Ticket to Ride France Ticket to Ride France

Forums

Search
Forums » Queen's Necklace - English » Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo. Tue, 25 November 2003 22:52
I know a king can't be played alone. But can you play yit with a gem and then alchemize that gem so the king is left alone? Common Sense says 'no', but the online game allows that. Confused
      
GI Joe
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 26
Registered:
November 2003
Re:Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo. Wed, 26 November 2003 00:21
Yann remarked in an earlier answer to one of my questions that the online game lets you freely place cards around on the table in any arrangement you wish, just for convenience. It will allow you to place the king alone by itself, too. But if you do that it will be wasted and discarded to no effect after the sale. The same thing will happen if you use the Alchemist to transfer a gem with the king to another column. If the king is left with at least one gem of that type, then that gem sale will be cancelled as normal. If the king is left alone, then his power is wasted and no gem sale is cancelled. You might wish to do this if you see that you would earn more points if you shifted the king's gem over into another column, but by doing so you would sacrifice his power to cancel any sales.
      
Brice
-= Crew =-
Commandant

User Pages
Posts: 1917
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo. Wed, 26 November 2003 09:09
referee wrote on Tue, 25 November 2003 22:52

I know a king can't be played alone. But can you play yit with a gem and then alchemize that gem so the king is left alone? Common Sense says 'no', but the online game allows that. Confused

My common sense said 'no', too.
But I was told by one of the game author (if you can read french, have a look to the french forum) that in fact the King should still have his effect. The latest online game revision (11/13/2003) added this 'feature'.
      
referee
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Registered:
November 2003
Re:Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo. Sat, 29 November 2003 17:53
it's counter-intuitive, but I see how this can prevent people from "defusing" a king that has been caught by the necklace.
      
ScentGirl
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 14
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo. Mon, 26 January 2009 04:18
Well I think that stinks! And our Common sense makes the most sense! If the rarity and such in calculated AFTER the move of the alcemist play, then the king should NOT count when it is left alone!!
      
Goscha
Senior Member
T2R World League 4th Champion

Posts: 316
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Another rules question: King - Alchemist combo. Fri, 13 March 2009 17:00
Hey, why do you use 2Cutters photo as avatar? Cool
      
    
Previous Topic: PatLaPatateLeDiableEnPersonne
Next Topic:quitters
Goto Forum: