Aventuriers du Rail France Aventuriers du Rail France

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Cavalry
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 1024
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Cavalry Fri, 01 February 2013 08:16
Im a bit confused about cavalry, by the rules in the Equipment pack.

it says:
Quote:

When indicated in the scenario’s Briefing Notes, place
4 Cavalry figures in each scenario hex containing an
Infantry symbol with a Cavalry badge.
A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat.
An ordered Cavalry unit:
May move up to 3 hexes and battle.
May battle any enemy target 2 or fewer
hexes away. It rolls 2 dice in Close
Assault and 1 die against a target at 2 hexes.
May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle
again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat.


So this means, that it gets a -2 dice against a forest or town?
Does this also means you have to throw grenades to kill cavalry (it says it has to be treated like armor in combat)?

The rules in the EP are updated rules (acording to the symbol next to it) so what is exactly changed? or only if the scenario says "polish cavalry"

We played the EP yesterday and we played the cavalry as an infantery unit with special movement abilities, but nog the -2 dice restrictions against forest (because this makes cavalry useless)


The summary card is not very helpfull in this case in my opinion....
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_8.jpg

Hopefully you understand my question.. its still early here in Holland Very Happy

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 01 February 2013 08:22]

      
Phread
Senior Member
Baron du Rail

Pages Perso
Messages: 1777
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2008
Re:Cavalry Fri, 01 February 2013 08:48
I think the reference to armor movement and combat is in the ability to overrun after close combat and battle a second time.

May, on a successful Close Assault combat, Take Ground and battle again, using the same rules as the Armor Overrun combat

This is how I would interpret the rules in this case.

Of course I could be wrong. Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
      
Clexton27
Senior Member
Sapin d'Arnhem

Pages Perso
Messages: 3399
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Cavalry Fri, 01 February 2013 16:04
But Alas, you are correct. The Overrun combat ability of Armor, not it's dice restrictions are what apply. Cavalry have the same terrain dice restrictions as Infantry.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 01 February 2013 16:06]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 1024
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Sat, 02 February 2013 08:22
stevens wrote on Fri, 01 February 2013 16:04

But Alas, you are correct. The Overrun combat ability of Armor, not it's dice restrictions are what apply. Cavalry have the same terrain dice restrictions as Infantry.


Thats how we played it, but the rules in the ep are still confusing when the say that cavalry are orded as infantry en the battle as armor.....
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 1024
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Mon, 08 January 2018 16:09
The cavalry dig in question brought me back to this topic.

So according to the Equipement rules, which updated the Cavalry rules found in the Eastern front attacking with an cavalry unit into a forest in close assault has not use because you roll 0 dice? (2 -2 for forest protection as cavalry is used as armor in combat situations?)
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2665
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Cavalry Tue, 09 January 2018 06:04
It would be easy to read the Equipment Pack's statement, "A Cavalry unit is treated like Infantry for ordering and Armor for movement and combat," as meaning armor terrain die reductions. However, if the intent was to change that rule, I think they would have spelled that out specifically, the way they did with the DDL change about movement on Bridges. Instead, I read the EP statement as a quick, easy way to communicate the combination of 3 hexes and Overruns.


Using armor dice reductions, Cavalry would be unable to attack into a town, and unable to attack out of a town. But they would automatically remove wire.
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Ramener les gars à la maison

Pages Perso
Messages: 1024
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2005
Re:Cavalry Tue, 09 January 2018 06:52
I agree it's likely that they roll dice as infantry. But that's not what the rules say. Also, In the equipement rules there is a "rule update" icon suggesting the rules have been changed. I would really appreciate if Richard Borg could answer this question so we can forever play memoir the way it should Smile

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 09 January 2018 13:56]

      
Major Duncan
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 192
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
Re:Cavalry Wed, 10 January 2018 00:51
When I was searching for answers concerning cavalry digging in, I am sure I came across an official answer that said cavalry attacking are treated as infantry for terrain purposes.

I can't find it now because the search engine won't work. Maybe a site problem connected with the scenario pdf's being down as well?
      
    
Sujet précédent:New Battle Map
Sujet suivant:Export PDF, trouble with french accents
Aller au forum: