Aventuriers du Rail Londres Aventuriers du Rail Londres

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Flight Plan Combat Card Question
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Huff
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2017
Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 09:18
Picked up the NFP expansion 2 weeks ago and got to “finally” try it out this past weekend.

I read the through the rules again after we ran through the first 3 scenarios, and found a couple things we played wrong (my fault as I’m the one that reads the rules). It was a couple relativity minor items, and it’s not uncommon for me to stumble upon some minor intricate item that was played wrong, not for advantage but from innocent ignorance that gets cleaned up on the next go around because every time after playing I just can’t wait to pick it up again.

One item I am still unsure of, and took to reading the rules during and after play for the specific topic was playing some of the Air Combat Cards (ACC). The rules state something like you can play an ACC as a ‘generic (bring any available class plane on and ignore the “special”)’ card. My question is, does this also apply to the ACCs that are played at a time outside of playing it with a Command Card? Such as the Dogfight Ace one and the Ambush one (don’t have the deck for names or complete list)?

PS- If you are wondering the items we (because of I) played wrong was skipping hexes on an attack run to conserve ammo (which makes spreading out even that 1 hex something to consider), not drawing an ACC when destroying an opposing plane and also not taking the Air Power cards out from the Command Deck.

Well, I’m glad I found these forums and grateful for the small amount of ambiguity in the rules with regards to the ACCs (based on my interpretation) that has lead me to these forums. Salute to all that read this, and the playtesters and scenario creators and everyone else that finds this rather elegant game war game enjoyable.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Sapin d'Arnhem

Pages Perso
Messages: 3540
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 12:25
Huff wrote on Wed, 19 June 2019 03:18


One item I am still unsure of, and took to reading the rules during and after play for the specific topic was playing some of the Air Combat Cards (ACC). The rules state something like you can play an ACC as a ‘generic (bring any available class plane on and ignore the “special”)’ card. My question is, does this also apply to the ACCs that are played at a time outside of playing it with a Command Card? Such as the Dogfight Ace one and the Ambush one (don’t have the deck for names or complete list.


In the past some clarification was made regarding an OFFENSIVE action versus a DEFENSIVE action. It would seem that playing defensive response cards such “Ambush” would not allow you to take an offensive action such as bringing a plane on the board. At least in my humble opinion, that is how I would play it. But of course, I could be wrong. Rolling Eyes
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2813
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 14:57
The corner of the card tells if it's restricted to a particular kind of plane. (See the second bullet on page 3.)

Dogfight Ambush (or whatever the exact name) can be played by whatever plane you have on the board which is being attacked at the moment.
      
Huff
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2017
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 18:58
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 19 June 2019 08:57

The corner of the card tells if it's restricted to a particular kind of plane. (See the second bullet on page 3.)

Dogfight Ambush (or whatever the exact name) can be played by whatever plane you have on the board which is being attacked at the moment.


My question is, can you forego the ‘special’, timing and all, on the ACCs and use it as a ‘generic- bring any type of plane on with a command card in that section’.
      
Huff
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2017
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 19:07
@Clexton- I’m wondering if you could play any ACC as the generic- bring a plane on with no special, regardless of text, type of plane and timing. Similar to the Winter Combat Cards and being able to play some of them as a ‘Bitter Resistance’ card to open up options/limit dead cards.
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Sapin d'Arnhem

Pages Perso
Messages: 3540
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 20:33
Huff wrote on Wed, 19 June 2019 13:07

@Clexton- I’m wondering if you could play any ACC as the generic- bring a plane on with no special, regardless of text, type of plane and timing. Similar to the Winter Combat Cards and being able to play some of them as a ‘Bitter Resistance’ card to open up options/limit dead cards.

Yes, that is exactly how it works as long as it is your turn, you do not already have a plane on board and you have a section card to ORDER it in the section you want.

p.4 NEW FLIGHT PLAN RULES :
Quote:

To bring an air unit onto the battlefield, you must play an Air Combat card alongside the Section card that you play at the beginning of your turn. You must then use one order from this Section card for the air unit. This is called deploying an air unit onto the battlefield.


The text on the card can be used to modify the action if the text is pertinent to the aircraft type you are bringing on. But if it is not, it is not relevant and you can still bring on any type aircraft you want (provided you haven't lost that type of aircraft in previous action in the game).

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 19 June 2019 20:42]

      
Huff
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2017
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 21:03
So it can be said that in essence, all Air Combat Cards have an (unnamed/generic) Special Action feature that the other Combat Card Decks have on some of thier cards- Bitter Resistance, Street Combat, Jungle Warfare, Blazing Sun & Gun.

I think they missed a chance to name this “Special Action” (and by ‘special’ it’s a generic action and not so circumstancial) with this deck, and like the other decks, the card played as written will likely be more beneficial when givin the opportunity, but the circumstances on the card arn’t always an option.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Baron du Rail

Pages Perso
Messages: 8333
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Flight Plan Combat Card Question Wed, 19 June 2019 21:21
Huff wrote on Wed, 19 June 2019 12:03

I think they missed a chance to name this “Special Action” (and by ‘special’ it’s a generic action and not so circumstancial) with this deck, and like the other decks, the card played as written will likely be more beneficial when givin the opportunity, but the circumstances on the card arn’t always an option.


Possibly, but I would argue that the whole deck of Air Combat Cards are for just that...Air Combat. So just think of the icon on the bottom center of the cards as telling you that you can bring a plane on the board.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Potential buyer with concerns - product availability
Sujet suivant:A fond farewell
Aller au forum: