[Luzon] US counter-attack at Bataan - April 07, 1942

The last battle.
Pacific Theater By: jdrommel - Last update: 06/02/2022
Axis Player: Allied Player:
x6 x7 x6 x7
    first You play first

Historical Background:
On the Bataan Peninsula, the Japanese launched what would be the final offensive in April 1942. The 4th Japanee division captured Mount Samat and formed a salient in the Philippines lines. On April 7th, US General King ordered the 45th Brigade to counter-attack to reduce the Japanese pocket. US infantrymen were supported by the scouts of the Philippine cavalry and by the latest M3 tanks. On their side, the Japanese relied on tanks and heavy artillery.
A fierce battle lasted the whole day in the jungle but ultimately the US counter-attack failed. In the evening, the Japanese launched their counter attack, driving US units behind the San Vincente River. This battle was the last in Bataan and General King signed the capitulation of his troops on April 9th.
The stage is set, the battle lines are drawn, and you are in command. The rest is history.

Axis Player [Japan]
Take 6 Command cards.

Allied Player [United States/Philippines]
Take 6 Command cards. You move first.

Conditions of Victory:
7 medals.
The hex of the farm in the central section is a Temporary Medal Objective for the Allied player.
The hex of the farm in the left section is a Temporary Medal Objective for the Axis player.

Special Rules:
- Imperial Japanese Army rules (Nations 3) are in effect.
- Place a badge (or use the proper figures) for the Axis Big Guns Artillery unit (Troops 3).
- Place a badge (or use the proper figures) on the Allied Cavalry unit (Troops 8).
- The San Vincente river is fordable (Terrain 41).
- Axis Air Superiority: if you play with New Flight Plan, only the Axis player can fly air units. In addition, the number of Air Combat cards is amended for this scenario: 1 for the Axis, 0 for the Allies. If you do not, leave the Air Power card in the deck, but only the Axis player can use the card and will roll 2 dice per hex attacked. If the Allied player draws it, he must discard it and immediately take another from the pile.

Scenario Bibliography:
- Magazine "Ligne de Front" n°92

Set-up Order