, 27 November 2015 17:27
The new version of Ticket to Ride introduces a number of important features and changes. Here are some tricks to make the best out of them.

Finding your password, updating your Login Name, your Profile, your Avatar, etc.

The new version of Ticket to Ride gives you several tools to manage your Days of Wonder account and even perform some troubleshooting - for example if you forgot your account password.

- Go inside the Station using the More button, then go to the Settings screen.
- Push the Login Settings button on the lower right corner. This opens the Account Panel with details about your account.

You can ask for new password. You can also update your Profile. Use the “Edit my Profile” link and you will be taken to the Days of Wonder Web site, connected with your account. In this page, you will be able to perform many actions on your Days of Wonder account. Check out the links on the left side of the page. To change your Login Name, use “Change my Profile”.

Merging accounts

Some players find that they created another Days of Wonder account by mistake. For example, by using Game Center on iOS (or switching between Game Center accounts). So players would end-up being connected to another account, and not even being sure what the password is or how to merge it into their original Days of Wonder account.
The new version gives you tools to resolve these problems.
- Go inside the Station using the More button, then go to the Settings screen.
- Push the Login Settings button on the lower right corner. This opens the Account Panel with details about your account.
- Push the “Edit my Profile” link and you will be taken to the Days of Wonder Web site, connected with your account (even if you don’t know its password).
- On the left side, use “Merge with another account”
- Enter the credentials of the other account and proceed with the merge process.

Tip: make sure you select the right game history during the merge. Keep the one in which you had the most active online games history or Achievements.

A reminder about Single Session vs. Multi Session games

A Single Session game is meant to be played in a single real-time session, without anyone leaving the game at anytime. If you quit a Single Session game mid-way, you will automatically lose. A bot will take your place so that others can still finish the game. By definition you can only ever play ONE Single Session game at a time.

A Multi Session game is played asynchronously: it can be "paused" and is usually played over a longer period of time. You can play several Multi Session games in parallel, playing one turn in one game, switching to another game to play one turn then, going out to check e-mails, etc. No bot will take over in your place unless your Player Clock runs out!

If you have a weak connection or frequent disconnections

Prefer to create or join Multi-session games instead of Single-session games. In a Multi-session game, the game is simply paused if you are disconnected. When this happens, you can just go to the Resume panel and resume your game. Just one advise: if you still want to play a fast game, simply change the Game Clock value to something short, like 15 minutes.

A reminder about the Game Clock

Most players discovered one of the major features of the new version: the Player Clock. This is a timer that sets the amount of time allocated to each player for the entire course of a game. All online games rely on a Player Clock for each player.

Each player's Player Clock automatically starts counting down when it’s that player turn to play and pauses as soon as that player’s done with their turn, just like a player’s clock in a game of speed Chess.

If a player runs out of time, he/she automatically loses that game; a bot takes over for him/her so that others with time left on their clock can still finish the game if they wish.

Setting a custom Game Clock

For each type of game (Multi-session or Single-session), you can choose between two preset values. You can also set your own value by using the third button. Double-tap or click on it to open a dialog and set a new value. This value will become the default for the third button, so you can re-use it easily.

Managing your Buddies

There are several places where you can add someone to your Buddy (or Ignore) List. Every Time you see detailed information about a player, a little heart icon next to his/her Avatar indicates if this person is a Buddy. Push this icon to open a dialog and choose if you want to add or remove this person to your Buddy or Ignore List. For example, you can do this from the Lobby after selecting a player from the Player list, or at the end of a game while reviewing each player's results.

Sending invitations for a game (even if your opponents are off-line)

Sending invitations for a game is accomplished using Buddies. Make sure that the players you want to invite in your games are in your Buddy list. Go to the Play -> Online panel, and select “Buddies”. Add the players that you want to put in the game from your Buddy List and press the Play button. The invitation will be sent to other players, even if they are not connected.

Creating an online game mixing humans and bots

It is absolutely possible to create an online game mixing humans and bots, but it is accomplished a bit differently than before: it is now part of the invitation system.
Go to the Play -> Online panel, and select “Buddies”. Add the players that you want to put in the game from your Buddy List. At the bottom of the list, you will see names of bots (they have a gear icon in front of them). Simply add them to the game like other players.

A note about the cities in the India Map

Some players complained that in the India map, your green cities do not turn off when the corresponding ticket is completed. This is not a bug, this is a feature. This was done on purpose to help players build Mandalas. Mandalas are loops: you need to connect your ticket cities through two different paths. This is why you want to keep the green lights, otherwise it would become much more difficult.

[Updated on: Mon, 01 February 2016 11:12] by Moderator

      
    
Previous Topic:TTR Guide - Introduction
Next Topic:TTR Pocket Migration FAQ
Goto Forum: