Corinth Corinth

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Double Back
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Katipunero
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 8
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 07:53
apologies from a newbie, most probably a very dumb question... but can a unit double back in it's movement?
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 333
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2009
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 08:09
do you mean move away from a hex then back to the same hex in the same turn?

if so - why would you need to? a unit can be activated and battle without moving, so can't see any situation where this would arise.
      
Katipunero
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 8
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 08:24
not on the same turn (sorry for not being clear on my question Embarassed ). it's like you give this impression of moving forward and on the next turn you move back (not necessarily on the same hex where you started from but just like falling back). i guess, what i just want to clear out is the movement of the units, if the only constraints or restrictions will be the terrain rules.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Pages Perso
Messages: 788
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2007
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 08:57
You are corret, the terrain rules is what governs troop movement.
Some terrain you need to stop in upon entry, eg. forrest, city. Some hexes are impassable, eg. lakes, most rivers. Some hexes have rules about how you can enter and exit them. eg. bocage and mountains.

Other than those rules, a unit can move in any direction.

But you can't move a unit off the board to save it unless exit rules are in play for your side.

Hope that made it clearer for you.

Stig Morten
      
Katipunero
Junior Member
Cadet

Messages: 8
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2010
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 09:55
it did, thank you very much Very Happy
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2725
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 11:56
ad79 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 02:57


But you can't move a unit off the board to save it unless exit rules are in play for your side.
Stig Morten



There is one other option here:

If you use the air Rules you can remove a 1 fig Gemman Infantry off the board with a Storch when it files a rescue mission Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2813
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 13:28
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 02:09

do you mean move away from a hex then back to the same hex in the same turn?

if so - why would you need to? a unit can be activated and battle without moving, so can't see any situation where this would arise.

(Jim, for the record, there are at least two cases where it can make sense to move away from a hex and then back to it on the same turn. (1) A tank that retreated onto wire might move off it and back on, in order to remove the wire. (2) In Desert rules, nothing prohibits an armor overrun's extra hex of movement from taking the unit back to its previous hex.)
      
Mighty Jim 83
Senior Member
Starshiy Leytenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 333
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2009
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 14:35
sam1812 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 12:28

Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 02:09

do you mean move away from a hex then back to the same hex in the same turn?

if so - why would you need to? a unit can be activated and battle without moving, so can't see any situation where this would arise.

(Jim, for the record, there are at least two cases where it can make sense to move away from a hex and then back to it on the same turn. (1) A tank that retreated onto wire might move off it and back on, in order to remove the wire. (2) In Desert rules, nothing prohibits an armor overrun's extra hex of movement from taking the unit back to its previous hex.)


Good point about the armour overrun in the desert, but I'm not convinced about the wire. The rules simply say that the the tank must remove the wire but can still battle, can't see anything which indicates that if it has retreated it would need to leave and return again.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Baron du Rail

Pages Perso
Messages: 8334
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Double Back Tue, 30 March 2010 19:42
Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 05:35

sam1812 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 12:28

Mighty Jim 83 wrote on Tue, 30 March 2010 02:09

do you mean move away from a hex then back to the same hex in the same turn?

if so - why would you need to? a unit can be activated and battle without moving, so can't see any situation where this would arise.

(Jim, for the record, there are at least two cases where it can make sense to move away from a hex and then back to it on the same turn. (1) A tank that retreated onto wire might move off it and back on, in order to remove the wire. (2) In Desert rules, nothing prohibits an armor overrun's extra hex of movement from taking the unit back to its previous hex.)


Good point about the armour overrun in the desert, but I'm not convinced about the wire. The rules simply say that the the tank must remove the wire but can still battle, can't see anything which indicates that if it has retreated it would need to leave and return again.


Check page 10 of the FAQ under "Wire". Maybe if Sam wanted to move out of the wire to attack a unit but then wanted to still remove the wire that turn, he would think about moving back into the hex... Rolling Eyes

I can't imagine that situation would come up too often!
      
    
Sujet précédent:Overlord Question - Initiative Roll
Sujet suivant:Do you count cards when you play Memoir?
Aller au forum: