Aventuriers du Rail France Aventuriers du Rail France

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Small World - English » Question about Soul Touch
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
SandraaK
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Question about Soul Touch Sun, 25 January 2015 23:02
According to the rules of the base game, when the last token of your in-decline is conquered and you have no more in decline tokens on the board, the race banner and special power go back in to the stash.

How does this work with soul touch? Does it mean that you can not use your soul touch power if you no longer have in decline tokens on the board?

Because then your opponents can trash your special power by going after your in decline race.
      
Radien
Member

Messages: 37
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2014
Re:Question about Soul Touch Thu, 29 January 2015 11:59
SandraaK wrote on Sun, 25 January 2015 17:02

According to the rules of the base game, when the last token of your in-decline is conquered and you have no more in decline tokens on the board, the race banner and special power go back in to the stash.

How does this work with soul touch? Does it mean that you can not use your soul touch power if you no longer have in decline tokens on the board?

Because then your opponents can trash your special power by going after your in decline race.

Good question. I figured the race banner was only discarded because it had become irrelevant, but now, doing so could affect Soul Touch. I'd love to hear an official word on this.
      
SandraaK
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Re:Question about Soul Touch Fri, 30 January 2015 14:40
It seems to me that you would keep the race banner and special power so that you can use your soul touch power. That would make the game balanced and fun.

However, I sometimes play with nitpickers and they claim that the in decline race has to go away, because the base rules state it.

I really need an official ruling on this one in order to keep future games from ending in endless discussion (we are all very stubborn). Also, if I'm right, I get a free meal Razz
      
Radien
Member

Messages: 37
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2014
Re:Question about Soul Touch Fri, 30 January 2015 21:17
SandraaK wrote on Fri, 30 January 2015 08:40

I really need an official ruling on this one in order to keep future games from ending in endless discussion (we are all very stubborn). Also, if I'm right, I get a free meal Razz

Free meals are good. Let's get this settled, yo. Very Happy
      
Coyoteofthenine
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2015
Re:Question about Soul Touch Thu, 05 February 2015 01:36
Does the revived race get a new special power or keep the old one?
      
SandraaK
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Re:Question about Soul Touch Thu, 05 February 2015 08:32
The revived race keeps the old special power.

Say you picked Commando Dwarves as your first race. You go in decline. Then you pick Soul Touch Skeletons. If you then go in decline with your Skeletons, your Commando Dwarves become active again.
      
Coyoteofthenine
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2015
Re:Question about Soul Touch Thu, 05 February 2015 17:42
Thank you for the answer.
      
SandraaK
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Re:Question about Soul Touch Tue, 10 February 2015 12:02
SandraaK wrote on Sun, 25 January 2015 23:02

According to the rules of the base game, when the last token of your in-decline is conquered and you have no more in decline tokens on the board, the race banner and special power go back in to the stash.

How does this work with soul touch? Does it mean that you can not use your soul touch power if you no longer have in decline tokens on the board?

Because then your opponents can trash your special power by going after your in decline race.


It must be very busy at Days of Wonder, still no answer. I also sent an e-mail, but no reply. Hopefully that means that there is going to be more Small World soon Very Happy
      
SandraaK
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Re:Question about Soul Touch Tue, 10 February 2015 15:56
I got an answer to my e-mail from Days of Wonder, this is what it said

Quote:

Yes you can use Soul-Touch in this case since you will "reboot" your old Race with all its tokens. You do not revive them on the board, but you take as many tokens as you would have taken if the Race were active. Then you play your Race as normal, following the first conquest rule.
      
Radien
Member

Messages: 37
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2014
Re:Question about Soul Touch Tue, 10 February 2015 20:38
Great! That's basically what I thought. Smile

Incidentally, I believe I've noticed a new change in the Smallworld Android app: an in-decline race banner no longer disappears after a player has lost their last race token from that race.

I suspect this is in anticipation of the eventual addition of Soul Touch into the digital version, or at the very least, a reflection of some unannounced ruling they've decided on for consistency's sake. Smile

I'll keep an eye out while playing it to make sure I'm not mistaken on this one.
      
Asgharoth
Junior Member

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2013
Re:Question about Soul Touch Sun, 15 February 2015 01:34
What about reviving wealthy skags? do they get next +7 coins? and do they refill places with their chests?
      
SandraaK
Junior Member

Messages: 10
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2011
Re:Question about Soul Touch Sun, 15 February 2015 08:16
When you revive a Wealthy race, I'd say you get the 7 coins again. Since you're playing as if it was you first turn with that race.

The rules of the Skags clearly state you only place chests in regions you conquer, so the Skags that are still on the board when you revive them do not get a chest.
      
Radien
Member

Messages: 37
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2014
Re:Question about Soul Touch Wed, 18 February 2015 19:05
SandraaK wrote on Sun, 15 February 2015 02:16

When you revive a Wealthy race, I'd say you get the 7 coins again. Since you're playing as if it was you first turn with that race.

The rules of the Skags clearly state you only place chests in regions you conquer, so the Skags that are still on the board when you revive them do not get a chest.

Well, the text of Wealthy reads: "Collect 7 bonus Victory coins, once only, at the end of your first turn."

The Soul-Touch text says that it "revives" the race, but it never actually says to treat it as though it is the race's first turn. The language it uses is not that broad. So personally, I'd say no, Soul-Touch doesn't give Wealthy another 7 coins, but it's all up to your interpretation of "first turn."

As for Skags, though, I agree with SandraaK. Smile
You will already have retrieved all of your remaining Loot markers once when going into decline, and you're only supposed to place them when you conquer. Soul-Touch gives you your markers back, but it doesn't place them for you.

Incidentally, that makes me wonder what happens to the already-claimed Pot of Gold markers when Leprechauns are revived. It seems like it'd make sense to have players exchange the Pot of Gold markers they had previously claimed for regular 1 coins, then give the markers back to the Soul-Touch revived Leprechaun player, but I don't know.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Necromancer tuen order question......
Sujet suivant:Some Questions about using Skags
Aller au forum: