Auteur | Sujet |
Chairman7w

Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en : August 2004
|
After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Tue, 30 August 2005 05:56
|
 |
Hi - Cool game, had a ton of fun. We did have a couple quick questions that I'm hoping someone here can help with.
- When you meet up with a Legendary Pirate, how do you know which one you're going to face? We simply drew one of their cards randomly and it seemed to work just fine. What's the correct method?
- When facing a Legendary Pirate or Royal Navy, who controls the pirate or Navy? Are they able to fire at whatever they want on their target ship (guns, crew sail, etc.) ?
- If you're beat and retreat back to Pirate's Cove but have no money, how do you repair?
Thanks in advance!
|
|
|
Rompcat

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en : December 2003
|
Re:After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Tue, 30 August 2005 11:48

|
 |
Answers answers!
- You can keep a randomly-drawn card under the ship (upside down) or on the side of the board if you'd like, but your method also works fine!
- Doesn't really matter all that much, the navy/pirate acts as an automoton. These automotons only fire at the hull, unless otherwise specified!
- If you've got no dubloons, you can take no cards and put everything back to what you started the game with!
|
|
|
guest145482
Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en : August 2005
|
Re:After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Wed, 31 August 2005 20:57

|
 |
Rompcat wrote on Tue, 30 August 2005 05:48 | Answers
- If you've got no dubloons, you can take no cards and put everything back to what you started the game with!
|
Everything or just the area you were taken down to critical at?
I thought it was just the area you are critical in...
|
|
|
Aardwolf44

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en : June 2004
|
Re:After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Thu, 01 September 2005 00:59

|
 |
guest145482 wrote on Thu, 01 September 2005 06:57 | Everything or just the area you were taken down to critical at?
|
Just the areas that were pushed below the lowest value on your ship.
And, "Putting them back to what you started with" could be misread.
You go back to the starting spot (The marked value), not what you 'started' with using your starting gold of upgrades.
---Korhil
|
|
|
Chairman7w

Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en : August 2004
|
Re:After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Thu, 01 September 2005 01:46

|
 |
Thanks Rompcat for answering my questions. But where does it say they only fire at the Hull? I looked and looked and didn't see that in the Rulebook.
|
|
|
rhysling
Messages: 5
Enregistré(e) en : January 2005
|
Re:After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Sat, 03 September 2005 01:29

|
 |
The legendary pirate card says where to fire on my set - Hook fires 3 against hull, Dutchman is 4 against crew, Royal Navy is 4 against section of controlling playes choice, etc.
|
|
|
keaawhaley
Messages: 18
Enregistré(e) en : December 2005
|
Re:After first game - a Couple Quick Questions
|
Mon, 09 January 2006 09:06
|
 |
Rompcat wrote on Tue, 30 August 2005 05:48 | Answers answers!
- You can keep a randomly-drawn card under the ship (upside down) or on the side of the board if you'd like, but your method also works fine!
- Doesn't really matter all that much, the navy/pirate acts as an automoton. These automotons only fire at the hull, unless otherwise specified!
- If you've got no dubloons, you can take no cards and put everything back to what you started the game with!
|
Quoted from the Setup rules:
"One of the Legendary Pirate black ships starts the game moored at Tavern Island (#1), so place her there. Reveal the first legendary Pirate card from the stack next to the board and place it by the black ship."
So the rules says the Pirates are known from the start, but playing with them face down sounds like an interesting variant. I like having the cards revealed as it leads to a bit of strategy and planning ("e.g., hmm, he shoots at sails, I need to bump my sails up before taking him on").
The navy is controlled by the player who played the card, including choosing which ship to attack, and I believe which section as well (the "choose a section" is written on the card, not in the rules).
|
|
|