Aventuriers du Rail France Aventuriers du Rail France

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Retreating down a road
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 225
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2006
Retreating down a road Sat, 24 October 2015 19:58
Greetings All,

At situation arose this afternoon at the gaming Klub -
a unit had a flag rolled against it, and could retreat down the road it was on.

The question was "Does it get the road movement bonus of one extra hex?"

We agreed that it did, what would the official position be though?

any thoughts/comments?

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban,
South Africa.
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 1215
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:Retreating down a road Sat, 24 October 2015 21:34
Hello Fred,

I checked the FAQ and (if I'm not mistaken) there is no official answer to your question.
But I think (in fact, I'm pretty sure) that in case of retreating, the road bonus move is not granted.
So: no extra move with retreating.

Hoping that this could help,
Erik.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Mayor

Pages Perso
Messages: 181
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2010
Re:Retreating down a road Sat, 24 October 2015 22:18
Terrain seldom affects retreats. Impassable remains impassable, but other than that, I can think of only two other instances: retreating into ocean hex isn't allowed, and frozen river still "triggers" when retreated onto. Does someone know some other case where terrain has an effect on retreats?
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Major Howard

Pages Perso
Messages: 3372
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Retreating down a road Sun, 25 October 2015 03:13
Fred the Obscure wrote on Sat, 24 October 2015 13:58

Greetings All,

At situation arose this afternoon at the gaming Klub -
a unit had a flag rolled against it, and could retreat down the road it was on.

The question was "Does it get the road movement bonus of one extra hex?"

We agreed that it did, what would the official position be though?

any thoughts/comments?

Ta,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban,
South Africa.

Getting the road movement bonus would occur during your turn as an offensive part of the MOVEMENT phase. Retreating is a defense action and should not create an opportunity for any bonus. In the same way you cannot retreat off the board from an exit hex to gain a medal. It is not an OFFENSIVE MOVEMENT.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2629
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Retreating down a road Sun, 25 October 2015 08:10
I totally agree with Clexton.

THere's a second precedent, too. Terrain such as Bluffs and Steep Hills that are 2-hex moves on offense are 1-hex retreats and 1 hex on BEL.
      
Fred the Obscure
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 225
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2006
Re:Retreating down a road Sun, 25 October 2015 11:54
Greetings Gentlemen,

OK, just one hex retreat down a road in future (as and when the situation arises.

Yea for the forum.

Thank you for thoughts/comments.

Fred the Obscure,
Durban,
South Africa.
      
    
Sujet précédent:A visit to France
Sujet suivant:Equipment Pack Bonus Scenarios for Memoir '44 fans
Aller au forum: